We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location - Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Joplin

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Joplin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Joplin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3107 E. 36th St, Joplin, MO 64804   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Joplin
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quiet Location - Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

After driving from Amarillo to Wachita and onto Joplin we were both very tired and found this hotel purely by accident.

The receptionist was very helpful and booked us into a suite for a very reasonable price. It was on the top floor and was very near the elavator near the galleried landing.

The room itself was as expected a very good size and had a living room, bathroom and bedroom. The rooms are very big and come with 2 TV's and a fridge. The room was very clean and looked like we were the first to occupy it.

The location was excellent and we walked across the parking lot to The Outback Steakhouse.

The breakfast within the hotel was very good. We filled up on food before our long drive to Cairo, Il and then onto Memphis, TN. We were also offered Breakfast Bags for us to take away with water, fruit, muffins and a breakfast bar.

Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonJoplin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Joplin, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! It is always a pleasure for us to be able to offer an oasis for weary travelers, and so glad to know you enjoyed your stay! See you next time! Happy Holidays from the Hampton Team in Joplin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
21
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff upon check-in and check-out were nice and pleasant. Rooms were very clean and warming. Although the ice machine on the 3rd flood was out of order, it was not an inconvience in any way to go to the ground floor to get ice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am a frequent traveler and stay at Hilton properties almost exclusively. Hampton Inns are generally very well run with a friendly staff and clean, comfortable, rooms in a safe environment. This property is no exception. It is clean and the staff is friendly. Rooms are average as far as attractiveness, but they are very clean, the beds are very comfortable, the tv is great and the wfi is free. Add in a free breakfast and you've received a good value for your money. The nightly room rate is competitive for the area and I like the fact that you can walk to several close-by restaurants by walking through the parking lots adjacent to the hotel. This was my second visit to this hotel and I will visit again if my travels bring me back to Joplin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonJoplin, Manager at Hampton Inn Joplin, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Hampton Inn, Joplin! We are always happy to hear our guests comments, as they help us to make this a better place to stay! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

When we visit our grandkids in Carthage,Mo we always stay at the Hampton Inn Joplin. We get to their house and the first words out of their mouths is " Have you checked in at The Hampton yet! So being the spoiler Grandpa that I am, we head back to Joplin to check in. They love it, they bounce on the bed, hit the vending machines and then swim in the fantastic outdoor pool. They then have to go to the front desk where they are "starving for The Hampton's White chocolate & Macadamia Nut cookies. It is a great hotel and they opened the doors to the relief construction volunteers after the Tornado hit Joplin. The Hampton had a lot of dirty constuction people walking their hallways, but they didn't seem to mind because these guy's started work at first light and were working till dark. We met a lot of men from the crew of "EXTREME MAKEOVER" who rebuilt homes of 9 Family's who had lost their Homes. Some people expect the Waldorf Astoria in Joplin,but this is
a clean hotel with a great staff and a maintenance crew that responds in minutes to anything that is wrong. We have stayed here twice a year since 2002, and will always stay here!
I've stayed at The Ritz Carlton but the staff at the Hampton are much more friendly!

Room Tip: Outback Steakhouse is across the drive,Walmart is just behind the Hampton and their are numerous res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonJoplin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Joplin, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
It is always a pleasure to have you and your grandchildren stay with us! It makes our day to see the little things we do make a "hit" with families! We work to always provide a clean, friendly place for you to visit, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After having a bad encounter with Drury Inn, we went to Hampton Inn. The woman at the front desk was very courteous and informative. We got two rooms on the third floor and were very pleased with the cleanliness and the overall look of the rooms.
The breakfast was good.
The only issue we had was that the only elevator they had stopped working in the morning and someone was stuck on it.
Otherwise it was a very good stay. Complimentary water.
The warm cookies were the best!!

Room Tip: Top floor is the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonJoplin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Joplin, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Hampton Inn Joplin! We love having you here!!
The elevator was an issue that morning, we are so sorry for the inconvenience.. and are happy to report it was fixed soon after our repair man arrived! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spend enough time in Hilton hotels that I am at the highest Hilton Honors level. My expectations are based on plenty of experience. I stay at the Hilton family of hotels for good reason. They are dependable, comfortable, and clean.

Our stay at the Joplin Hampton was disappointing. The hallways and our first room had a stale aroma to them. Strike one. Then, because the bath tub did not hold water, I requested room change. Strike two. While at the desk making my request, another guest called requesting a room change because their thermostat was not working properly. Strike three. I am not used to this level of maintenance in a Hilton hotel.

When asked where the workout room was, I was informed that it was being remodeled and was not at all available, but that I could go to a health club down the street. Unfortunately, at that hour, it was closed for the night. That was the strike three plus.

With this experience at this hotel, I will be looking for alternatives in the future when I stay in the Joplin area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonJoplin, Manager at Hampton Inn Joplin, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the water in your bathroom and the stale aroma in the hallways and your first guest room. I've worked with our maintenance team to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. I’m also sorry that we are going through some renovations and you were unable to use our fitness center. We appreciate your patience while we’re going through some growing pains. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again and see our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A nice place to stay while overnight for my business trip. If I have to come this way again, I won't hesitate to book here again. Easy to find as it's right off the highway and plenty of eating places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonJoplin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Joplin, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Joplin! Happy Holidays from the Hampton team in Joplin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Joplin

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Joplin Hotel Joplin
Hampton Inn Joplin Hotel
Joplin Hampton Inn
Address: 3107 E. 36th St, Joplin, MO 64804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Joplin
#7 Family Hotel in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Joplin 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Joplin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.