We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and a great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Joplin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Joplin to your Saves list
Residence Inn Joplin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3128 East Hammons Boulevard, Joplin, MO 64804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Joplin
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great staff and a great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We just returned from a week volunteering in Joplin. This was the most amazing hotel. We had a large beautiful room with free parking and Internet. This hotel offered a full breakfast and dinner buffet during the week. There is a great exercise room and both outdoor and indoor jacuzzi. The best part of our stay was the staff. They were some of the friendliest people I have ever met. In an area with such heartache and devastation they were a ray of sunshine.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
34
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Property is not business friendly as it rates are based on individuals. One business associate paid 30% more just because they weren't there as much during the week.
As for ho-hum:
1. Dinner social with limited food selection and institutional quality. No social on Thursday nights at all. No comp wine or beer (front desk said they couldn't have it although its for sale in hotel pantry store?)
2. Antique clock radio with confusing settings.
3. Irritating internet has to be reset nightly and television does not remember prior station when turned off.
4. Bottled water in fridge is $3.95!

Sorry, I'm Platinum Elite with Marriott and a Homewood Suites will beat this property every time. If you want an outstanding Residence Inn try the one in Beaumont Texas. It has none of the above negatives.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010 via mobile

So clean. So friendly. Great free food! Great property!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We loved the Residence Inn at Joplin. The hotel is beautiful - every detail is thoughtful, from the decor to the architecture. We loved the breakfast and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It felt like a resort, but the price was very affordable. I wish every hotel was like this one.

My only tip for future travelers is to know that the pool is outdoors, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We needed a spot to stay overnight and this hotel did not disappoint. Room was clean, comfortable and just what we needed to have a restful night's sleep. Breakfast was great and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is a Residence Inn...what does one expect?!

There are probably one or two Residence Inn locations that are sub-standard, but this one in Joplin is not one of them. About the only complaint is that this location doesn't offer the evening "reception" on weekends (Friday through Sunday), and we were there on a Friday. Let's pick a few more nits: Breakfast was a full hot breakfast and was both tasty and varied...one glitch was that, when we got there toward the end of the breakfast period, they were out of several of the popular hot foods (eggs, potatoes, bacon), but they were quickly replenished, so we didn't have to go without. There were at least four kinds of yogurt, including a "homemade" fruit and yogurt parfait. Other typical items were there...cereal, breads for toast, pastries, fruit, juices, milk, etc.

Partner says that the mattress didn't have the pillow top and wasn't as comfy as the one that DID have the pillow top at another location. That said, the mattress WAS comfortable, didn't sag, and didn't transmit partner's movement to other mattress occupant.

We like our morning coffee, and about the only MAJOR complaint we had with this location is that the in-room coffee supplied was TERRIBLE. Free coffee is available in the morning in the breakfast area...get it there (it can't be any worse!).

Our room was a king suite and had a balcony with a small table and one chair that would allow one to enjoy the weather when it's good.

As with all Residence Inns, there's a full kitchenette, complete with cooktop, sink, dishwasher, full-size refrigerator (with ice-maker in the separate freezer), utensils, pots and pans, and dish place settings for four. If you do some shopping, you can live there quite nicely and save a ton of money on food (which would help compensate for the stiff price of the suite). One caveat: They supply one package of dishwashing detergent...load the dishwasher and use that detergent to wash any dishes you've used before you leave because there are rumors of a "dirty dish charge" if you leave the place with a sink full of unwashed crockery and flatware....Don't know if this is true, but why leave the place with a mess?

Would I recommend this place to someone? Are you KIDDING??! If you can afford it, this is the only place to stay in Joplin...ESPECIALLY if you're staying for more than one or two nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Loved, loved, loved the Residence Inn...It was my daughter's 16th birthday, and we were there with several of her friends. They were soooo sweet to us. They brought her a birthday present! Everything was clean and so comfy. Very warm and appealing. This is honestly the best experience I've ever had with a hotel/motel. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Joplin

Address: 3128 East Hammons Boulevard, Joplin, MO 64804
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Joplin
#4 Family Hotel in Joplin
#4 Business Hotel in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Joplin 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joplin Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Joplin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.