We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is definitely an award winner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Joplin

Super 8 Joplin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Joplin to your Saves list
Super 8 Joplin
2830 East 36th Street, Joplin, MO 64804 (Formerly The Legacy Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Joplin
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“This hotel is definitely an award winner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

On our trip to arizona, we stayed here for 1 nights fortunately. The hotel was caught up in the smell of cigarette smoke. The washroom was way beyond dirty in my opinion, it clearly had marks of someone using it. The rooms were not clean either, the air conditioner seemed white from the factory but some how it had turned it self in to yellow. The staff was horrible. They do not want any one complaining about anything or he would really get on your nerves. I never would recommend this hotel to anyone, not even dogs and cats. There are much better places in the area for a not a whole lot of price.

Room Tip: Check the rooms first, I am sure not all the rooms are worst but check yours first before buying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8jomo, General Manager at Super 8 Joplin, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Sir,

I am very displeased with the way your stay at our hotel turned out. I assure you that any and all things that you were displeased will be corrected and in the future if you happen to stay at our hotel again you will see that our rooms, staff, and service is up to your satisfaction. Also, I'd like to thank you for your review because it helps me make correct any and all mistakes as well as help our guests in the future.

Thank you,
Chirag Gandhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    5
    10
See reviews for
6
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mogadore, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is an ok Super 8. Rooms were pretty quiet but the stairs were a little narrow for a larger bag. Was easy to get off 44 and get back on

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora Vista, NM
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

The place looked very nice from the outside, in the room however it was a different story. The floor was sticky and gross; it felt necessary to ware shoes to walk around the room. The shower looked like it was disengaging and was more patches then it was the original enclosure. The beds were like sleeping on planks of wood and the sheets looked dingy. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingsometimes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Horrible room, dirty towels in bathroom, dirty bathroom, urine on floor, carpet disgusting and the MOST RUDE STAFF ever encountered. Manager was an arrogant, self serving and rude individual

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We were driving to California and Joplin was our first stop. The Super 8 appeared nice on the outside. My sister checked in for us and we did not enter until after the room had been purchased. The exterior door to the hallway that stated a room key was required to enter was left open and would not shut. That was not such a big issue for us so we continued to our room. The room appeared clean in the dim light at 10:00 PM. The following morning we awoke and found that we had been bitten by bed bugs all night long. We immediately showered and bagged our clothes up and took them to the closest laundry mat at 7:30 in the morning. We reported the issue to the front desk clerk and she called the manager. He was rude and stated that there were no bugs in the room, however offered a 15% discount. I stated that this was not acceptable and he clearly had no intention of resolving the bug issue. I had to call the health department and leave a message. The health department responded at 8:15 AM and investigated the room. The bed was infested with bed bugs. There was trash under the recliner and pills found on the desk chair. Dry blood on the mattress along with some other dry fluids. I went back down to the desk and the manager wanted to know why we didn't report it sooner, and accused us of bringing the bugs into the hotel. The Health Department Investigator confirmed that this infestation had been there for days and that the bugs numb the spot before they bite so we would not have felt them during the night. The manager still did not apologize, stated that he is in business to make money and can't go around giving people money back all the time. But he was willing to give me my money back on this one occasion. This was the worst experienceand ruined my vacation. Because we spent time and money at the laundry mat, worried if we would take them home with us, stressed over needing to stay at another hotel and 7-9 days later bumps showed up that covered our bodies from the bites (which itch and there is no treatment for the itch). Of course the ill treatment just made the situation worse.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

On our way back from Tempe AZ we stayed at the Super 8 in Joplin Missouri. Check-in went well. Room appeared to be OK at first. Comfortable bed, good Wi-Fi connection, big TV and fridge. But, the in-room coffee maker made terrible coffee, shower curtin was ripped and shower rod appeared to be ready to fall off wall. Bathroom was under-lit. Room smell somewhat but it was a ground floor/basement room. Easy access to gas, food, and highway. OK place for a 1-night stay. Can't vouch for other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

June7,o7 Just returned from a few days in Branson,mo.....on the way we spent one nite in joplin, mo at the super 8....over and beyond any super 8 we've stayed at....very clean rooms,breakfast of toast, waffles, blueberry muffins juice and coffee.....this is located just off the turnpike with easy to get back on the next a.m. Plus they have FREE calls to any of the 48 states...we called home and didn't have to use cell phones out of area....DVD's to rent with a wide selection of movies....little fridge and microwaves in the rooms plus coffee pots and coffee...will be sure to stay there again....

  • Liked — best value for the price and loads of extras
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Joplin

Address: 2830 East 36th Street, Joplin, MO 64804 (Formerly The Legacy Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Joplin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.