We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek Salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mythos

Mythos
1306 Rangeline Road, Joplin, MO
417-624-6984
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 196 Restaurants in Joplin
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arkansas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Greek Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really enjoyed the Greek salad. One of the best I've had. I had the Greek platter and it was also very good. My companion had the Kansas City strip steak and was a little disappointed in it. The waiter told us that their steaks were great so our expectations were high. The bread was very good, both the rolls and the pita bread. Couldn't decide which to dip in the olive oil and balsamic vinegar as both breads were so good. For dessert we had the tiramisu. It was good but a very different interpretation. Overall, we liked it and will go back the next time we go thru Joplin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Big city quality in Joplin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

No offense meant to the town, but I was surprised to come across such a quality restaurant in Joplin. The atmosphere is of quiet elegance, but relaxed. Fittingly, our server, the magnificently hirsute Matt, was very professional, while being friendly and informative. Though it would be great to explore the menu further, the two of us could not resist the $29.99 special advertised outside. Shared a very tasty spicy feta dip as a starter, then I went with Parmesan Tilapia while my colleague tried the Gyro Platter. Two glasses of house wine each, and coffees, we still only ran up $64! I would expect to be paying into 3 figures anywhere else comparable.

Note that, while Mythos is clearly a Greek restaurant, their menu choices are very wide. Excellent choice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of Food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Maybe too much food! Mythos offers food choices not seen in Joplin at anywhere else. The service is top notch. As soon as you enter, you know that this place is special. Today, I had the angus hamburger, pink in the middle, the way they should be. Lots of choices in Joplin, try Mythos and you will go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“NEVER DISAPPOINTED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We love going to Mythos! WE have NEVER had a bad meal there. We were seated immediately as we usually are. We had a new waiter I believe (Robert) but he did a excellent job. We had the flaming appetizer - can never remember what it's called. It was wonderful. We had as our entree's the tuna and the Brie KC Strip. They were both excellent. They have GREAT bathrooms. . . if a restaurant can have a great bathrooms and everything is always so clean. They have just started the new $29.99 special for two which is a AWESOME deal. BUT they won't offer it to you and it's not on the menu. You have to ask for it. It's on the huge flashing billboard outside. . . . . so make sure to ask about it. Our meal was so good we didn't mind . . . plus the items we ordered weren't on the $29.99 selection. We will be going back this Thursday to celebrate my birthday and we will go with the special. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED . . . and don't let the "no cars" in the parking lot fool you. The parking is on the sides and in the back so you never can really tell how many people are there. PLUS less cars then no wait! Which is what I like. Ask for Damen if you go in there. . . he has been there a LONG time and is a great waiter. . . . although I doubt you will be disappointed with any of their servers because HE trains them. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food and service! So glad we saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Heavenly bread! Amazing vegetable beef soup and entrees that melted in your mouth! With as good as the food was, the service was even better. We told them we were traveling and even the manager came out to talk to us. Definitely worth the stop if you are traveling through!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mythos also viewed

 

Been to Mythos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mythos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.