We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Musty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 Range Line Rd., Joplin, MO 64804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Joplin
Kansas City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old & Musty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at the Holiday Inn on business and was disappointed. It is old and smells musty, like Grandma's house. I drove by the Residence Inn directly across the parking lot and wish I would have stayed there instead. The bed was comfortable, but I had to open my window to get the smell out of the room. The outside doors were supposed to be locked and only accesible to hotel guests, but I never needed my card to enter the hotel. My phone didn't work my first night and my handle was broke as well. I reported in the morning and it was fixed promptly. The hotel staff was polite, but Hammons needs to remodel this hotel.

  • Liked — Room rate
  • Disliked — The Smell
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    39
    46
    41
    36
See reviews for
42
34
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

The hotel has a nice garden atrium which was refreshing upon arrival. I have to say that the beds and linens in the room were quite comfortable. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. The value for this property is very reasonable. Flank steak from restuarant was really good. I especially enjoyed the nightly manger's reception they had that was included with the price of the room. I would definately recommend this hotel and I will return to stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — They had a Managers Reception that was included in the price of the room
  • Disliked — No complaints really
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

we stayed at the holiday inn joplin as a stopover on our way to st. louis. i booked the room on priceline and got it for 40 bucks, so i really can't complain too much. the hotel was clean, staff was friendly at the desk. i woke up in the morning looking forward to some grub, only to find out there was no continental breakfast (are you kidding me?!) and that a plate of eggs & sausage in the restaurant was 12 bucks. maybe i'm naive, but i thought hot continental breakfast was pretty much the industry norm these days. the hotel was average.

  • Liked — clean, convenient
  • Disliked — no continental breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stay at this hotel (4 days) every year for the past 10 years during the Street Dreams Car Show. This place is going down hill at lightning speed. Ice could only be found on the 2nd floor because all other machines were broken. Our room was not cleaned for 2 days in a row and we even asked a housekeeper to please make sure and clean the room. The also didn't give us our discount for being with the Street Dreams Car Show which was showing in their convention center. They over charged us by $100 and really didn't want to refund it to us.

Next year Residence Inn!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Stayed here during a busy weekend in Joplin- big college football game and a large high school/college cross country race. It was as if the hotel management had no idea that it'd be a busy weekend.

The restaurant had what appeared to be a total of four employees working on Saturday morning (hostess, waiter, cook, busboy) and they were completely overwhelmed.

A dog was running through the lobby Saturday morning-- later learned it belonged to a front desk employee.

A guest had left a couple Rottweilers in their room Friday night (I could see them through the window while standing in the parking lot) and it took hours to get the hotel to do something about the noise the dogs were making.

Toilet overflowed, beds were in terrible shape and the hotel, overall, was just generally looking rundown.

I'd highly recommend checking out many other options before ever considering this place.

  • Liked — Proximity to restaurants
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Stayed here for one night for an early flight out of Joplin airport- this was only one of 2 hotels in Joplin that had a free shuttle to the airport. Since we were leaving early in the morning they paid for a taxi- that was good service.
The hotel lobby area has a waterfall and was nicer than an average motel. Front desk were very helpful- and fixed the free internet in the room when I told them it wasn't working. A mint on the bed and a choice of pillows was nice too!
There are restaurants within walking distance so we ordered food and brought it back to the room.
The rooms are motel style rooms, so I would not pay a hotel price to stay here. If you go expecting a motel style room- ie nothing fancy then you will not be disappointed.
Would definitely stay here again for Joplin airport- staff were all very helpful.

  • Liked — Complimentary shuttle to airport and wifi
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I came down for business and it was the most terrible experience i've ever had there. I've stayed many of times for business but this is the last. I have noticed my last 3 stays that its going down hill and still decided to give it another chance. First of all it took 10 minutes to check in the front desk staff is terrible. The manager was no where to be found becuase they didn't have my reservation. The front desk staff use to be so pleasant and prompt but very noticalbe going down. No more pleasant smiles or attitudes. Employees don't seem happy. Second my room smelled and for the money you pay is not worth it. Third dinner was horrible. Took one hour to get my food which tasted awful. All in all i would not recomend this hotel to anybody unless you just have the money to spend for the terrible service you recieve. What happend to the friendly front desk staff you had ? The manager don't care i guess thats why they don't. I will never stay there again.

  • Liked — nothing anymore
  • Disliked — check in experience management is terrable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71

Address: 3615 Range Line Rd., Joplin, MO 64804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center Joplin, Missouri. Joplin's only full service hotel is located on I-44 and just minutes from the heart of Joplin's main attractions...The Bridge Extreme Sports Complex, DownStream Casino, Show-Me Birds, Eagle Pitcher, Trick My Truck, KMT, F.A.G. Bearings, General Mills, AT&T, Best Buy, Leggett & Platt, Schrieber Foods, Missouri Southern State University, Ozarks Christian College and Precious Moments Park and Chapel. Come enjoy our nightly complimentary Manager's reception featuring a variety of cold beverages, snacks, & conversation, signaling the beginning of a relaxing evening in our tranquil atrium, come unwind. Our beautiful guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and all new pillow top beds. Dine in either the Ozark Cafe or the Stone Creek Grille, where kids 12 and under always eat free. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor and outdoor pool, fitness center, guest laundry facilities and a business center. The Joplin Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center features the largest hotel meeting space in Joplin, Missouri with over 42,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Holiday Inn Joplin can handle groups from 10 to 2,500. Most importantly, this hotel features the best staff in Joplin, just waiting to meet you and help create a memorable experience .. extreme sports, shopping, and Interstate access - we have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Joplin i 44 And Us 71
Holiday Inn Joplin i 44 & Us 71 Hotel Joplin
Joplin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Joplin I 44 & US 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.