We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for Italian and muscles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison's Cafe

Madison's Cafe
216 Madison St, Jefferson City, MO 65101-3230
+1 573-634-2988
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 140 Restaurants in Jefferson City
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Madison's Café, a ‘Jefferson City Tradition’ since 1982, offers casual, relaxed, yet elegant dining, with a focus on northern Italian, American and eclectic cuisine: mouthwatering appetizers, salads, soups, sandwiches, pasta, hand-cut steaks, seafood, and a variety of signature dishes. Our menu changes often, reflecting use of locally sourced products: from our daily, fresh, locally baked bread, locally bred and raised Wagyu burgers, produce, to herbs from our own herb garden. Our gluten-free fare, whole wheat pasta, and a wide variety of vegetarian fare pleases the most sensitive palate. Our environment is unique and inviting—a gathering place for family and friends, or perfect for that romantic evening out. We have two excellently appointed private dining rooms for any special event or business meeting. Off-site catering services are available from small intimate gatherings to over 300. Carry out is always available. Al fresco dining on our large patio is wonderful when weather permits! Come to Madison's where you restore your spirit and share the simple pleasures with family and friends…one delicious bite at a time Located in beautiful downtown, two and a half blocks from the Capitol; a half-block from the Governor's Mansion; five blocks from the historic Missouri State Penitentiary; three blocks from the Amtrak Station; about a 1/2 mile from the bridge bike/walk crossing to the Katy Trail, and directly across the street from the Madison Street parking garage.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best place for Italian and muscles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

One of the best places for true authentic Italian and the best for muscles!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    19
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
taos missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

lasagne and great salsads service is fast and witer is good great time

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Slightly expensive, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We walked from the State Capital to Madison's for lunch on a very hot day. It is a relatively short walk (2-3 blocks) but that was a little far for some in our group on such a hot day. However, we made it! Madison's seated us immediately and our waitress was there to get drinks as soon as we sat down. She kept tea glasses, water glasses and coffee cups filled throughout our meal. The food was good and we ordered a variety of things, including salads, soup, and wraps. All were good and everyone left satisfied. It was slightly expensive (more than other locations would have cost), but the food was good and served well. It was a little noisy in the restaurant, but it was a busy time of day, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My whole family loves this restaurant. It is requested by my children for every birthday dinner or any other special event or even on nights I just don't feel like cooking. There is such a large variety of foods to choose from we never get bored and the flavors are always great. The staff is always friendly and attentive. Rob the owner is always around and making sure your satisfied and enjoying yourself as well as the meal. We love the e-mails that come out once a month also, great tips on preparing food and an upcoming calendar of events that is happening in an around the Jefferson City area as well as the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food was delicious and the service was great. I was there on a Saturday evening without reservations. They were busy but very accomodating.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison's Cafe also viewed

Jefferson City, MO
Jefferson City, MO
 
Jefferson City, MO
Jefferson City, MO
 

Been to Madison's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.