We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning venue, dining not quite there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 The Scenic Road, Killcare, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Killcare Bells)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Killcare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Stunning venue, dining not quite there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our suite was private, spacious (large enough to entertain other guests, either in-room or on the verandah), more than adequately furnished for a couple, and tastefully decorated. Lots of nice touches like the quality house-made toiletries (but don't souvenir the left-overs unless you want to fork out around $25 each - buy from reception to indulge in at home). The extensive grounds are beautifully kept and well-designed to wander through and relax in without disturbing anybody. We enjoyed dinner at Manfredi's, but to us it was 'heavy', with both of our entrees and mains doused in excessive oil/butter. We would have appreciated a lighter touch to better showcase the fresh ingredients. Breakfast was comfortable, on the restaurant verandah overlooking the gardens. But the experience was a bit hit and miss - for example one of us received perfectly poached eggs (to order, extra cost), the other received a pair of billiard balls. The range of buffet options was adequate rather than great. Top-notch bircher meusli, though. Service not attentive enough for a property of this quality and price (plates not cleared, not asked about a second cup of tea, depleted stock not replenished etc.). Pastries were heavy. This is a wonderful retreat in one of the most beautiful parts of Australia. Plan some local walks, starting with Maitland Bay if you're feeling energetic. Overall, Bell's at Killcare is most delightful, but the dining didn't quite make it for us on this occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
136
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The best place I've stayed in Australia. Everything was perfect in the room and very clean. The location was convenient for us to visit Woy Woy for a function and still meander around the nearby national park and local restaurants. Trying to think of an excuse to go back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, General Manager at Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review, look forward to spoiling you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had spent 5 days in Sydney and wanted to have a couple of nights somewhere close'ish but in the country, and local friends recommended Killcare.

We spent 2 nights here and I'm in a quandary because I can't quite put my finger on why I didn't love this place, but I just didn't. I think it just lacked atmosphere and the staff, while perfectly pleasant, just didn't really seem very natural compared to other places we visited in Australia.

Room was great but the bathroom was rather sterile - good if you were by a beach and had to constantly sweep up sand, but that's not the case here.

We dined at Manfredi one evening, which I would say is Modern Australian with flavours of Italy, rather than an Italian restaurant per se.

I think my parents would probably love this place, but with hindsight we'd have plumped for 2 extra days in Sydney and just chilling on a beach there.

Nothing wrong with it really - just goes to prove you can't please all the people all the time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice place thats aiming for the professional market looking for a place to relax. Very nice room and greeting from staff on arrival excellent (explaining local area etc). Only slight negatives are whilst relaxing by the pool its nice to have a drink but when I tried to get one I was told there's no bar service in the afternoon (only when the restaurants open) and another (but this is more personal preference, that although the bushes around the veranda offer privacy it also means you can't see out!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

An ideal weekend escape where you feel a world away from the daily grind, without all the travelling.
The accommodation is very private and spacious with quiet surrounds. The manicured gardens, day spa & swimming pool give you all the elements to unwind and relax.
Having Manfridi's restaurant gives you the perfect 5 Star food to top off a perfect escape!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, General Manager at Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, please ask for me when you next stay so I can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went to Bell's only for one night for our wedding anniversary. I thought it was beautiful. My husband wondered what people do there. Once i informed him it was all about relaxing and fine food he seemed to RELAX!!
The room was lovely, the grounds were immaculate. We just spent our afternoon by the pool.
We were booked in for dinner in Manfredi's and it totally lived up to my expectations. The "misto" was deicious giving us a tasting of about 6 petite starters; my husband had the ribeye which was the best cut of meat you've ever tasted and perfectly cooked. From the desserts we chose the raspberry and pistachio cassata which was to die for.
My only criticism would be that we booked in for the relax package which for an extra $200 included a 3 course meal each(beverages not included). Had we not done this we probably would not have had 3 courses, and the total of our 3 courses was just under $200...
the service in the restaurant was faultless and all were very helpful and able to answer all questions.
The breakfast which was included in our package was fresh, and plentiful.
Highly recommend a stay and particularly the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, General Manager at Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed the restaurant so much. Please let us know when you are next visiting so that we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at Bells on Sunday for a very special family wedding - ours! We could not be more delighted with all aspects of the day, the incredible Italian food put on by Cam and the team, the service from Sally and the floor staff and the outstanding quality and aspect of the venue. We have stayed and eaten in some of the best hotels in Australasia and Bells can't be beaten.

The stunning and private accommodation is of the same superior standard as the restaurant and grounds are manicured to perfection. Being just over an hour to Sydney, we could recommend to any discerning NSW, interstate or international visitor.

We understand the property has just won two major international awards and we can see why.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, General Manager at Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
It was such a beautiful wedding and we are so pleased that you chose Bells to celebrate such an important day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa

Address: 107 The Scenic Road, Killcare, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Killcare Bells)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Killcare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Killcare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is a luxury coastal retreat with an authentic regional restaurant featuring the cuisine of renowned Italian chef Stefano Manfredi.Situated high on the Bouddi Peninsula and surrounded by untouched Bouddi National Park and many secluded and pristine beaches, Bells at Killcare is just a 90-minute drive north of Sydney's CBD and offers exclusive and private coastal style cottage accommodation. Guests can arrive by seaplane, helicopter, ferry or car. Guests can also relax by the 20 metre lap pool or enjoy a Bells signature treatment in the Bells Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells At Killcare Hotel Killcare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.