We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a meal in Richmond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Food and Wine Centre

Richmond Food and Wine Centre
27 Bridge Street, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
03 6260 2619
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ipswich, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great spot for a meal in Richmond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had visited this spot a while ago when we were last in Tassie, so made a point of stopping in for breakfast and coffee. Huge meal that was very yummy - great coffee; we ended up having a second cup!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Seafood Platter was great in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! We had a seafood platter for 2 and wasn't confronted with all the usual shellfish that leaves you in a huge mess of broken shells and little meat. This was clean and enjoyable eating with gorgeous garden surrounds. The coffee wasn't bad either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious lunch of salmon with pesto on a bed of rocket and spinach. Tasty and even better with great local wines. Given the name, it wasn't quite what I was expecting, but a pleasant lunch just the same.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor quality service for a tourist town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a Sunday arvo as it had been highly recommended by some friends. Group of 13, with about 9 wanting breakfast/ lunch, place was kind off busy but no where near full. Asked if we could move a table so we could all sit together, was told in a fairly poor tone that they don't do this as the umbrella spikes can't move. Since only one table had an umbrella, was this an issue? Told they could seat us inside, but only a table of 10 and the other three would have to sit outside, away from the rest of us. We were then told that if we wanted to have breakfast, we couldn't as they couldn't cook 10 breakfasts, but would be able to do 10 lunches and that big tables are too difficult.

Agreed not to have breakfast (as obviously cooking eggs for 10 is far too difficult) and had a mixture of the light meals. Most of these were over promised and under delivered. The stuffed mushrooms consisted of 4 very small and sorry looking cup mushrooms with (a jar) pesto and a bit of salad. The turkish bread was 6 small bits of bread with tiny amounts of oil, balsamic and pesto with enough butter to do a whole loaf. The potato Wedges were about the only saving grace.

Everything seemed too difficult, from a request to bring a coffee with the meal, to setting the table. I used the toilets and on the way out heard the older waitress complaining about how inconvienient we were. When our meals turned up the waitress dropped my plate from about 2 inches off the table in front of me and turned and walked off with no apology.

This town aims at the tourist dollar and overpriced rubbish food and poor service from rude staff will not pass muster with the sector of the market this place appears to be aiming for.

Will NEVER come back and will not recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Relaxed eating great food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic staff.... Relaxed surroundings.... Good food and great wines . I would thoroughly recommend a visit anytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Food and Wine Centre also viewed

 

Been to Richmond Food and Wine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Food and Wine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.