We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatcher's Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hatcher's Manor to your Saves list
Hatcher's Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Prossers Road, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A small group stayed on our overseas trip , very close to the airport so we could get our flight at 7 am next morning , the rooms were excellent , large rooms and large bathrooms , Our group had dinner in the restaurant , the food was excellent, staff very friendly , this hotel is not like a sterile hotel with many rooms all exactly the same as we inspected our friends rooms and they are all different , if you want white plastic rooms it would not suite you , I loved all the antiques and the 4 poster beds that were in some rooms , I am told the property goes all the way back to the settle ment of Richmond and the land for the oldest catholic church was donated form the farm in the 1830s, I don't think the house is that old but beautifully built in the Gothic style

Room Tip: get a room with a 4 poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    53
    23
    18
    45
See reviews for
79
92
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great place to stay if you are coming to Tassie. I would recommend Hatcher's Manor to everyone. Fantastic location and relaxing environment! The food was fabulous. I would definitely stay at Hatchor's Manor if I am visiting Richmond again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I would just like to THANK Colin and Jeanette for an outstanding week-end! I was there with a large group of young people in July who THOROUGHLY enjoyed themselves. The food, accommodation and attention that was afforded us all was amazing! I will definitely recommend Hatches Manor to anyone wanting a getaway!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

What a hidden GEM!!! Thanks for looking after us. Just delightful. A++++++

I would love to recommend this to everyone.

If you are coming to Tassie for a trip, please come and stay here. Especially great for school groups as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights at Hatchers, Colin and Jeanette were very welcoming and friendly. Room was huge and beautifully furnished. So much hard work and love went into the manor by the owners. It's country town warmth, friendly owners and beautiful kid friendly farm property with luxuries like a fire and spa bath where the owner will have a glass of wine at the restaurant with you, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Norfolk, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just stayed here last weekend and found Hatchers Manor to be Excellent!
Situated in a lovely location just walking distance from Richmond it was perfect for me and the people I came with.
We enjoyed thoroughly enjoyed the friendly service and the young people that came with us loved the Horses, Sheep, Goat and friendly small pet dogs that come with great country feel that is part of Hatchers Manor.
wonderful place to stay if you are planning on visiting Richmond or Hobart and have small children that love animals.
Great service and very comfortable rooms and would be happy to stay here again when I'm in Richmond.
Dan.

Room Tip: choose the cottage if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros: despite the cons below, this place is fantastic value - the outside looks great - beautiful grounds and a great location (assuming you have a car). The rooms are huge, warm & quiet. Rooms are old and worn, but reasonable considering the price. CONS: Various things in the room were broken, such as towel rack, there was a used toothbrush in the bathroom (along with mould on the tiles, see photos) and I'm not convinced the sheets and bedspread were clean (looked like they were just re-made). The bed was very lumpy, very old and uncomfortable. The electric blanket clearly YEARS old (worn, yellowing) and was coming apart at the plug end (see attached pictures), and smelt like burning metal when it was switched on (DANGEROUS!). There were a few obvious poorly fixed "do it yourself" patch ups in the room. The couch was very old, uncomfortable (and probably broken, you sink down very far into it when you sit on it). There's a restaurant, but considering the low level of cleanliness and upkeep in the rooms, we weren't willing to risk it. It wasn't TERRIBLE, but there are probably better places around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatcher's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher's Manor

Address: 73 Prossers Road, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatcher's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hatcher's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher`s Manor Hotel Richmond
Hatchers Hotel Richmond
Hatcher's Manor Richmond, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatcher's Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.