We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Family Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taras Richmond Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Taras Richmond Farmstay to your Saves list
Taras Richmond Farmstay
31 Ogilvie Lane, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful Family Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Tara is a great host! We've enjoyed our stay very much. It's a very quiet and beautiful place to get away. Great for families. Wish we'd spent more time on the farm. Very convenient, clean and all you need for your stay. Plentiful breakfast provisions with fresh berries!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us Anastasia, it was great having you here. I agree the fresh berries are something special - I pick these fresh from the garden from December to April. We hope you will have time to come and visit again one day. Cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My mother in-law, our lovely son and both of us had a great great time at Tara Farmstay. It was a very relaxing two-day stay, fantastic for city-dwellers like us to experience and appreciate the nature and meet the most friendly farm owner. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. It was like home away from home. Tara stocked up hot drinks and biscuits for guests and the wide variety was very thoughtful. Books and toys could be found in our accomodation and we almost forgot we were not in our own house. Really felt so much at home. Tara was very generous and allowed us to help ourselves freely to the grapes that she planted. We also had a unforgettable BBQ experience at the farm. Not forgetting about Tara's home-made bread. It was really soft and delicious. All of us loved it. Tara, we're looking forward to staying at your farm again. Thanks for your warm hospitality. You really made a difference to our Australian trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its great that you felt like it was a home away from home and we enjoyed having your family here. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have nothing bad to say of this farmstay..
A perfect play to stay for family. We had a fantastic 2 night stay here in Sugarloaf apartment. The room and toilet are clean, well-kept and spacious. Location is great and very near to Richmond town. My kid had a great time there exploring the animals that the farm has to offer: guinea pig, geese, pony, rabbits, cows and chicken. My kid also got a chance to ride on the pony and feed the animals in the morning. At a cooling night, we could also BBQ just outside the apartment.

The morning breakfast provided by Tara is great and the bread is deliciously home-made.
I will recommend anyone out there who would like to experience farmstay to stay here. And lastly a great host by the owner Tara!!

Thanks for everything and making our stay a splendid one..!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we're pleased you enjoyed our menagerie of animals and especially the pony ride. Your review is really descriptive and will be a great help to others also. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Partner Dorothea and I stayed with our quiet sheltie named Sammi and our friend Jacquie. We booked the Sugarloaf Apartment. We could not have wished for more friendly and helpful service. The facilities were comfortable and clean. It was fun meeting the animals and looking at the extensive orchards and vegetable gardens. Tara brought her own home made bread and jam to breakfast (in a big country basket)! Nearby Richmond is a fascinating historic village and the view of the Sugarloaf hill from the apartment is spectacular. Look forward to coming again soon! - Phil & Dot

Room Tip: Sugarloaf for full facilities for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay and also for taking the time to write a detailed review of our farmstay. We're really pleased that you had a relaxing time and felt so comfortable here. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a fantastic 3-night stay here in April 2013. Tara was helpful and friendly throughout, as well as being knowledgeable and informative about the farm, and everything met or exceeded our expectations. It was a real ‘home away from home’.

The apartment we stayed in was clean, spacious and had everything we needed, including a very useful free wifi connection (allowing my husband to keep on top of work easily) and extras like baby bathtub and some toys and books. Breakfast was also kindly supplied at a time of our choosing each day and the leftovers were more than enough to form the basis of a picnic lunch on more than one day!

The toys and books were actually barely touched, as our older child (3.5 years) had a wonderful time exploring the farm, feeding the animals and picking fresh fruit and veg from the garden. For our city-born and bred children, living in a crowded SE Asian city, this was a wonderful new experience.

For us the location was also good: Richmond itself (a few minutes’ drive away) was a pretty little town, and the location just northeast of Hobart meant we could easily get down to the Tasman Peninsula and across to Mount Field National Park and Hobart, and then on to the East Coast on the day we left.

We really could not fault our stay at all: this place is ideal for anyone on holiday in Tasmania, especially families with children. Our daughter spent the rest of our holiday in Australia saying she missed the farm (and has said it a couple of times since we have returned too).

I will certainly recommend this to anyone I know travelling to this part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear you all had a great time here and that we were able to give you the relaxing break you needed from the 'hustle and bustle' of life in Thailand. We really enjoy showing people what life is like on our small farm, and its always heart-warming to hear how children have loved it here. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We usually stay in big hotels when we travel. This time we decided to change the routine. I booked the farmstay online for 4 nights, being a bit nervous if this was the right thing to do.
Tara wrote us a fantastic email, telling us how excited she is to meet us and giving us all kinds of information about the area. Now we couldn't wait to explore Tasmania!
Her farm is easy to find (Garmin took us there) and very close to anything you would possibly need (even an ice cream store in Richmond). The guest suite is very spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. It has a washing machine!
We loved the outdoor patio. Every evening we had dinner outside. Richmond has a small but well stocked grocer and the grapes for dessert were hanging all around the patio. In the morning, after her famous breakfast, we met Tara to feed the animals. Our five-year-old son loved it.
Tara also offers free, uncomplicated and well-working wifi. Since we never really leave our business behind when we go on vacation, this was great.
If we wouldn't have to fly 23 hours to get to you, Tara, we would be back in a blink of an eye!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your review Rike. We're pleased you enjoyed it here and a little amazed (and delighted too!) that you spent your whole Tasmanian time here. Your little boy was delightful and any time that you are back in Australia - we'd love to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent a night here, is one of the prettiest and most peaceful places we have ever stayed. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, was a lovely welcome sign at our door. We went on a walk around the property, the kids really loved the very friendly animals. The breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your short time with us and I hope the rest of your explorations around southern Tasmania are marvellous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taras Richmond Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taras Richmond Farmstay

Address: 31 Ogilvie Lane, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taras Richmond Farmstay offers a choice of two self contained (breakfast provisions provided), eco-friendly, clean apartments with quality bedding and towels. Sugarloaf apartment can sleep up to 5 people, whilst the Wellington Studio is perfect for singles or a couple. Larger parties can book both apartments (subject to availability). Sugarloaf apartment is wheel-chair friendly with level access and accessible bathroom facilities. Children are welcome, and pets also. Both apartments offer cooking facilities, free WiFi and washing machines. Tea and coffee are provided. Located just 30 minutes drive from Hobart, or three minutes from historic Richmond. On a small farm where you can rest and enjoy the peace, or use it as a base for your holiday. Join us feeding the animals - a pony, chickens, geese, sheep and ducks or explore the farm including orchard, vineyard, olive grove and vegetable garden at your leisure. Admire the views over paddocks to Mount Wellington and surrounding countryside. Local attractions include wineries, Zoo Doo, and Richmond with its history, museums, galleries, cafes and river-bank walks. Central location to Hobart, Port Arthur, East Coast and Derwent Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Taras Richmond Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taras Richmond Farmstay Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taras Richmond Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.