We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taras Richmond Farmstay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Taras Richmond Farmstay to your Saves list
Taras Richmond Farmstay
31 Ogilvie Lane, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first time in Tasmania in December spanned nine days and we stayed at four different cottage-styled accommodations. Our last, and best, stay was at Tara's. We spent three nights there (15 to 17).The place was not only beautiful and spotless, but also well-equipped and more importantly, welcoming. Beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is spacious and the living area is cozy.

Tara's attention to detail in addressing our every need is astounding. She delivered a great breakfast in a basket every morning at our preferred timing. The breakfast was plenty and our favourite was the famous homemade bread and jams. Our grandson (4 yrs) loved the farm animals including Flossy the pony and Jake the dog, who were both very friendly. He also enjoyed the playground. Overall, the stay was thoroughly enjoyable. We wish we could have stayed there longer. The host, Tara, put in a lot of effort and passion into taking care of her guests. Thank you Tara and family for the unforgettable experience at your place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here and I was surprised at how fast your days with us passed. There always seemed so much more to do! I love the photo of the rainbow you took. It was a truly special moment and you did well to capture it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The breakfast served was very splendid. The home-made bread and jam complemented each other. Tara was great and so thoughtful. Our requests were never neglected. The house was self-sufficient and cosy. Jam was made available to the guests who wanted more at an affordable price. The animals in the farm was also a highlight during our stay. We managed to spot some possums and wallabies in the dark under her guidance. Thank you Tara and family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi Karin. Many thanks for staying. I'm glad you enjoyed your night tour and the jams I make. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed during 4th wk of Nov with 2 kids (below 6), my mum and my wife. We have been to farmstay in NZ, Perth and Brisbane and this is clearly the cleanest one we've been to. Rooms are very spacious, bathroom is spacious too and Tara is a fantastic host! Bed and pillows are very comfortable!

As what others in this forum says, Tara's breakfast, especially her bread & jam ... Is world class!! Eat it warm!! Tara is also very generous with the breakfast basket!! Location is pretty good as it is just mins away from Richmond town centre.. and abt 30-40mins from Hobart.

Tara's daily mrng farm activities include touring her plantations (i forget most of her plant names ! :) ..... except her delicious green peas freshly pluck from her precious plant... seeing that my kids love it.. she was very generous to pluck whatever remains on her plant for them.. despite telling us that her daughters absolutely love those too) ... feeding Jake (her 14yr old golden, looks 3-4 yrs old to us!), Flossie (her beautiful white horse)... 2 rabbits.. hamsters.. gooses, duck, chickens ... we got to touch a young sheep too..

Tks Dr Tara! We absolutely enjoyed our stay with you! Hope to see you again if we're back in Tasmania! I wish you have a fantastic 2013 with great harvests!!

Room Tip: Only 1 house... so you get EXCLUSIVE service :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for your marvellous review and for staying. We enjoyed your company and you're always welcome to sample from the vegetable garden - I always try to plant a little extra so guests can taste food as it should be - and I love seeing the kids faces when they eat vegetables and really enjoy them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

tara is a real blessing; from e moment we booked (conscientious emails w all e info we needed) till the end of our stay...
wonderful cottage; all our needs met... yummy breakfast hampers with fresh loaf, home-made jams, fresh berries fm e gdn next door... very suitable for families with kids, our girl had a blast playing with holly n hetty (tara's children)...
ideal for trips to hobart, sorrel, richmond...
animals to feed n play with, different types of fruit trees to look at..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for your review. It was lovely having you here and my girls had a great time with your daughter too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for over a week with 2 kids (9 & 4) in October 2012.
The property was excellent with quality furnishings and large enough for a family of four with two bedrooms available.
Our kids didn't want to leave the farm during the day as there was lots to do around the farm and the breakfast basket supplied each morning was first class.
Tara's hospitality was also top notch.
The bad news - our eldest cried on the last night as he didn't want to leave ! He misses you and the farm,Tara.
All the best,
Allan, Helen, Aidan & Lindsay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hi Allan and family. Thanks for staying. We enjoyed having you here and Aidan's enthusiasm for our property was delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Farm host Taras is such a nice person . She showed us around and gave us opportunity to interact with her animals. Taras made us a Super nice breakfast basket with a big, soft,freshly made bread, fruit,cereal,milk,soft drink..........The apartment is clean,nice and well -equipped.We have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying Ruby and also for your enthusiasm. Lets hope the frosts stay away - as you predicted - and then we'll have some home made wine for you next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely love it, tara is friendly, the area is relaxing and it has the most beautiful surroundings. Loved the breakfast hamper. A must stay while in tasmania. Perfect for families with kids as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for your review Simone. It was great that you were able to stay with us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taras Richmond Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taras Richmond Farmstay

Address: 31 Ogilvie Lane, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taras Richmond Farmstay offers a choice of two self contained (breakfast provisions provided), eco-friendly, clean apartments with quality bedding and towels. Sugarloaf apartment can sleep up to 5 people, whilst the Wellington Studio is perfect for singles or a couple. Larger parties can book both apartments (subject to availability). Sugarloaf apartment is wheel-chair friendly with level access and accessible bathroom facilities. Children are welcome, and pets also. Both apartments offer cooking facilities, free WiFi and washing machines. Tea and coffee are provided. Located just 30 minutes drive from Hobart, or three minutes from historic Richmond. On a small farm where you can rest and enjoy the peace, or use it as a base for your holiday. Join us feeding the animals - a pony, chickens, geese, sheep and ducks or explore the farm including orchard, vineyard, olive grove and vegetable garden at your leisure. Admire the views over paddocks to Mount Wellington and surrounding countryside. Local attractions include wineries, Zoo Doo, and Richmond with its history, museums, galleries, cafes and river-bank walks. Central location to Hobart, Port Arthur, East Coast and Derwent Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Taras Richmond Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taras Richmond Farmstay Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taras Richmond Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.