We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way...just watch the clock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage on Gunning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cottage on Gunning to your Saves list
Cottage on Gunning
15 Gunning Street, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way...just watch the clock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

For a guy whose favourite fruit by a mile is raspberries, a fresh jar of homemade jam in the cupboard was the perfect way to start our stay.

The whole cottage was very well appointed, the rooms are big, the beds are comfortable and bathroom big too (great water pressure). There are also fresh, farm eggs in the kitchen, and every utensil you could need. It's a small thing, but Peta even gives you proper cleaning liquid to wash up. So many places have rubbish that evaporates before your eyes. Bread is provided at the bakery every other day for guests.

The kids loved the backyard to run around in. It was massive.

There are heaps of books if you want to put your feet up and have a read, plus loads of info on local attractions and places to go. It's a short stroll into town, and to the Richmond Bridge, and for anyone with kids who need some more room to play a bit of footy, or cricket, the Richmond footy ground is just around the corner (with one of the best surfaces i have ever seen just quietly).

My only advice would be to ensure you are out right on 10am when you leave. We had all our luggage out at 1020am and received a slightly terse phone call later that day to say that we have inconvenienced both the cleaner and the owner for the entire day. This was despite us leaving the cottage pretty clean on our departure anyway.

Despite that minor sour point, I'd highly recommend anyone to stay here. Families, Couples. Whoever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cottage on Gunning, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. On the day you checked out my cleaner and I had 4 cottages to clean and had 4 families eager to check in to each early so the pressure was on! It is not often that happens thank goodness so checking out a bit late is not always such a problem. Thank you also for leaving the cottage so tidy - a big help on days like the above. Look forward to seeing you at my cottage again in the future. Peta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a very pretty property but the owner came over part way through our four night stay and accused us of having extra guests when this was not the case. While she did eventually realise, it left a bad taste on what would have been a lovely stay. We were also told via email after we left, that we should not have left nappies in the outside wheelie bin but to take them away with us, which seems unreasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cottage on Gunning, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review Polly. I would like to point out that the reason for my visit to the cottage was due to me receiving a phone call from a concerned neighbour saying that people with children were arriving at the cottage, balloons were placed on the front gates and a noisy party was taking place. When you came to the door you explained that you were indeed having a party for your 2 year old child. At no time did you contact me to ask if a party could be held in the cottage so I made it clear to you that I was not happy about it.
When I emailed you regarding the many soiled, unwrapped nappies you left in the bin I never indicated that I expected you to "take them with you". The purpose of the email was to alert you to the fact that it was not a hygienic practice to leave them unwrapped in a bin that was to be used by my next guests as the rubbish would not be collected for several days, therefore I had to put on rubber gloves, remove them, disinfect the bin and dispose of the nappies to the local tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just returned from a two week Tasmanian holiday and we stayed at this cottage for the first two nights. Lovely place in all respects and really a complete home away from home. We enjoyed its heritage features but also its spacious layout, the immaculate, comfortable decoration and furnishings and the lovely gardens. Quality breakfast provisions and overall a lovingly cared for cottage made for a superb two days before we moved onto Launceston. The owner Peta, also operates another B&B cottage 10 minutes drive away which we had also booked (for the end of our holiday) and which also turned out to be a real find. Thankyou Peta for providing such a quality holiday experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cottage on Gunning, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. The large garden takes time to upkeep but I really enjoy working in such a beautiful space so it never seems to be a chore and there is nothing better than sitting in the courtyard having a cuppa before weeding the next garden bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013.
My 2 brothers and I wanted to take our elderly mother to tasmania and wanted some comfortable places with great character.
Cottage on gunning was excellent. Early 1800 cottage beautifully restored but with good heating, modern stoves, Tv etc. Giving a taste of the past but being very comfortable.

It was only 25 minutes from Hobart airport which means by the time you drive into hobart, get a car park and book into a hotel in town, it is quicker to stay out in the historic town of Richmond.
Literally 5 mins walk to the centre of the historic town.

The owner Peta organises free range eggs and fresh bread from the bakery for breakfast and even includes some of her home made jam.


Took 4 (with an extra mattress being placed on the floor) and has all the

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youland, Owner at Cottage on Gunning, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review - it was lovely to meet your 2 brothers and your delightful Mother. By putting an extra mattress in the dining room for you to sleep on it enabled your elderly Mum to have her own bedroom which she appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have just returned from a two-night stay in this wonderful cottage with two friends.
The cottage is welcoming and deceptively spacious! It is well maintained (inside and out - the back garden is a delight!); clean and had everything required to make our stay a comfortable one.

Breakfast provisions included eggs, milk, bread and a selection of home made jams. At night time - it was unbelievably quiet - despite being on the main road we heard no noise and it gets dark (there is little street light entering onto the property), all this in addition to firm & comfortable beds with thick doonas to keep you cozy, ensured a good nights sleep.

We walked into town on our second night for dinner, it's an ideal place to set up base, walking distance into Richmond (and the bridge) and a short drive away from Hobart and all the wineries & cheesery.

Peta (the owner) was also very proactive in offering suggestions of sights and attractions when we made the booking - to assist with our planning - and there is plenty of information in the cottage to help you plan when you get there.

We had a relaxing time and highly recommend it if you're looking for a comfortable and enchanting place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This was the second time we've stayed in this charming picturesque heritage cottage. The facilities are all you would expect at your own home.

The same excellent standards and extra touches with homemade preserves, fresh fruit straight from the garden made our stay most enjoyable and with the warm evenings we were able to make good use of the barbeque provided to guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights in this charming cottage where the owner has thought of everything! The cottage is beautifully furnished and spotless, and the breakfast provisions are outstanding -- farm fresh eggs, wonderful bread and jams.. If you are lucky enough to come during berry season, you're in for a real treat.. Richmond is a great location for exploring Hobart and the Tasman peninsula, and the hospitality at this cottage is remarkable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage on Gunning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage on Gunning

Address: 15 Gunning Street, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage on Gunning - Landfall Cottage (Circa 1846) has been restored to provide all the modern amenities of today but still provides guests with an experience of the past. Cosy electric log fires and panel heaters warm the cottage and all beds are fitted with feather doonas, eiderdowns and electric blankets.Hearty continental breakfast provisions and complimentary port and plunger coffee are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cottage on Gunning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage On Gunning Richmond, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage on Gunning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.