We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage on Gunning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cottage on Gunning to your Saves list
Cottage on Gunning
15 Gunning Street, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013.
My 2 brothers and I wanted to take our elderly mother to tasmania and wanted some comfortable places with great character.
Cottage on gunning was excellent. Early 1800 cottage beautifully restored but with good heating, modern stoves, Tv etc. Giving a taste of the past but being very comfortable.

It was only 25 minutes from Hobart airport which means by the time you drive into hobart, get a car park and book into a hotel in town, it is quicker to stay out in the historic town of Richmond.
Literally 5 mins walk to the centre of the historic town.

The owner Peta organises free range eggs and fresh bread from the bakery for breakfast and even includes some of her home made jam.


Took 4 (with an extra mattress being placed on the floor) and has all the

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youland, Owner at Cottage on Gunning, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review - it was lovely to meet your 2 brothers and your delightful Mother. By putting an extra mattress in the dining room for you to sleep on it enabled your elderly Mum to have her own bedroom which she appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have just returned from a two-night stay in this wonderful cottage with two friends.
The cottage is welcoming and deceptively spacious! It is well maintained (inside and out - the back garden is a delight!); clean and had everything required to make our stay a comfortable one.

Breakfast provisions included eggs, milk, bread and a selection of home made jams. At night time - it was unbelievably quiet - despite being on the main road we heard no noise and it gets dark (there is little street light entering onto the property), all this in addition to firm & comfortable beds with thick doonas to keep you cozy, ensured a good nights sleep.

We walked into town on our second night for dinner, it's an ideal place to set up base, walking distance into Richmond (and the bridge) and a short drive away from Hobart and all the wineries & cheesery.

Peta (the owner) was also very proactive in offering suggestions of sights and attractions when we made the booking - to assist with our planning - and there is plenty of information in the cottage to help you plan when you get there.

We had a relaxing time and highly recommend it if you're looking for a comfortable and enchanting place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This was the second time we've stayed in this charming picturesque heritage cottage. The facilities are all you would expect at your own home.

The same excellent standards and extra touches with homemade preserves, fresh fruit straight from the garden made our stay most enjoyable and with the warm evenings we were able to make good use of the barbeque provided to guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights in this charming cottage where the owner has thought of everything! The cottage is beautifully furnished and spotless, and the breakfast provisions are outstanding -- farm fresh eggs, wonderful bread and jams.. If you are lucky enough to come during berry season, you're in for a real treat.. Richmond is a great location for exploring Hobart and the Tasman peninsula, and the hospitality at this cottage is remarkable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We recently stayed here at this lovely cottage for 3 days and fell in love with it so much so that we will be back in summer to pick and eat the magnificent fruit that abounds on the property.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and were warm and cosy. The property was spotless and has a lovely garden to wander around in, a barbeque and outdoor setting if you like to do your own cooking. The pantry was well stocked and includes home made jams. It is only a short stroll to the village of Richmond with its many Georgian buildings and restaurants. The owners go out of their way to make guests feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My husband and I and our two small grandchildren stayed at this charming 2 bedroomed cottage in Richmond recently for 2 days. It is perfectly located in a quiet area just a short walk to the main street. The cottage is beautifully furnished, lovingly cared for and spotlessly clean. Peta the owner has thought of everything and we were pleasantly surprised with the fresh eggs, the home made bread. the fruit picked from the garden, home made jams and other goodies in the pantry. There were also childrens' books and videos, magazines and local information to keep us all interested and entertained but we particularly liked the 'snuggle rugs'' in the lounge room to cudldle up to beside the fire and our grandchildren just loved roaming the very spacious back yard. At $170 a night we thought it also very good value for money. This is the perfect spot in the georgous village of Richmond. Our grandchildren voted it their favourite spot in Tasmania.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage on Gunning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage on Gunning

Address: 15 Gunning Street, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage on Gunning - Landfall Cottage (Circa 1846) has been restored to provide all the modern amenities of today but still provides guests with an experience of the past. Cosy electric log fires and panel heaters warm the cottage and all beds are fitted with feather doonas, eiderdowns and electric blankets.Hearty continental breakfast provisions and complimentary port and plunger coffee are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cottage on Gunning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage On Gunning Richmond, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage on Gunning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.