We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puddleduck Vineyard

Puddleduck Vineyard
992 Richmond Road, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
+61 3 6260 2301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Richmond
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Puddleduck Vineyard is a small family Tasmanian Vineyard owned by Darren and Jackie Brown. We welcome you to taste our beautiful cool climate wine at our friendly cellar door, which is open from 10 - 5 daily. Whilst here you will probably meet Polly our wine dog, or Lucky or cellar door duck. Feel free to have a "Reverse BYO" (you supply the picnic food and we supply the beverages) to enjoy while in the area.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“An unexpected wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We didn't plan to stop here. We even stopped at another winery first but were not in love with their drink and my brothers girlfriend ran into a spider soooo big we had to leave. This brought us to puddleduck. First the rough part - it is a really small winery and isn't air conditioned. That out of the way - it was a wonderful experience. We loved the wine but the owners were the real treat. It was a casual (non-stuffy like so many wineries) atmosphere, beautiful and simply relaxing.

If you're in the area, be SURE to stop by here!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

As my first ever vineyard experience, I have to say it was a pleasure. The host was friendly and shared lots of information about the Australian and Tasmanian wine industries and of course their products. The gardens are tidy and if it hadn't been a rainy day we would have stayed longer. We found the prices to be a little high for our budget, but will be definitely buying more online.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem in Tasmania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Puddleduck Vineyard is one of the best winery's I have visited. We highly recommend visit and tasting the wonderful wine varieties on offer.

One difference with this winery, the hostess makes you feel very relaxed while you are tasting. A must stop if you are in the Richmond Tasmania area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, nice wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful small boutique winery with lovely outdoor tables beside the pond with ducks puddling on it (hence the name). Also a resident duck that thinks it's a human/dog. Very friendly staff. Good quality wines, but a bit expensive for my budget. They encourage you to bring your own picnic lunch and eat it there while wine tasting. Would make a lovely setting for a function I think.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest vineyard owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Owners were very passionate and informative and obviously loved what they did. An entertaining cellar door experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackiePuddleduck, Owner at Puddleduck Vineyard, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puddleduck Vineyard also viewed

Richmond, Clarence
Richmond, Clarence
 

Been to Puddleduck Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puddleduck Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Puddleduck Vineyard to your Saves list