We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Friend Surf Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added My Friend Surf Hostal to your Saves list
My Friend Surf Hostal
Los Pinos 533, Huanchaco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Watched Ireland win the 6 nations here. Really nice staff and a comfortable setting. Food looked good. It's located very close to the beach also. The Señora behind the bar was very friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I spent three or so nights here with a friend. The room and bathroom was a bit grotty, but then again it was pretty cheap, so you can't really complain too much! However, the bar/restaurant downstairs was great. The food was cheap, but tasty and there were always people around and about, giving it a good atmosphere. The staff were pretty friendly too. If you're just concerned with getting your head down and a bit of fun, I'd recommend this hostel.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Sooo cheap, but sooo mediocre. If you're a male surfer and coming to Huanchaco to surf 95% of your time and not spend any time in your room then you'll probably love it (and to be fair, that's probably who they market for). Although the staff were so lovely and the food was awesome, we changed hostels after one night. I felt that when I had a shower I came out dirtier than before I went in arrrgh.

Also, roofttop bar + BBQ are advertised but they unfortunately don't exist. There is however a basic bar downstairs in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We payed 15 Soles each, for a double room. Cheap cheap! The restaurant downstairs serve really good food, the price is desent. The staff is friendly and helpfull. Many backpackers all over. Great beds, the shower is so-so. They also have a great place to chill out on the top floor. The location is perfecto.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My Friend Hostel is where I had a 5 day reservation, but they put me up in Grandma’s house because of overbooking. This is an extremely personable privet home with grandma and two aunts, a few blocks away from the hostel. But I did feel cut off from the use of the common room, TV, Kitchen, regular use of the Wi-Fi, and flow of regular information that happens when a group of travelers get together
The restaurant was good but the service was bad. WiFi was unreliable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved my friend hostel! In total spent 2 weeks there and i couldnt have been happier. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the food i would say is the best in huanchaco in terms of value for money. Extencive menu, very fairly priced and delicous. They offer surf school and your only 1 minute away from the ocean with a very friendly begginer wave to learn on.
I would go back again.

Room Tip: Top is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Although the price is very cheap and the staff was really good, we had some problems at the hostel.
We were checked-in in a wrong room, so we were asked to move to the right one as soon as it was cleaned because they had people arriving in the room we were. We were going out so they told us they'd move our bags to the right room. When we got back, our bags were still in the same place, and nobody had arrived in that room.
Still, we changed rooms and got in the right one. The problem is that in this place, the shower was broken so there wasn't hot water. We reported the problem and they said they'd call somebody to fix it and offered another bathroom to take a shower, but we decided to wait, as they said the man would arrive in a hour.
The man didn't come to fix the shower that day, actually, he only arrived 15 minutes before our check out. We had to use the outside bathroom to take a shower.
Also, the wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only on the restaurant area.
We had a discount in our day rate, but in the end, it wasn't worthy because of this problems.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randal q, Manager at My Friend Surf Hostal, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for your review. We take feedback seriously and have taken on board your comments.
Unfortunately, during the busy period around Christmas and New Year we had problems and our plumber was unable to come as quickly as we had asked. The shower has now been fixed. We have also recently installed a new router in the upstairs área of the building so that our guests can enjoy WIFI throughout the hostal.
We´re sorry you had problems during your stay and hope that it didn´t ruin your time in Huanchaco. Thanks again for your comments, we hope the improvements we´ve made will benefit future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Friend Surf Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Friend Surf Hostal

Address: Los Pinos 533, Huanchaco, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Huanchaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Huanchaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your My Friend Surf Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Friend Surf Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.