We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciousness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina

La Esquina
Calle Union 299, Huanchaco, Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Huanchaco
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This spot was at the top of my list prior to arriving, and it definitly lived up to its reputation. The food was amazing. We enjoyed fried yucca as an appetizer, followed by grilled corvina (white fish). Just outside the restuarant there a a bill grill, where the fish was prepared in front of us. It was grilled to perfection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wow, this place is a good place to eat from grilled fish, whole, fillets or steaks, seafood and meats.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great grilling, reasonable prices, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant sits on a corner near the beach, with an upstairs area and a grill sitting out front. I was very pleased with everything.

I had grilled chicken, as I'd had fish so often during my stay in Huanchaco. I also had a glass of wine and an espresso, and a bottle of water to go.

Everything was great! The chicken was cooked perfectly, the drinks were excellent, and the waiter was attentive and polite.

For all of this, I paid about $16 U. S. not including the tip. A very reasonable price, in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pricey but fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We chose La Esquina because not many places were open in Huanchaco that night, and also because we saw the grill outside the restaurant.
We had a whole Corvinilla fish, grilled, with salad, rice and french fries. All was very good, and the fish and grilled to perfection.
It was pricey though, but at the end worth it.
Service was not so good, it seemed the waiter didn't know what he was doing or when he was supposed to do it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Less than expected - Inferior a lo esperado”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I had read many good things about this place on several forums and gave it a try but it was a bit less than expected, I would say what we had was rather average.
We had a table on the second floor with a view over the market and the sea in the dark.
My son and I had both grilled meagre with fries, salad and garlic sauce. The fish was grilled on a grill on the street and costed 30 S/. (11 USD - 7,5 EUR) per dish.
The sauce was rather tasteless.
Beer was 5 S/. (65 cl) while water costed 2 S/. (50 cl).

Había leído muchas buenas cosas sobre este restaurante en varios foros y quise probar, pero fue un poco inferior a lo esperado, yo diría que lo que teníamos no era nada del otro mundo pero nada malo tampoco.
Tuvimos una mesa en el segundo piso con una vista sobre el mercado artesanal y el mar en la oscuridad.
Mi hijo y yo hemos comido corvina a la parrilla con papas fritas, ensalada y salsa de ajo. El pescado fue preparado en una parrilla en la calle y costó 30 S /. (11 USD - 7,5 euros) por cada plato.
La salsa tenia poco sabor .
La cerveza (65 cl) costaba 5 S /. mientras que el agua costó 2 S /. (50 cl).

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
 
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
 

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.