We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive for nothing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Colonial

Club Colonial
Av. La Ribera, 514, Huanchaco, Peru
044-461-015
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Huanchaco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Reservations recommended
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“expensive for nothing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We decided to go here for our last day in Peru. The reputation of this restaurant looking very good in our travel guide book.
The service was very very long. One waitress who had many difficulties with these 4 clients.
I asked for a bottle of water when we passed our order and I didn't receive it...... I asked three times.
The test of the famous lasagne with langoustines was insipid and uneventful; pasta, langoustines and the sauce with to much cream. no vegetables. Too simply for the price.
And the best of the best, we were sick after this meal !! A good food poisoning.
Certainly due to the poorly prepared seafood.

So DON'T GO THERE! THERE NO SERVICE AND THE FOOD IS NOT AT ALL GOOD!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South & Central America
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Don't drink two Pisco Sours here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Pisco Sours will knock your socks off (that is if you wear socks in a surfing beach town). I cannot believe we drank two each and still made it a block home. They were very good though. The Artichoke Lasagne was mostly cheese and did not resemble Lasagne. The Fettucini with mushrooms bacon was also VERY cheesy but good. Not knowing that our entrees would be cheese, we had ordered a cheese appetizer as well - clog those arteries.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montanita, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in the north coast of Perú”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've seen the nice terrace before, just passin by. So we organize a business dinner, with candle lights, the sound of the waves and really chill music. The service was very good, they are realy friendly and it looks like they love what they do. I've ordered pasta "Tallarines con salsa de alcachofas" and was the best I've had in Perú and for a long time. That, the people around, the view and the clasic pop songs interpreted in jazz style, compelted a fabolous night that didn't felt like work at all...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely! Great food, nice view... We even had musicians on the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We found the restaurant on Fodor's. The food was excellent, the girl serving us lovely.
The beer was cold and the wine pretty decent.
The restaurant has great views of the ocean. It got to be great at sunset!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Most forgetable meal in Peru”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Definitely not the typical generous Peruvian portions. Flavor was "OK". Service was very good. Doesnt merit a return visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Colonial also viewed

Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
 
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
 

Been to Club Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.