We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Luxurious hotel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Paracas 173, Paracas 56, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Paracas
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Luxurious hotel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, for 4 night with a friend from Peru. The hotel definitely is luxurious, but quite expenses. I had the 4th night free package with breakfast. Here is my honest and unbiased review of the hotel:

Pros: beautifully landscaped, good cleaning service in the morning and at night, friendly staff, well appointed rooms and clean, awesome pool area, grand breakfast buffet with made to order eggs and coffee (get the breakfast package), great ceviche restaurant on the dock, awesome bathroom in rooms, nice terrace area with rooms, and located in walking distance of the grand metropolis of Paracas (LOL).

Cons: expensive cocktails/beer/wine/food, smell from beach area (not all the time, but I think from seaweed), tours are very expensive, hotel taxi service is double what is charged in the area (no better service), made to order eggs were just ok, restaurant service was just good not exceptional for a luxury hotel, and extra charges for wifi in rooms.

Overall this hotel is awesome as noted above, but there is room for improvement as noted above. I say this because it's a 5 star rated hotel. As far as the tour packages, I found a local taxi driver from Pisco who took us on tours at a much lower cost. The tours were not luxurious, but personal. It helps to speak a little Spanish. I would definitely recommend this hotel in the Paracas area, but just remember is beautiful, but expensive.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool areas and restaurant, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased to read your comments, it helps us to improve our service.
As you mentioned very well it is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful surroundings, rooms are very comfortable, swimming pools are tempered at 26 degrees celcius all year long as a Starwood standard of quality.

We hope to see you again,

Regards,

Bruno Giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    150
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
224
342
19
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A phenomenal environment, especially when not crowded. Beautiful setting, great rooms. Staff helpful but communication difficult due to lack of english (or spanish from our end), Trip to islas ballesas a must and concierge very helpful. Difficult to get to - we rented a car and got stopped twice by police on way back to Lima (basic shakedown), But very expensive to take car service from Lima and bus not great option from Lima airport. But all the minor challenges are mitigated by the fact we are in a foreign country and if one wants it to be easier they can go to florida, which is far less interesting. As for the smell i found the comments mostly exagerrated. yes it is noticeable but you get used to it and i followed the advice on Trip Advisor by asking for Villas 25 and higher. Thoroughly enjoyed wandering into the little town of Paracas along the beach,,,,,,

Room Tip: Villa above 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to read you found our hotel lovely.
Ballestas islands is a must see, the wildlife is so intense and all along the year, full of surprises.
We hope to see back at our hotel,

Regards,

Bruno Giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent in February a short Weekend with friends at the Hotel Paracas.

Complex is beautiful and cultivated, architect and landscape gardener did a great job;
Absolutely annoying is - luckily not permanently - a sickening smell from the ocean or a nearby fishfactory. Our rooms were located at the western part of the compound, where the wind transported the aroma directly into our rooms, where it persisted for a longer time-period than outside.
The rooms overall were gorgeous as well as the bathrooms, clean and with nice details.

Majority of staff was attentive and friendly.

The main building houses to restaurants, a peruvian named Ballestas and a Trattoria.
Both highly priced is the value for money of the Ballestas barely fine.
Out of the world is the charging for simple pizza and pasta at the Trattoria.
As well room for improvement leaves the service of the drinks. I ordered a glass of wine - forgotten; in exchange we got a not ordered Inka-Cola and were charged for it. And why can´t the first round of drinks come simultaneously?

Regarding hygiene: Family pool is as well a meeting point for lots of seagulls and as a result you find their "legacies" on the bottom. A hotel of this standard should take more care about it to avoid these conventions. There could be a risk specially for kids.

It could be annoying, if you want to sleep before midnight and people use the public seating accommodation on top of your bungalow.

And their seem to run out of money, because I was charged with 1 complete Nuevo Soles while paying at the end with another credit-card than the one I gave to the receptionist for guarantee reasons when we checked in.

All in all a hotel with potential, but way to go to be a perfect five star resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, it helps us to improve our service and care for guests.
We are a hotel at a National Reserve and cannot change the course of local wild life activity.
The receptionist need a credit card at check in for guarantee purpose and the procedure to do so is to charge one nuevo soles ( Visa and Mastercard Procedure), if you pay with another credit card the first guarantee is not charged at all, not even the one nuevo soles.

We wish to see you soon,

Regards,

Bruno Giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We ended our Peruvian holiday with a few nights at Hotel Paracas. We were there off season (March) which was perfect. The weather was warm and dry and the hotel was not overcrowded. We had an ocean front suite (101) which was a beautiful 2-room suite (Master, 2 Bath, living room with pull out sofa) that opened up right onto the second swimming pool. It was perfect to be able to watch our son swim and play from the comfort of our suite. At the main pool, we rented cabanas which were comped more than we were charged (reasonably priced at $25/weekday and $50/weekend day). The hotel is luxurious without being overly formal, stuffy, or trying too hard. It's simple, casual elegance where staff are friendly and things are easy. Staff is incredibly well trained and wants to make your holiday spectacular. All equipment for water activities are offered at no additional charge (kayaks, paddle boards, catamarans) and there is a roomful of pool toys for kids to keep them occupied. Just be careful in the water as the shore is full of LARGE jelly fish.

We did two tours through the hotel tour coordinator - a champagne tasting yacht tour and a family tour to the Ballestas Islands. Both were incredible. The Ballestas tour was very reasonably priced (less than $30pp) and was an experience we will remember for a lifetime. We saw thousands of sea lions (honestly), almost a million birds, including penguins and sailed by the candelabra geoglyphe, thought to be dated as early as 200 BC. If you happen to be in Paracas, do not miss this tour. It was a highlight of our trip. For the yacht tour, we decided to put our son in the kids club (complimentary) while we yachted the bay at sunset with wine and delicious hors d'oeuvres including ceviche, scallops and tuna tartar. We were lucky to have no other passengers (a benefit of being there during the low season). The restaurants at the hotel were pleasant; the seldom frequented Italian restaurant was the star with pizza crust so thin it melted in your mouth and pastas so flavorful that they stood up to the strong cab we ordered. The wine list was also very strong. If you typically order breakfast, I suggest you opt for the buffet which includes both the interior buffet as well as made-to-order dishes such as omelets and pancakes. By the time you pay for coffee, juice and eggs, you are better off with the all-you-can-eat. The only recommendation is to improve the towels by the pool as they are on the small side.

We had a very difficult time leaving this hotel as we would have loved to stay. The only challenge is getting there (3-4 hour drive from Lima) but I hear that Pisco is planning to build an international airport. If they do, we will be back sooner than expected.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted to read you had a great time in our property, you also enjoyed Ballestas islands and the yacht tour.
We are focused to make guest experience amazing and unforgettable,we plan to create new experiences for your next visit.

We will be very happy to see you back,

Regards,

Bruno giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This a very nice hotel, well located, rooms are great as expected given the price you are paying.
When checking in make sure to ask if the assigned room is next to storage or housekeeping service room. It was 12.30am and lots of noise coming from that side. Despite our complaints to customer service we never got moved to another option. We had to complain again the following night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Rocar21,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are sorry that we could not move you to another room due to the hotel ocupancy.
We will do a follow up on the storage comment as it is the first time we are aware of such a problem and i would like to apologize for the inconvinience.

We would like to see you back and enjoy a new stay with us,

Regards,

Bruno Giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this February and while this hotel is absolutely gorgeous, the service is not what I think of for a 5 star and the restaurants seemed overpriced. Their ceviche restaurant did make wonderful food though so that was a plus. I must admit I found food and drink in all of paracas very pricey. It is a resort town and the prices are much higher that other places we went in Peru.

One thing to really note is it is a resort for families, so it's loud - lots of kid noise...If you're looking to just relax, not the right location.

Another thing to note is you have to run the showers for a good 5 min before it's reasonably hot. I called to have them fixed the first day and was surprised when they just came up and ran all the taps for about 5 minutes to fix the problem. Unfortunately as my spanish is terrible, I didn't quite understand it when they tried to explain that this was normal, and called them back again the next day.

So again, beautiful resort, very clean, quite loud, and quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, it helps us to improve our service.
During summer the property is a place for Peruvian holidays.
The hotel is a very nice property indeed and it is a luxury collection.

We hope to see again ,

Regards,

Bruno Giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I just got finished staying in this hotel after 4 days in Lima, Peru. I will lay out the pros and cons:

Pros:

-The resort is quiet which allows for maximum relaxation
-The service is excellent and the staff are very nice and helpful
-Ballestas Islands tour is easy, convenient (pickup at hotel dock). We'll worth it
-Two large pools
-Suites are huge and clean...short walk to the beach
-Water sports available easily through hotel...ie kayaking or kite surfing
-Excellent tapas available at the hotel bar....Amuse Bouche selection (reasonably priced)
-astonishing amount of exotic birds fly right up to your deck or your pool chair...pretty cool

Cons:

-The smell from the ocean (not the resorts fault) is noticeable at times. That being said, many if the reviewers are overstating it. We only noticed it a few times and it wasn't bad.
-The main hotel restaurant is overpriced and just average food. They try to be something they aren't
-No Jacuzzi on the premises (excluding the spa) which is bizarre because it's an easy fix
-The beach is not good and not good for swimming. If they cleaned it up better and added sand in spots it might be. We saw not one person enter the ocean to swim from the beach which tells you all you need to know.
-Breakfast is NOT included in your rate which is ridiculous because it really is pretty expensive (for Peruvian Hotels). Every other hotel (including B Arts which is a 5 star Lima resort included breakfast).

Overall, this was a nice hotel and a good experience. I enjoyed how quiets it was, the tours, and definitely how polite the staff was.

I have to be honest however and call it how I see it. Management DIY,d make some simple changes and make this place a 5 star resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we do take your points seriously and wish to improve our guests satisfaction.
Paracas has some beautiful beaches to go for a swim, La Mina, Raspon are some of them and they are at the National Reserve, hotel beach is for water sport, kayak, paddle and catamaran are some of them.
We do have have rates with breakfast included and rates without breakfast included, Peru is like other country and we do not feel that it should be different.

We hope to see you back soon,

Regards,

Bruno Giordano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Avenida Paracas 173, Paracas 56, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paracas
#1 Family Hotel in Paracas
#1 Green Hotel in Paracas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paracas is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Paracas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.