We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel out of the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Paracas 173, Paracas 56, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Paracas
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel out of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pros:
-2 sto bungalows, so no need to hear your beside neighbor.
-free bike rentals and kayaks
-right beside the sea
-really nice rooms, decorated ad hoc the location
-excellent bar with awesome view
-friendly staff, though they will try to sell you tours which are way more expensive of what you can get in town

Cons
-away from town, and the "street" is a dirty road
-Internet extremely slow and expensive. If I'm paying for Internet at least I expect to be fast and steady

In conclusion, the best hotel in paracas, If I come back I will definitely stay here as is the best hotel in this town, heard they have a special cocktail, but forgot to ask for it, supposedly is incredible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments .
i hope next time you visit us you ll be able to try our famous Paracas sour cocktail , a very special one and prefered from our guests.
Internet has improved from jannuary 2013, free in the lobby and restaurants.
I wish you ll come back and stay with us again,
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    134
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
187
303
17
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The room, grounds and pools were beautiful. Tikiary organized very enjoyable tours to the Ballestas islands to see penguins and thousands of other birds, as well as the Nazca lines. It is easy to get anywhere you want -- Ica, Nazca, etc. -- if you simply ask at the hotel or walk into town and hire a driver yourself. Paracas is 3 hours from Lima and it is not smart to drive on your own. The food was also very good, but expensive as hotel food typically is. I agree that the check in staff could loosen up, but the staff was excellent overall. If you want a relaxing stay as part of your visit to Peru, stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted you had a great stay with us.
Indeed Nazca lines and Ballestas are to be visited while visiting Paracas and staying with us.
Best regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Hotel Paracus in early December. Our room was on the second level close to the family pool and we had a view of the pool and ocean. This was a great time to visit Paracus as the flowers and shrubs were in full bloom. Also, it wasn't busy. Excellent housekeeping staff and courteous dining room staff. They have a few employees in the dining room who speak English. We did have some difficulty with communication in the dining room but they do try. Brush up on your Spanish before you go.
We made use of the complimentary Kayaks and enjoyed walks on the walkway by the bay. We did the 2 hour tour to Ballestas Island which leaves from the dock at the hotel and it was great!. So much wildlife. We also took in a 2 1/2 hour mountain biking excursion with I Peru to the Natural Reserve which is actually a desert. The landscape along the coast is beautiful and we would recommend this trip, especially late afternoon so you can enjoy the sunset. Biking in the desert! Who gets to do that? If we had more time we would have tried the dune buggy's.
We had planned to rent a car in Lima and drive to Paracus , however, we met this great cab driver during our one week stay in Lima and we hired him to drive us to Paracus. So glad we did that. It was a 4 hour drive and we did get pulled over a few times by the police which the cab driver handled without any issues. We paid $300 U.S. for the return trip which was stress free.
The two days we spent in Paracus was a great way to conclude our 2 weeks in Peru. Hotel Paracus is a beautiful property and we had a very restful stay with just enough activity to make it interesting. The weather in Paracus is so much nicer than Lima. Lots of sunshine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, General Manager at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and the description of your experiences.
The hotel is located at the border of the Paracas Reserve, it is a 5 minutes bike ride provided from our Activity club ( no charge bikes activity).
Excursions with Tikaryi agency located on the property can be arranged directly everyday.(Ballestas islands, Nasca Lines and desert experiences)
The weather is sunny all year long, people from Lima come along just to enjoy the sun.
We are glad that you did enjoy the hotel and had a restful stay with us.
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel and rooms are lovely. The food was delicious and service was great. Unfortunately it seems totally artificial in Paracas. Everything else seems to still be in recovery mode from the recent earthquake. It is also not in a convenient location to see Ica or the Nasca lines unless you have your own car. We thought it would be the perfect home base for exploring the region when it fact it felt like more of a Club Med... Once you are there you are there and everyone seems shocked when you ask about leaving the compound.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, General Manager at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
I would like to thank you very much for your comments about the food and the lovely rooms.
Indeed that four years ago a terrible earthquake destroyed the entire city and the hotel also, but now it is a brand new luxury construction hotel and our partner Tikaryi offers excursions with a private yacht ,Nasca Lines flights, and desert adventure with a Four wheels drive prepared cars.
Guests are so happy to stay in the hotel to relax and enjoy themselves that it might be a surprise for some to leave the property.
Regards,

Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

In order to see the Nazca lines, my group made the trip to the Hotel Paracas. (Also see the Bellestas Islands when you're there -- it's cheap and a good trip). The hotel is beautiful. The food is good, but priced at about U.S. prices (which is much higher than the area generally). A nice piece of fish is a few bucks more than a hamburger ($20). The hotel across the street is the only alternative that is close by and the food there was mixed, but more reasonably priced and some items were good (the advocado salad and the clams; take your own wine if you want it, their list stunk). There is no real beach, and what sort of looks like a beach smelled like hell. I can't return to the hotel with my wife because she couldn't stand the smell, which permeated the place when the wind was right. The pools were very nice, as were the grounds and rooms.

Most importantly, be careful how you get to the hotel from Lima. We drove, and I don't recommend it for everyone. Let's just say, hypothetically, that you could be mugged by the Peruvian Police on the way down, and it could go something like this. (We were warned by the car rental company about this possibility.) On the highway, there are tollbooths. When you pass through the booth, you may shortly thereafter experience a roadblock consisting of 10-15 police officers stopping just about everyone. This could be so institutionalized, in fact, that there may be locals selling snacks. Such an event could be scary, but need not be if you recognize that it is a shakedown not atypical of developing countries. If you do drive, here's a little advice I'll pass on. If you get stopped at one of these events, play dumb (no Spanish, even if you know it). The police may tell you broke a law and you may have, but if not, they'll make one up especially for you. At some point, an officer will show you a book that tells you owe them a few hundred (or even thousand) Soles (the local currency). When they hand you the book (or any other type of paper), this is when you stick 10 or 20 soles inside it and hand it back to the officer. Then, you will be let go. By hiding the money in the book, the cameras that are there to watch the police can't capture the money exchange. I'll also pass along one person's experience where If you play really dumb, you may get away paying nothing, since they have no interest in arresting you, and a too long stay apparently looks suspicious on the cameras. This approach may take great patience and no fear. Just keep in mind that should such a hypothetical event occur, all they appear to want is a few Soles. We spoke with one couple that paid 100, and another than paid 100 and 200 at the two toll booths on the trip down. From what I understand, this was a higher than necessary payment. If you think can handle this potential for harassment, then by all means drive. In fact, such events make for great stories, and the drive is very nice along the Pacific Coast. Experience suggests that Sunday may be less troublesome, though I'll suggest to you that Friday is not a good day. I believe there's bus transportation to Paracas from Lima. I would likely choose that option if I was to return, which I don't plan to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I would like to thank you very much for your comments regarding the hotel Paracas.
Unfortunately some days of the year the tide is strong and seaweed get on shore, we do clean the beach every day but the coast is long and the smell can pass through the hotel when the wind is coming from south to north.
Prices are as expected for a Luxury Collection, cheap comparing to other Luxury properties around the world.
We do regret your experience on the road with the local enforcement and it is the first time we hear about it that way.
I wish to welcome you personaly if you decide to come again,
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are gorgeous, spacious, light and beautifully appointed. The hotel is on the coast, and there is a small beach. Unfortunately, between the rotting seaweed (that looks like it has never been cleaned away) and the bird poo, it STINKS, and the smell is pretty ubiquitous.

The food is so-so, pretty typical for a big hotel, and the drinks (U.S. priced) are poured pretty short. Wi-fi is extra unless you complain.

Room Tip: Get top floor, ocean view, on the end by the family pool. Gorgeous after the family pool closes at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
The hotel is located in a reserve and birds are part of it, we do clean the beach every day but unfortunately we cannot make them disappear all along the coast.
The hotel is as you mentionned with gorgeous and spacious rooms and also has two heated swimming pools not to be forgotten.
I wish to see you next time you visit Paracas,
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Paracas and part of the good experience was definitely this lovely hotel. It's still the prettiest in Paracas. Very nice rooms and bathrooms (liked the bathtub), lovely gardens, great swimming pools (warm water) and wonderful pisco sour, staff was friendly and helpful, everything's organised to make you feel pampered. The hotel organised our excursion to Islas Ballestas and it was great.

Very few cons, it bugs me when a hotel charges for the wi-fi or breakfast. You can get wi-fi and breakfast for free in most less expensive hotels, at least in Peru. Food is good but could be better / more inspiring, specially at the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are delighted to read you had a fantastic time at our hotel in Paracas.
Indeed the bar lounge specialty is the Pisco Sour you can enjoy in front of the Paracas bay in a very relaxing surroundings.
Some prices are with breakfast included and some are not, we plan to change the policy for next year concerning Wi-Fi.
We hope to see you next time you come to Paracas,
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Avenida Paracas 173, Paracas 56, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paracas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paracas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paracas is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Paracas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.