We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, decent room, service needs vast improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Paracas 173, Paracas 56, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Paracas
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great facilities, decent room, service needs vast improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a nice weekend escape from Lima, but a pricey one. The property is VERY well kept, two great (and heated) pools, they had a kids room with video games and you could use their kayaks and surfboards. The bar was great but pricey for evening drinks. I was fairly disappointed with the service considering the nightly rate. I walked past the reception at least a dozen times and barely got acknowledged. Rooms were decent and comfortable. I opted for a less expensive room so there was only a view of other cabanas, but I only was in the room to sleep. If management is reading this site, I would recommend to them better training for their staff. Reception should greet everyone upon arrival and show a basic level of interest in their guests.

Room Tip: Save money and don´t get a room facing the ocean. You will see it throughout the day anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the property. First, I appreciate you sharing detailed feedback about your stay, as it's extremely helpful to hear directly from our guests.
Let me inquire about the service issues you encountered and personally apologize for these inconveniences, which impacted your visit.
Thanks again for your business and sharing your feedback.
regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    134
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
187
301
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
évora
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent facilities, wonderful location , but the service needs improvement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor.
I wanted to know more about the service issue you encountered with us and would like to leave my e-mail ( bgiordano@libertador.com.pe ).
Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to Paracas in the future and to have another chance to provide a perfect vacation.
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We recieved an upgrade to a solarium suite & the terrace was FABULOUS. Room had 2 bathrooms ( great for friends travelling together). The service & views are top notch. Location outside of the hotel....not so great. Eat at the hotel...the food at the local restaurants was NOT good. Plan to use the pool, as the beach is packed with birds. Beautiful sunsets from the outdoor bar near the pool. You must try their fresh squeezed fruit juice that's on the breakfast buffet. It's wonderful

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have much better views. As the hotel is relatively small ( 120 rooms) ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Paracas.Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your visit.
I wanted to reach out to thank you for sharing a review on your experience at the hotel.
Thank you for the kind comments about the property.
regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great hotel for a family vacation, we had a great time! I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment about the hotel Paracas.
I am happy to read that you had a fabulous vacation at Paracas and had a great time with us.
Thanks again for sharing. We hope that we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Regards,

Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This hotel is a great place for a family reunion. I stayed 2 nights with my sisters and we found it to be a relaxing place, great attention to detail and 2 pretty good restaurants. The only drawback is that the beach is full of stingrays and jelly fish so it is not for swimming or even walking. The heated swimming pools are great to lounge around and watch the sunset. There are tours to the Ballestas Islands to watch the sea lions, seals and penguins. We dined at the restaurant La Trattoria, and loved the food and wine selection. Part of the reason we had such a great time was because the personnel at the hotel was very helpful making it worth the 4 hour trip from Lima.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, General Manager at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
thank you very much for your comments , we are delighted that you had a great time at our Hotel Paracas.
All restaurants employees were told about the service they provided you and were gongratulated.
We hope to see you again very soon, it is a pleasure to welcome you.
best regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned home from a wonderful stay in Peru. We drove down the Pan American highway to Hotel Paracas which took only about 3 hours. There is nothing but desert around the hotel and it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival, we had to admit unfortunately the lady at the front desk was a little "uppity," The rest of the staff was very friendly and informative. The details of the room were amazing!! Between the slippers, the bath robes, the track lighting, the glass shower, large bathtub and two toilets the amenities were awesome. The staff even came in while we were out to put chocolates on the bed and re-fold the toilet paper as well as place slippers next to both sides of the bed. The family pool was huge and warm. There were plenty of available chairs and next to the pool is a place to get pool towels and accessories. The other pool is a little smaller but very very warm as it is heated. The bar next to the pool is beautiful with plenty of couch and chair seating inside and out. Drinks were a little pricey as we expected. We bought two beers and after a $2.00 tip ended up spending $15.00. We walked through the spa which seemed nice but we didn't have time to take advantage of the services. The Isla Ballestas restaurant was great for dinner. Initially, we went to the italian restaurant La Trattoria, but felt the menu wasn't as extensive. The only complaint we had with the Isla Ballestas restaurant was that they didn't offer many local wines. Paracas is only about an hour from Ica which has a lot of wineries, but the hotel didn't carry most of them. The beach at this property is not for swimming. There is bird poop EVERYWHERE which they turn into fertilizer and it's pretty stinky. T'ikariy is the tour operator for the hotel and the office is located inside the lobby. The tour to Isla Ballestas was $28 per person and was amazing! David and Diego did a great job of explaining everything we saw on the tour. We took the one at 8am as I think the one at 10 would've been too hot. Wear sunscreen on this tour! It was only 2 hours long and I am still peeling from the burn a week later. Fantastic stay, beautiful property, impeccable details!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno G, Gerente at Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel Paracas.
It's truly valuable hearing from our guests, which is why I read each and every review posted on TripAdvisor and other review sites. I'm happy to read that you thought the property was beautiful with impeccable details.
We are in the middle of a natural ecological reserve and birds are protected, that s why they are plenty and all over the property.
The local wines from Ica are not certified that is why we do not offer them.
Thanks again for sharing this review, and choosing Hotel Paracas Luxury Collection.
Regards,
Bruno Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I`m going to start this review by saying this is very nice hotel and although I personally would not return, many people will love it. The hotel itself is immaculate- not so much as leaf on the walkways. We had booked an ocean view room, which is not worth the extra money in my opinion. The rooms themselves were great - they had everything you needed and then some, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The service was also very good. So why didn`t I like this hotel - I found the whole vibe to be very pretentious. People open the doors for you, and the staff were all just a little snooty. Not rude, just not overly friendly either. Many of the staff don`t speak English that well, although I think that is to be expected as Paracas isn`t a major tourist destination. The food we also thought was overpriced. There was no intermediately priced option for lunch or dinner. Everything I ate was quite well prepared. However, this could not be said for my fiance would ordered a burger and got very ill shortly after eating it - as it was rare. We are not used to this in Canada, as all beef must be served well done. We didn`t complain as we don`t know 100% it was the beef, although everyone else wasn`t sick, and she was feeling fine up until that point. The grounds of this hotel are beautiful with an amazing pool. While we were there, it wasn`t warm enough to swim or enjoy the outdoor areas.
We did the Ballestas Island tour through the hotel`s tour company. I want to say good things about my experience with this tour, however I cannot. Because of the weather our tour was delayed several times, over and over again, although we had no idea what was going on as no one spoke any English. Eventually after waiting a few hours and running back and forth between the restaurant and the dock, we found out the tour was going ahead. So we proceeded to the dock, where we were ushered into a boat and waited in the boat for about 25 minutes while they tried to track down 2 people who were not on time. They also filled the boat past the posted capacity for the boat. This was irritating and all the people sitting on the rocking boat were getting agitated and nauseous. Once we were underway, the trip was okay - saw sea lions, seals, penguins and other birds. The water was choppy, but we made it in one piece. I am glad we did this trip, however I certainly would not travel to Paracas just to see the Ballestas Islands.
Overall, I felt this hotel was very nice, very comfortable, but we just did not enjoy the pretentious atmosphere it offered - as a result we would stay somewhere different next time.
Many people however would absolutely love this hotel, as the food (what I ate) was top notch, the rooms and grounds great, the service level high. But it is pricey!
Cheers

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Avenida Paracas 173, Paracas 56, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paracas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paracas is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Paracas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.