We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in Paracas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Palma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Palma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gran Palma
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 1 Mz D lote 3, a media cuadra de la plaza central de Paracas, Paracas, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Paracas B&B and Inns
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel in Paracas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything fine. The hotel is very well located. Room was comfortable and everything worked well.

On a side street so little outside noise and windows open if season permits. The staff is very polite, friendly and helpful and the breakfast reasonable but not special.

It's difficult to find a decent and affordable hotel in Paracas; We will definitely stay in the hotel again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a very small town. I was pleasantly surprised by the size if the room and the cleanliness. It is walking distance (<5 mins) to restaurants and the dock for trips to the Islas ballestas.

They are very helpful find tour guides for any activity you want. Their prices aren't the cheapest, so if you want you can search around a bit, but we did the Islas tour through them and I was excellent.

Also, the view from the fourth floor roof of the harbor is an amazing setting for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel looks new and clean, so far so good. During check-in they asked us to pay the bill in advance, which was the first time, I heard this, and we refused it. The room wa somewhat noisey, which quite normal in Peru, but we have the feeling that there are no doors. The room wasn't cleaned the 1st day, we asked friendly to clean the room, which happend than. Normaly you can expected that the second day, they will not forget to clean it, but it happend again!In addtion we met a nice cockroach! We asked for 2 wake-up calls, one quite early at 5 am and the other one at 8 am. They forgot to call both times! Did we have breakfast? Not really.
Summary: we spend 3 weeks in Peru and stayed in 10 different hotels paying around 65 $/night, so we can state that it is not worth to pay so much for such a terrible hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A fairly new hotel in paracus. We were sent there as part of a 3 day your.
The hotel looks smart and is clean enough but the rooms are poor. Minimal facilities on the rooms. Extremely thin walls, you can hear every word people say on the corridor or nearby rooms, and the dogs barking at all hours outside. Bathrooms are small and basic. Otherwise the location is ok, near to the harbour, though on the noisy main road. Also my aftershave went missing from my bag whilst here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A modern fairly recently completed building situated on the main road through Paracas. The room I had was clean and bright but was provided with the bare minimum of furniture. A bed a wardrobe a bedside table and a tv. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and the shower pressure was good

Like most hotels constructed from concrete there was absolutely no sound insulation. My room was at the foot of the stairs and consequently the sounds of people going up and down were bound to be annoying. In addition interior rooms have large sliding windows which open onto a light well which also allows all the sound from the bedrooms and bathrooms above to echo down into your room. Just outside the groundfloor rooms is a tiny seating area for guests which thankfully was never used during my stay but I could imagine it would add to the general noise groundfloor guests have to suffer.

In addition the reception area had a radio playing the whole time I was there which I thought was very unprofessional I thought the recepionists showed very little interest in what they were doing and the cleaning staff didn't empty the bathroom bin containing used toilet tissue until 6pm one evening. At the price charged it was just about reasonable but the hotel could be much better if it was managed properly and the staff had a least some basic training in customer care.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel you can do much better in Paracas

Room Tip: Avoid all the rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms are cozy and clean with a nice view of the El Chaco harbour. (Ask for an ocean-view room with balcony.) A continental breakfast of coffee, juice, rolls, ham and jam was served upstairs on a pretty patio. (We brought some beers and dinner up later to enjoy the sunset, and a staff member offered games for the kids.) The area is a bit noisy at night...affecting all hotels in the area...so bring ear plugs. An excellent choice in Paracas!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Great location and good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gran Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Palma

Address: Calle 1 Mz D lote 3, a media cuadra de la plaza central de Paracas, Paracas, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Paracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Palma 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Palma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.