We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Refugio del Pirata

Save Saved
You added Hostal Refugio del Pirata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Refugio del Pirata
Av. Paracas D-6 | El Chaco, Paracas, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed it very much.
Close to all places, Islas Balestras and the Great Reservation ( this we visited twice by taxi).
Directly by the busstation of Oltursa it is very comfortable.
The Staff speaks english and is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room was very basic. We were in the larger area across the street from the reception. The room was in need of some new decorating and our bedspread was dirty. The hotel was quiet except for a rooster at 4 am. The town is small so it was an easy walk to the pier for our trip to Ballista Island. The staff was friendly and helpful. The weather was too cold for swimming, but the pool looked nice. The hightlight of our stay was breakfast, good and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

3. Floor: Clean room, hughe bed, good cleaning service every day and nice staff. The breakfast was simple, but delicious with good bread, margarine, jam, butter, scrambled egg and freshly juiced orange juice. All in all a good place for a stay in Paracas.
But i saw also some smaller rooms in the 2. Floor..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

There appear to be two parts to this hotel - an on street location , where we stayed, and a larger complex opposite with swimming pool that looked very nice. The room was great - bit noisy but comfortable and good shower. But one thing lets it down - the guy who 'poaches' tourists to sell the rooms... we left after one night because he ( the owner?) only seems interested in your money. As soon as we arrived in town we were approached quite forcefully on the street by him - a pushy guy with long black hair - beware! He also told us not very nice/ fair things about other places we mentioned we might stay. Unfortunately, we were tired and succumbed - but as soon as he had our money for the room he tried to sell us an overpriced 'bargain' tour to Balestas Islands - dont pay the 50 soles he asks for as the agency next door sells same trip for 30 soles - and when we didn't succumb to his offer, he blanked us for the rest of our stay! As we ate breakfast in the cafe next door, ( not included) he was sending his workers to check we had paid for the room and provide a receipt ( we had paid HIM in full on arrival). Felt sorry for them as they were obviously embarrassed. If you want to feel comfortable and not be hassled for money, avoid this place, or at least the guy with the long black hair!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, Malta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is pretty great if you need to chill out. It's quiet and only minutes from a sandy beach. Plus it's a small town so anywhere you go is really close, even things like the boat tour to Islas Ballestas and cool reggae bars. I thought it was also cool how, if you get a bus there with Oltursa, you stop exactly in front of the reception door and they come out to help you with the bag. Our room had this huge bed, like for four adults and the shower was good too. I don't think anywhere in Peru is quiet but this one came close. The only problem there is they have a hard time with good wifi connection and the kitchen is only used by staff, so if you're looking for the typical backpacker's hostel where you have free use of kitchen and a sociable area, I'd say this is not it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our Gadventures Tour. The room itself was basic but fine however the bathroom was pretty tired and just didn't look or feel particularly clean.

I think the main problem I had with the room was that as we were on the front all night you could hear dogs barking, car & van horns tooting and then cockerels - not ideal for an early morning start to go out on a boat trip.

Great location for the harbour though so brilliant if you need to be out early as less than 5 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place. We payed 120 S/. for a double bedroom in the new part of the hostel, located on the other side of the street.
Good: service, kingsize bed, calm, cable TV, clean room, tours proposed
Bad: when we arrived, there were just busy with finishing the swimming pool, which made some nice in the afternoon. We could not enjoy the terrace on the roof of the hostel as we were located in other facilities (see pictures).

Room Tip: Rooms in the new facilities, on the other side of the road were the genuine hostel is located, were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Refugio del Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Refugio del Pirata

Address: Av. Paracas D-6 | El Chaco, Paracas, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty lodging in Paracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hostal Refugio del Pirata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Pirata Hotel Paracas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Refugio del Pirata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.