We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in a hot and lazy town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Save Saved
You added La Casa Amarilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Amarilla
Cra 1 13-59 | La Albarrada con Coco Solo, Mompos, Colombia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a hot and lazy town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and booked a suite without air conditioning. That was a mistake, we definitely needed air conditioning, Mompox is a hot and humid town. In the end we negotiated air conditioning for the same price as without, which was nice.

The rooms are very large with big, comfortable beds and high ceilings. The bathrooms are large enough with very good showers. My one complaint would be that when we arrived the room and bathroom had a lot of mosquitoes (this is a tropical wetland after all), but there aren't any mosquito nets over the beds. They do spray the rooms with insecticide, but a small investment in mosquito nets would have made me feel a lot happier about sleeping in the room. That said, I don't think we got bitten in the room.

The staff are friendly and helpful, including helping us arrange a trip down the river. Although when we arrive the manager wasn't there and a young boy seemed to be manning the reception. He was far too interested in facebook to get of the sofa to help me to get a new lightbulb for the bedside table in the room. That aside, everyone was very nice.

All-in-all a good place to base yourself in Mompox, but the addition of bed nets would be welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCAMompos, Owner at La Casa Amarilla, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Casa Amarilla. I am most pleased that you enjoyed the Casa and Mompos, it sounds like you got the feeling of the town. Regarding mosquito nets, we have one month of mosquitoes a year here and over 5 years of considering nets, we have found that our fans are powerful enough to work as prevention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    17
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
50
50
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urretxu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Do you enjoy reading Gabriel Gracia Márquez? Do you want to have a relaxing experience when the time goles 100 years back, but not in solitude.... Well, that is Mompox and that is La Casa Amarilla... An oasis in Colombia... Only sometimes affected by the "vallenato", a local music that makes everything more real.... Thanks a lot for the time we sent there! Is wrthy to try....

Room Tip: The number 10 is my favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Casa Amarilla is an amazing oasis in the dust and heat of Mompós, but we also enjoyed a lot the town with its particular atmosphere. The hostel has clean, spatious and comfortable rooms and a beautiful patio. As anywhere else in Colombia, it seems to be easier to reserve by mail than by one of the booking sites.

Room Tip: Private rooms are well worth the extra charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Mompos is a very special place. Arriving for a planned two days, I ended up staying an entire week and a good deal of that decision was influenced by Casa Amarilla. Located on the banks of the River Magdalena, pretty much in the center of the city the hotel provides a welcome home to travellers who are willing to go the distance. Two stories of clean cool rooms, provide ample privacy and relief for the sweltering heat of the day, and the communal kitchen and rest area allows fellow guests to interact and cook with ease and leisure. There are also two dorm rooms to allow for the more budget conscious traveller which are likewise clean, cool and basic. Two balconies let you watch the sun both rise and set, and with a few cool beers from their fridge, every evening melts into darkness. The staff are both welcoming and friendly, helping with all queries and booking any tours that one should want to take. Casa Amarilla is a wonderful hotel in a truly wonderful city.

Room Tip: (There is no swimming pool). If you can try and get a room on the upper floors, they are slightly co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in March 2013. It's a nice hostel a few blocks to the south of the centre. The central garden area is pretty, there's a communal kitchen and a roof terrace with some nice views. Unfortunately three quarters of the chairs on the terrace were broken.

We had a double room with air conditioning for 65,000 pesos a night. Mompox is ridiculously hot and humid at this time of year, so there's no way we would have coped without the aircon. The room had a small ensuite bathroom and a TV but not much else. It's a nice place to stay although if we went back to Mompox we would probably consider staying a bit nearer the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCAMompos, Owner at La Casa Amarilla, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your candour, yes, all our rooms have air con, fans, wifi and bathroom and Mompos is always hot. Hopefully, despite the heat you enjoyed your stay in our charming town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were absolutly happy with the excellent greeting. Mira and George are wonderfull hosts who will do everything that can make you happy!!!
The place is super clean, beautifull, welcoming and worth the climb. Upghil. We highly reccommend casa amarilla.
Renee, helene and sophie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at La Casa Amarilla, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were decorated in a simple and stylish way and were very comfortable. I found Mompos to be a charming little town and the perfect place to switch off and chill out for a few days...the only dilemma I had was whether to do this in the comfort of one of the many rocking chairs or hammocks at the Casa! A very special place in a very special little town...I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Address: Cra 1 13-59 | La Albarrada con Coco Solo, Mompos, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Mompos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true guesthouse in a colonial mansion in front of the river for travelers in Mompos. We have comfortable, spacious and clean en suite private rooms as well as more economical "backpacker rooms", a communal kitchen, a sitting room with cable TV and a large colonial main room. The Casa Amarilla is equipped with wifi and hammocks sway between the pillars of the house around the internal garden and those who come for just a day or two often end up spending more time enjoying the roof terrace and company of other like-minded voyagers. Come and enjoy colonial Mompos - the Garciamarquian heartland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Amarilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.