We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“reluctant....to share !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Las Piedras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Las Piedras
Save
You added Casa Las Piedras to your Saves list
(on the beach), Troncones, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
Olympia, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“reluctant....to share !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I must say I am reluctant to recommend Casa las Piedras; reluctant to SHARE this place with the rest of you!! We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The Casa is nicely appointed, the price quite reasonable, the communication via email smooth, the wonderful variety of breakfasts deliciously done by Anai and her staff, and finally my own stretch of body surfing paradise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

It got cold in the central mountains of Mexico. So cold that, on a whim, we decided we needed to get out of town. We had never been to Troncones, the closest beach to San Miguel de Allende.

After conversations with friends who know Troncones, and a serious web search, we found Casa Las Piedras, made a reservation and jumped in the car the next morning.

You know that feeling, when you walk in the front of an establishment and think, "Wow! Are we really staying here?" Thus it was at Casa Las Piedras. Small (one suite and three rooms), luxurious, personal. Home away from home doesn't quite capture the feeling (probably because it is so much better than 90% of actual homes).

Breakfast was excellent and different every morning of our five day stay. Although every room was occupied, we never felt crowded and could always find a quiet lounging area to read or take in the sun. The empty beach was at our doorstep.

It is difficult for me to write this, because I'd like to keep it our little secret. But our hosts in California and the staff in Troncones were so outstanding, I feel obligated.

Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san miguel allende, mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I am anxiously awaiting the day we can return to Casa de Piedra in Troncones, Mexico! I find myself dreaming of it when i want to get my mind of problems as it is positively one of my favorite memories!!!! My husband and I met with our children to have a family reunion. We rented the whole house! The staff was incredibly friendly, making us banana pancakes or home made tortillas. We had our own slice of beachfront, incredibly private....pool, palapa, outdoor showers, terraces all laden with flowering plants. We can't wait to return and hope to make this a yearly family event!

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

In all my travels, I have never found a more tranquil, gorgeous B&B.

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon in January 2009. It is hard to think of anything that could make this place better. Gorgeous architecture in the house with real tree trunks holding up the roof columns, incredible tile and stonework, and a dining/kitchen area that abuts the pool with no wall--the pool is literally in the dining room. Incredible sunsets, and right on a gorgeous beach that rarely has more than another soul or two on it. Incredibly kind, intelligent innkeeper (Anai) who makes delicious breakfasts (fresh fruit, fresh juices, homemade granola, yogurts, great coffee...followed by awesome waffles or french toast or omelettes or huevos rancheros). Anai will make you feel completely welcome and graciously help you with anything and everything---but never hovers and never ever intrudes on all the privacy you could want.

For our first two days we never left the inn--just slept late in the comfortable beds listening to the waves crashing, then showered in the outdoor shower, enjoyed our scrumptious breakfast, lazed by the pool, enjoyed the beach, ate dinner at the inn (Anai will make amazing Mexican meals like fresh grilled fish, or enchiladas, or chile rellenos for an additional charge)...then repeated.

There is great surfing nearby. And sea turtles laying eggs. And awesome food. And secluded beaches. And it's walking distance to two very small, rootsy Mexican villages.

The pictures on the website don't do this place justice.

If you come here, be prepared to fall in love.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We’ve recently returned from Casa Las Piedras in Troncones and had a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing time. The house and the grounds are beautiful as is the view of the ocean. The breakfasts were delicious. We caught a fish one day and had Anai cook it for a wonderful dinner. We read, swam, napped, drank beer and ate all week. It was a perfect way to relax and recharge for returning to the rat race. We even arranged for a masseuse to come to the Casa. I highly recommend staying here if that is the type of vacation you would like.

There are some features of Casa Las Piedras for which you should be prepared. It is pretty remote. It is a 780 peso, 45 min. taxi ride from the airport, the last 1.5 miles on a dirt road. It is a 300-400 peso cab ride one way to the nearest ATM in Ixtapa/Zihua, so be sure to bring enough cash with you. We didn’t, but took the local bus to Zihua for 15 pesos, but you have to get to the main road first which is 10 pesos if a colectivo (van) drives by or you’ll need to hitch to the main road. People are friendly; we hitched since we did not encounter a van. There is a cluster of restaurants in the village of Troncones, a 1.5 mile walk on a dirt road away in one direction and more restaurants about a half mile away in Manzanillo Bay in the other direction. Those in Manzanillo Bay are all at small to medium sized hotels. Bring a flashlight for the walk back. This road can be very muddy after it rains. A taxi is 50 pesos to the “T” (Troncones village) and worth it if it’s muddy. A few restaurants will deliver. I suppose all of the above information is unnecessary if you rent a car.

Swimming in the ocean near the Casa is rocky. We went to the area recommended about a 5 minute walk away, and it was less so. One day when swimming in the less rocky area the current pushed us into a rockier part. That was undesirable. We stuck to the swimming pool after that. You might want to go to Manzanillo Bay to swim. It looked like a lot of people were swimming there, but we didn’t try. We used Picaridin, a DEET alternative, for mosquitoes and it worked well. Just remember to use it liberally and daily. There weren’t as many mosquitoes as I had expected from trips to the beaches of Oaxaca and Brazil; that was a good thing. We were there the last week of October.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Casa Las Piedras and will stay there again, but wanted TripAdvisor folks to know what to expect. In a nutshell, if you want to relax and unwind stay here. If you want to do other activities as well, rent a car and stay here. If you’re expecting Spring Break excitement and parasailing, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

IF you decide to stay at this B&B be careful. We booked the establishment on the promise that we would have the place all to ourselves. My wife and I made this a priority we even let the place choose the dates. We were emphatic. We work hard during the year and love Mexico but need privacy on our vacation. Three days before our arrival we e-mailed for information and found out that they had booked the other bedrooms to some surfers. This was after being guaranteed privacy. We were very upset since we only had a few days to find an alternative. Our vacation could have been completely ruined. Get everything in writing.

  • Liked — sun
  • Disliked — unreliable
Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationinparadise, Owner at Casa Las Piedras, responded to this review, September 10, 2009
As you all understand, there are 2 sides to this story.
This person had loved the Casa so much when he stayed there previously, that he had come back several times.
We trust that you, the reader, will make your own judgment when making an inquiry with us, and that you would not expect that by renting one room, you will be guaranteed the whole Hotel.
Please read the rest of the reviews.
We know you will have the best time of your life vacationing at the Casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We decided to have a family trip this summer in order to relax and have a some time together, something you can't have in a resort. We got the whole Casa Las Piedras for a week and definitevely made the right choice. Casa Las Piedras is a Beautiful Mexican style house built for a beach holiday. Anai and Jorge were great hosts.
Beach access was disappointing due to the great number of rocks.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Las Piedras

Address: (on the beach), Troncones, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Las Piedras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.