We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Awesome place to hang out and realize your relaxation dreams” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de los Raqueros

Save Saved
You added La Posada de los Raqueros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada de los Raqueros
Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
New Season specials
Ranked #2 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
orinda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome place to hang out and realize your relaxation dreams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Angie and Hans are the greatest hosts and the Casita we stayed in (Mariposa) was just simply the best. Kitchen was convenient for breakfast and snacks. Room was spacious and access to one of the best beaches I have seen (and I have seen many) was spectacular. Because it is off the beaten path, I would recommend to anyone seeking escape from the world and entry into a wonderful new world.
All the Best!
Larry

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I knew that I would have to return home for some critical back surgery and wanted to prepare in the best place that I could find. Hans and Angie provide just such a place. Warm, inviting, erudite, and providing help for all those details of a stay in a new place. They have it all.
The funny thing is that my back pain went away in three days of tranquil relaxation and by the time I left, I thought that my surgery was not needed as the pain went completely away.
Well, the pain in my back returned upon arrival back home and indeed I did need the surgery.
I tell this story because of my having found a place to really relax to the sound of the sea, the discreet help from the staff and the beautiful space that they have created. If you want to unwind from the hustle and bustle, this is the place to go!
Their complimentary morning food service was wonderful, including a variety of selections to satisfy.
If you want something special, just ask. They arranged for a pedicure for me and will assist you in getting what you need from the local community to help in your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Beautiful hotel/bungalos on it's own private beach. Quiet, clean, attentive staff, welcoming, but not intrusive hosts, a slice of paradise. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pdx, OR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Angie and Hans maintain a little piece of paradise which they share easily with their guests. There is a colonial feeling to the house and grounds as the maids, maintenance workers and gardeners move amongst the great columns of the large house, tending to their daily chores. Different pathways through the landscape allow visitors and hosts to move to and from the beach discreetly
.
A continental style breakfast is provided with excellent coffee, fruit and granola. Angie and Hans have a friendly old refrigerator "Pancho", who dispenses ice cold refreshments to guests on an honor system. There is a large tiled kitchen, fully equipped, if you want to prepare your own meals.

The beach is sublime, with luxurious waves for good swimming, surfing and boogie boarding. The water is crystal clear, at times, you can see the fish go by. In the evening we accompanied baby turtles in their pilgrimage into the sea. Manzanillo Bay is an exclusive area, muy tranquilo in stark contrast to the beaches of Zihautanejo. Not a lot of people on this beach the three times I've been here. Los Raqueros provides a very set of umbrellas, padded lounges and canvas sling chairs on their beach frontage. Hans makes a good margarita and is an interesting fellow to chat with. Angie is a lovely, thoughtful host also.

There are three restaurants to choose from on Manzanillo Bay, in truth the food is decent, not mind blowing. You are expected to tip well as the locals don't get paid much, are on a relatively short tourist season and little else goes on there for revenue.

The local taxis charge way too much (700 pesos) to take you back to the airport, in my opinion, when you can get there there for half that with an out of town taxi. There are difficulties between the different taxi syndicates. There is a bus which runs the highway outside of Troncones to and from Ixtapa/Zihau regularly so that's an option if you are more intrepid and patient.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I was quite pleased on arrival to find that our casa and the entire (small) facility was beautiful. It is nicely designed, decorated, and landscaped. It is very clean and well maintained. It is sited on a most gorgeous sandy beach of maybe 200 yards long with rocky outcroppings at either end. Hans and Angie are very welcoming and generous hosts. They provided a nice breakfast daily and bottled water in our rooms that were both unexpected. My sons and I attended a surfing camp with isamexico that I also recommend. I hope to visit again with my wife one day.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We happened to be La Posada de los Raqueros during American Thanksgiving. Not being American was no problem to some other visitors from Chicago that we met there. The four of us had our hosts, Hans and Angie arrange to get some fresh, but amazingly inexpensive, Pacific rock lobster for us. This is one of the several reasons we love Raqueros and continue to go back. Hans & Angie will do whatever they can to make our vacation memorable. Hans, himself a diver, was happy to organise a dive trip for me. The next time we want to split our time between their condo in Zihuatanejo and Raqueros. What a vacation that would be.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We just returned from a weekend getaway at Raqueros and stayed in Casita de los Pelicanos. This was paradise! Our very own casita on the beach, complete with great outdoor spaces and wonderful little kitchen. Even grilled some locally caught lobsters on the grill area supplied by our lovely hosts, Hans and Angie. I can't say enough about this place, at least not before I book our next vacation there! If you are looking for the perfect quiet beach getaway - this is it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de los Raqueros

Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de los Raqueros is a beach-lover's paradise hideaway and casitas. Our beachfront villa at Playa Manzanillo, just north of the village of Troncones, features several accommodation options, starting with two beautiful spacious oceanview guest suites (cuartos Viejo del Mar and Caballo del Mar), each with a large private talavara tiled bathroom, your own seating area on the main terrace, and situated around our hammock-lined terrace and garden. Across the lawn and 10-steps from the beach sits our beachfront bungalow Casita del Pelicano, one of our two 2-story bungalows. Behind el Pelicano, you will find La Casita de la Mariposa and the family-sized Casa Sol y Mar, a 2-story, 2 bedroom/2 bath loft-style beach house. All the bungalows feature large shuttered and screened windows, spacious private bathrooms with hot showers, open-air kitchens and refrigerators. And all are just a few steps from Playa Manzanillo - the "jewel" of the region - a wide, sandy beach with a fun surf spot at the south end. FlashFeel We speak Spanish, English, German and Dutch; please feel free to communicate with us in any of these languages. Welcome! Your options are many here. Want to surf? Get up, grab your board and walk 50 steps to a world class site. Snorkel? The bay at Manzanillo is loaded with tropical fish and has beautiful, clear water for excellent snorkeling. Feel like swimming? The water is around 80?F and the waves in the bay are often gentle. How about fishing? You can pick up a boat right in front of your casita and go out all day for Dorado, Sierra, or even Marlin, maybe even stop somewhere for a surf on the way out and back. Is eating your thing? The beach at Playa Manzanillo has several excellent restaurants to choose from, with everything from traditional Mexican fare to brick oven-baked Pizza, excellent European & American cuisine and fresh Lobster right out of the bay.But, then again, you might just be happy enough sitting on the beach in one of our comfy beach chairs with a book from our library and a cold Corona in easy reach. What do you think? La Posada de Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Posada de los Raqueros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de los Raqueros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.