We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Relaxed, Renewed and Reconnected In The Rythmn of The Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de los Raqueros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada de los Raqueros
Save
You added La Posada de los Raqueros to your Saves list
Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
“Relaxed, Renewed and Reconnected In The Rythmn of The Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is the most magical place to deeply relax and just drop back into being in the moment. We arrived very tired and immediately fell into the nurturing rythmn of Posada de los Raqueros-the sea,the beautiful green grounds of the property and tranquility.The gardens reach to the most glorious beach, nestled into magical Manzanillo Bay.Here the pelicans perform thier fishing feats all day and each sunset is more glorious then the next.
The manageress Ava was wonderful from her helpful advice when we made the booking, to a warm welcome and throughout our stay.We loved having a fresh breakfast available every morning-one less thing to do...yet having the freedom of having a kitchen in our Casita Mariposa was perfect.Fresh fish,veggies,fruit and chicken is delivered to the property gate daily.And there are great resturants at the surrounding hotel properties as well.All so easy!
It is all so peaceful as there are lots of hanging out spaces in/around the casita.We also enjoyed the most incredible verandah with hammocks, and of course the beach front chairs and lounge was hard to leave! We celebrated our wedding anniversary by renewing our vows at sunset on the beach with the owners (who were visiting)Hans and Angie as our ring bearer and witness-what fun! They,like Ava were so easy to be around and so informative yet laid back.
This is the place - not modern and fancy or slick-just an intimate,comfortable, quiet,deeply relaxing place to renew your spirit! Gracias por todos!

Room Tip: By far for the best "on the beach " experience choose the beach front bungalow.It has a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My partner and I are both writers, so we we like to hang out at "home" wherever we vacation, we like to have a kitchenette, and we like to be able to get a little space from each other, too - just being in one room together all the time doesn't work well for us. This place met all of those needs and many more! We stayed in the Casita de Pelicanos, an AMAZING spot right on the beach - literally - with a huge, totally private ocean view patio complete with our own dining table, an additional table a bit closer to the surface, two ample chaise lounges and our own hammock. There is a well-equipped kitchen open to the sea breeze, and, indoors, a spacious living room plus an upstairs bedroom - really great for us since sometimes one of us gets up earlier and/or goes to bed later than the other. Plus, the common space of the posada is spectacular - spacious, breezy, incredible views. As other reviewers have stated, everything here is gorgeously and thoughtfully decorated, handmade, unique and colorful. The place was perfect for us and at $125/nt - end of season deal - it seemed a bargain as well, for all the space and seclusion we got. As previously mentioned, Eva is an amazing manager - kind, friendly, available, helpful, accommodating. And the welcome margaritas were great! We truly had no complaints at all. Just a few words of advice to others:
- The place is what I'd call "high-end rustic." It is luxurious but not in a typical or sterile way - for instance, our unit had no a/c (we didn't need it, though - ceiling fans and screened windows open to the breeze are just fine), no tv, no stereo, no glass windows, etc (again, we didn't need any of those things! - but perhaps some people would.
- You could manage without a car here, but it's a bit out of the way, so unless you don't mind calling taxis whenever you want to get groceries or go anywhere, you'd be better off with a rental car here. There are several good restaurants within easy walking distance, though, so if you're content with that, you may be fine here. But we had a car and were happy to have it, for the flexibility, even though we didn't use it much. It's very fun to drive up the road to Majahua in the morning and buy fresh fish and lobsters right from the fishing boats that have just come in (and it'd be too far to walk all the way there and back on a regular basis, for most people!)
- Another reviewer was upset about not having known to go grocery shopping in Zihua on the way here, but we didn't have the energy to do that and frankly didn't find it necessary. We cooked all meals for ourselves and were fine with what was available in town - rice, veggies, avocadoes, garlic, fruits, and the aforementioned fresh fish and lobster (oh, and fresh corn tortillas, too!) But yes, if you have more wide-ranging grocery needs, they may not be met in town.
- Beware if you are wheat or gluten sensitive - the granola served in the morning contains wheat flakes - we didn't know, so unfortunately my partner had a reaction.
- The place advertises that there is snorkeling available, but there really isn't, at least not from shore - there are too many waves. There are, however, lovely tidepools you can go and sit in and just watch the fish. (Again, not a problem for us.)
- Some people might miss the absence of a pool (though you are allowed to use the pool at a nearby hotel - but, it's a bit of a walk in the heat, and not like having a pool right there. A minor inconvenience though.

Truly an amazing place, unbelievable location, super quiet, restful, peaceful, gorgeous, oh, and did I say quiet? (except for the roar of the ocean, which, yes, is LOUD!) (But if you are someone who likes a more "jazzy" atmosphere, you can go next door to Hacienda Eden for meals and be surrounded by people, get free wifi there too, salsa nights and gift store etc. Not our cup of tea, but convenient to have it right there.)

Again, we were delighted by this place - it's perfect for us.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay "at home" much while here, the Casita de Pelicanos is totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We just returned from our 9th stay at La Posada de los Raqueros. Obviously we love the place. This area of Mexico is a true jewel on the Pacific. Are you are looking for long stretches of sparsely populated beaches, with no jet skis or parasailing? Do you want to follow an oyster diver off of the beach and having them shucked and on your plate within a half hour of them being harvested? Here you will find wonderful friendly local people, perfect weather (not a drop of rain in the 9 years we have been coming in Feb) and long tranquil days, without TV or telephones. If this area sounds good to you then you can't pick a better place to stay than Raqueros. It has to best location in the area, on a beautiful bay, wonderfully landscaped grounds and a great and caring staff. Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves on comfortable beds is just heaven. I can't recommend this place enough. We will be back next year, and the next and the next and.....well you get the picture.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Alright, I'm a little biased, but we have been coming to Posada de los Raqueros for the last 10 years, which ought to say something about the property, its management, and the setting in general. With regard to the property: this is a unique place with a common "casa grande" where the daily breakfast is provided, impromptu socializing occurs, and thru which information can be obtained (or services booked) through the very knowledgeable (and friendly) resident manager, Eva. There are two beautiful quartos to rent, a larger, two-story house with all amenities and a kitchen, and two smaller casitas with outdoor kitchens (one of them fronting right on the beach!). Manzanillo Bay is a little jewel of a bay with great swimming, good snorkeling, and a little surf break. Raqueros has a great aspect to it, well-positioned for viewing the sunset every evening with the guests (who quickly become friends). Local vendors come by the property daily with their truckloads of the freshest fruit, vegetables and fish...making it easy to prepare some of your own meals (or banding together with some of your new friends to create a feast for all). The quick walk to the little fishing village of Majahua provides the authentic, small-town dining experiences one comes to Mexico to sample...or you can easily find good food in a couple of restaurants on the beach, just steps away from Los Raqueros.

This is a place to relax, walk, swim...and reconnect. I'll be back for Trip #11!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This time was our second visit to Raqueros. Both times were memorable visits. This most recent time was for a week in January - a pleasant escape from the cold of central Mexico. The genial manager, Eva, met us upon arrival and showed us to our room. She checked back with us to find out about any special wants and to acquaint us with the resort. Eva is an excellent resource for things to do, places to eat, and the like in Troncones. She will make reservations for you at most places you choose to visit.
Raqueros is a wonderful beach front resort. Manzanillo Bay is just outside your door and the beach is incredible. Walks, swims, sunsets! Most guests gather on the beach every day for the sunset and toast the setting sun.
Breakfast is served every day and the kitchen is available for guests to cook their own meals at other times of the day. The fruit and vegetable truck and the fish truck stop by daily. Eating on the large terrazzo in the tropical environment is always a pleasant experience.
If relaxing is big on your agenda this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Single rooms are available as well as separate casitas. Both are great depending on your needs. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our relaxing time began as soon as we arrived in Raqueros. We were shown to the casita "Mariposa" by the very friendly and ever smiling Eva, the resident manager of Raqueros. We were invited to get ourselves organised before we were to come to the beach for the late afternoon ritual of watching the sun go down over the beautiful Manzanillo Bay. "Lord, take me now!" It never gets old. The owner and his wife, Hans & Angie, arranged for a sunset cruise on the catamaran "Picante". What a wonderful experience that was ... another "Lord, take me now" moment. I am already looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

1. Great beach! Raqueros sits on one of Mexico’s finest beaches—Manzanillo Bay. Just a few steps from your room and you are standing in the sand or splashing in the warm waters of the Pacific (water temp in the mid-80s). A beautiful tranquil beach where you can sit beneath a palapa and enjoy the tranquility of this beautiful seashore, lie in the sun, read an entertaining book, watch the pelicans dive.
2. Great swimming and snorkeling! When I look for a beach, I’m looking for warm water, a nice snorkel reef, and great bodysurfing waves. I can’t imagine a better beach for this than you have at Raqueros. I love sitting in one of their lounge chairs, reading for several hours—with breaks every hour either to ride the waves or grab a snorkel mask and swim with the beautiful fishes. The waves at manazanillo bay are perfect for bodysurfing or boogie boarding—strong enough to give you a fun ride to shore but not so strong you get pummeled or pounded. A two-minute walk takes you to Troncones Point where the snorkeling is superb!
3. Great intimacy and quiet! Raqueros is a small inn with only a few rooms and bungalows in a fairly secluded location. The best room by far is Casa de Pelicanos, a two-story bungalow with a inside living room, an outdoor patio with kitchen, and a private beachfront with hammock and lounge chairs. It’s like having your own private paradise.
4. Great dining in and dining out! The Raqueros kitchen also permits you to “dine in,” saving considerable expense on food. (Three of the units have their own kitchen.) Every day the fruit and veggie truck, the fish truck, the bread lady come by and supply your pantry with fresh groceries. A 10-minute walk to Majahua village up the road, and there are little grocery stores (abarotes) for milk, butter, chips, drinks, etc. But there are wonderful eating places up and down the beach—at Hacienda Eden, Tronco Bay Inn, the Inn at Manzanillo Bay (which also has a TV with satellite feed for your favorite sports events), or several bayfront seafood restaurants in Majahua (where I recommend the octopus dishes at Paty and Sergio’s—excellent entrees run about $10).
5. Wonderful beach walks! The beach stretches for miles in either direction--south or north from Raqueros--winding around rocky points, meandering along long sandy shorelines, crossing estuaries, fording streams, coming into towns (Troncones, Majahua, La Salidita), simulating desert islands. A beautiful (and invigorating) way to spend half an hour or the whole afternoon!
6. Romantic sunsets! A tradition at Raqueros is to sit and watch the sun go down. With margaritas our first night, complements of our hostess, Eva! On three successive sundown, my wife and I saw “the green flash”—the instant before the sun vanished beneath the horizon. The beauty of the sunset—waves breaking, shorebirds in flight, the warm evening and cooling breeze, the awesome palette of colors on the water and in the sky—is an inexpressible experience that is intensified when you share it with someone you love.

My wife and I have stayed at Raqueros for five years running. What a beautiful relaxing beginning to every new year.

Room Tip: Best room is Casa Pelicanos--right on the beachfront with a private kitchen and patio. Like being m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de los Raqueros

Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de los Raqueros is a beach-lover's paradise hideaway and casitas. Our beachfront villa at Playa Manzanillo, just north of the village of Troncones, features several accommodation options, starting with two beautiful spacious oceanview guest suites (cuartos Viejo del Mar and Caballo del Mar), each with a large private talavara tiled bathroom, your own seating area on the main terrace, and situated around our hammock-lined terrace and garden. Across the lawn and 10-steps from the beach sits our beachfront bungalow Casita del Pelicano, one of our two 2-story bungalows. Behind el Pelicano, you will find La Casita de la Mariposa and the family-sized Casa Sol y Mar, a 2-story, 2 bedroom/2 bath loft-style beach house. All the bungalows feature large shuttered and screened windows, spacious private bathrooms with hot showers, open-air kitchens and refrigerators. And all are just a few steps from Playa Manzanillo - the "jewel" of the region - a wide, sandy beach with a fun surf spot at the south end. FlashFeel We speak Spanish, English, German and Dutch; please feel free to communicate with us in any of these languages. Welcome! Your options are many here. Want to surf? Get up, grab your board and walk 50 steps to a world class site. Snorkel? The bay at Manzanillo is loaded with tropical fish and has beautiful, clear water for excellent snorkeling. Feel like swimming? The water is around 80?F and the waves in the bay are often gentle. How about fishing? You can pick up a boat right in front of your casita and go out all day for Dorado, Sierra, or even Marlin, maybe even stop somewhere for a surf on the way out and back. Is eating your thing? The beach at Playa Manzanillo has several excellent restaurants to choose from, with everything from traditional Mexican fare to brick oven-baked Pizza, excellent European & American cuisine and fresh Lobster right out of the bay.But, then again, you might just be happy enough sitting on the beach in one of our comfy beach chairs with a book from our library and a cold Corona in easy reach. What do you think? La Posada de Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de los Raqueros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.