We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Always Left Wanting More...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de los Raqueros

Save Saved
You added La Posada de los Raqueros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada de los Raqueros
Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
New Season specials
Ranked #2 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always Left Wanting More...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just returned from our seventh visit to Los Raqueros...it must be great to warrant seven consecutive visits. We have celebrated the winter holidays at Los Raqueros because of its welcoming atmosphere, the lovely grounds, the attentive and caring help from the hosts, and the jewel-like setting of Manzanillo Bay. A week at Los Raqueros has typically included a lot of time on the beach reading, sea kayaking and hiking with a local eco-tourism expert, fishing from a panga with a local fisherman from the adjoining fishing village, and good conversation with a small number of guests who quickly settle into a dreamlike state! You can easily get to Zihuatanejo for events or shopping, but we've found it easy to get everything we need in the local village of Troncones...a 20-minute walk from Los Raqueros.

By the way, we've enjoyed this place so much, we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here! Next year seems far away, but it'll get here soon enough! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our second visit to La Posada de Los Raqueros and we had another spectacular time! The location right on a beautiful sandy beach, comfortable and colorful rooms, and relaxing, informal atmosphere make this a perfect destination for anyone who wants to get away from the crowds and busy tourist resorts. Troncones is located on a dirt road on beautiful Manzanillo Bay, with some great outdoor restaurants and local music. The owners, Hans and Angie, are wonderful hosts; they will take care of your every need, find you local tours (e.g., kayaking, hiking), arrange taxis, and make restaurant reservations. I highly recommend this spot of paradise. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Here we are again writing a glowing review of 'La Posada de Los Raqueros'. We had yet another, wonderful, great time with Hans and Angie last year. They always make us feel like family, that's why we keep coming back year after year! We just love this place. What a great getaway spot. Don't expect a TV or a Radio or a daily Newspaper, it's not going to happen. Why? Because this is a vacation, that's why! We like being able to walk down the beach into the town of Troncones, or if one prefers, there is a random shuttle\van that runs up and down the road to Troncones. We actually took the van to the main highway (200) and waited for the public bus into Zihuatenejo. We spent the day shopping in Z, had lunch and caught the bus back to the bus stop for Troncones. The van was soon to arrive, and back to Raqueros with a load of groceries and tons of stories to tell!
Well here we are in the middle of July thinking about our trip this year back to La Posada de Los Raqueros. It's gonna be a looooooonnnggggg 4 months!!!!


phill and gretchen

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a wedding there last week. Wow, what a spot -- the natural beauty of Manzanillo Bay, the meticulously manicured grounds and comfortable lodging made it the perfect setting. The owners, Hans and Angie, are gracious hosts who know the local community well, and did a marvelous job of arranging local food and entertainment for the event.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I just returned from the wedding of my daughter at La Posada de los Raqueros. What a perfect destination for a wedding. The location, with the roaring ocean out our front door, was gorgeous and our rooms were beautiful. The little village of Troncones was delightful with some outstanding outdoor restaurants. I felt Hans and Angie were very generous and welcoming to all the guests What wonderful people they are!. It was truly a special time for all. If you are looking for a magical place to have a wedding, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I just returned from spending close to three weeks at La Posada de los Raqueros. This was my fifth visit. Aside from simply vacationing and relaxing in a beautiful place, this time we also decided to invite all of our friends along to celebrate our wedding here. Raqueros served as the ideal location and we couldn’t have been happier with the entire experience. We were able to house many of our guests onsite, and the layout of the property lent itself to three (uniquely different) days of gorgeous celebration. It was a very memorable and magical experience for us, and for all of our guests. Thanks to Hans and Angie, and the top-notch Raqueros staff, for all that they did to make our stay and wedding day so perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I just returned from an incredible week in Troncones and owe a great deal of my restored tranquility to Hans and Angie, owners of La Posada de los Raqueros. We were there for a wedding and were fortunate enough to be able to stay for seven days and now I can only think about how soon I can get back.

Troncones is a charming, rustic and soulful beach town that attracts world class surfers and anyone looking to disappear from their busy lives to the cradle of the Pacific shore. There are many homes and 8-10 room hotels to rent along the 3 mile beach, but after exploring many of them, I must say that Posada de los Raqueros has a bit of magic that can't be found anywhere else. There's a vibe, a spirit and balance at Raqueros that is the result of Hans' and Angie's special touch and care.

Look no further than Posada de los Raqueros if Troncones is your destination. Stay as long as you can and leave all of your troubles behind.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de los Raqueros

Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de los Raqueros is a beach-lover's paradise hideaway and casitas. Our beachfront villa at Playa Manzanillo, just north of the village of Troncones, features several accommodation options, starting with two beautiful spacious oceanview guest suites (cuartos Viejo del Mar and Caballo del Mar), each with a large private talavara tiled bathroom, your own seating area on the main terrace, and situated around our hammock-lined terrace and garden. Across the lawn and 10-steps from the beach sits our beachfront bungalow Casita del Pelicano, one of our two 2-story bungalows. Behind el Pelicano, you will find La Casita de la Mariposa and the family-sized Casa Sol y Mar, a 2-story, 2 bedroom/2 bath loft-style beach house. All the bungalows feature large shuttered and screened windows, spacious private bathrooms with hot showers, open-air kitchens and refrigerators. And all are just a few steps from Playa Manzanillo - the "jewel" of the region - a wide, sandy beach with a fun surf spot at the south end. FlashFeel We speak Spanish, English, German and Dutch; please feel free to communicate with us in any of these languages. Welcome! Your options are many here. Want to surf? Get up, grab your board and walk 50 steps to a world class site. Snorkel? The bay at Manzanillo is loaded with tropical fish and has beautiful, clear water for excellent snorkeling. Feel like swimming? The water is around 80?F and the waves in the bay are often gentle. How about fishing? You can pick up a boat right in front of your casita and go out all day for Dorado, Sierra, or even Marlin, maybe even stop somewhere for a surf on the way out and back. Is eating your thing? The beach at Playa Manzanillo has several excellent restaurants to choose from, with everything from traditional Mexican fare to brick oven-baked Pizza, excellent European & American cuisine and fresh Lobster right out of the bay.But, then again, you might just be happy enough sitting on the beach in one of our comfy beach chairs with a book from our library and a cold Corona in easy reach. What do you think? La Posada de Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Posada de los Raqueros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de los Raqueros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.