We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“great off-the-beaten-path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de los Raqueros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada de los Raqueros
Save
You added La Posada de los Raqueros to your Saves list
Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great off-the-beaten-path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

La Casa de Pelicanos, a separate villa, was great for us (ma, pa, in law, and 2 teens). Week before Christmas and the beach was almost ours. Very amicable staff and truly fun - left us with a taste for more. Mind the loud Ocean waves at night.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

I healed body and mind in the mystical waters of the Sea of Cortez.

I'm a journalist in S.F who had just come off an appendectomy and too many noose-tight deadlines. I was looking for warm water, reasonably calm environment (i.e. not teeming with people) and plenty of water sports.

I got all of that in Troncones and couldn't have asked for better hosts than Hans and Angie.

I spent a week in the Mariposa Casita. The room was clean, the staff was super polite and friendly and the beach was superb for boogie boarding, swimming and snorkling.

If you're looking for high end hotel this isn't it. Los Roq feels like you're staying in the home of witty, warm and caring friends. The rooms aren't air conditioned and while I thought it was cool to see lizards and sand crabs running around nearby I understand not everybody might enjoy that.

If you're looking for a place to provide every creature comfort you probably don't want Troncones. On the other hand if you're looking for a tranquil place with pleasant people, then you'll find it at Posados de los Raqueros.

  • Liked — the location to the water and that it was off the beaten track
  • Disliked — they need to remove some of the rocks on the beach
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

This was my third visit to Troncones and Raqueros was, by far, the best place that I have stayed. Hans and Angie create a happy and peaceful environment that makes you feel like Raqueros has been your home for years. I was traveling alone and they treated me like family, providing great local recommendations and sharing their stories with me. The staff is also respectful of your privacy and you can find many quiet places to read, relax and contemplate. Troncones is not for everyone, but if you're looking for a beautiful Mexican vacation with a little character (this is NOT Cancun), Raqueros is an excellent choice.

Some details: they provided a simple breakfast daily including fresh fruit and juice. The staff is effective and courteous. The resident dog, Tufi, will guide you along the beach or lie next to you in the sand as you sunbathe. The surfing at the point can be excellent and is directly in front of the property. Families, couples and single travelers would be comfortable here.

  • Liked — Comfort and proximity to surfing
  • Disliked — Had to come home and go back to work
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Posada. Tony and his family were delightful and most helpful, the grounds were quite nice and the stay was very peaceful. The 2 dogs who live on the property, Tufi and Marimba, completed the comfortable atmosphere. We commented several times that the Posada felt like a home unlike many hotels. We stayed in one of the "Cuartos" which was more than enough room but maybe next time we will spring for the beachfront Casita. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Posada!

  • Liked — The peaceful atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

My partner and I felt a little disappointed when we arrived. The location is nice, but could be landscaped better (the chain-link fencing and trailer next door doesn't exactly add to the ambiance), the interior decoration in the rooms is fairly drab and minimal, sleeping is difficult with the lack of a/c and abundance of bat/bird/bug/frog chirping, breakfast isn't offered, and food is difficult to get to.

We anticipated, based on email exchange with the owners, that a variety of services and activities were available. Just not the case.

  • Liked — the dogs
  • Disliked — the remote location and lack of inclusiveness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We very much enjoyed our time at this hotel. The grounds were very peaceful, and it was a very relaxing and wonderful place to stay. The room was comfortable and the beach was just lovely. The only complaint we had, and this isn't really a complaint, is that we didn't know that only one restaurant would be open (it was low, low season) and food was sort of a pain to come by. We didn't know that we should bring food in to the hotel. Hence, if I were to go back, which I would definitely consider, I would make sure to stop at the grocery store on the way from the airport. Also, Hans and Angie weren't there -- which was a little disappointing since all the other reviews had such wonderful comments on their hospitality.
All and all, our time at the hotel was extremely relaxing and great.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My girlfriend took me to La Posada de los Raqueros for my first trip to Mexico. I could not have dreamed of a better experience. Hans, Angie, Toofi and Marimba are so welcoming; the place felt like a friends beach house more than a hotel. If you need to get away, the lounge chairs on the beach are awesome for long naps or finishing a few books. The beach is super fun, warm with great surf and body-surf waves. There is also some more advanced surf down the road. Troncones was a great taste of urban Mexico. We were there during a marlin fishing tournament. I jumped in and helped the locals carry huge marlins off the boats! All in all, it was an amazing trip. I suggest renting a small car to get around. And keep an eye out for the giant toads that come out at night.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de los Raqueros

Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de los Raqueros is a beach-lover's paradise hideaway and casitas. Our beachfront villa at Playa Manzanillo, just north of the village of Troncones, features several accommodation options, starting with two beautiful spacious oceanview guest suites (cuartos Viejo del Mar and Caballo del Mar), each with a large private talavara tiled bathroom, your own seating area on the main terrace, and situated around our hammock-lined terrace and garden. Across the lawn and 10-steps from the beach sits our beachfront bungalow Casita del Pelicano, one of our two 2-story bungalows. Behind el Pelicano, you will find La Casita de la Mariposa and the family-sized Casa Sol y Mar, a 2-story, 2 bedroom/2 bath loft-style beach house. All the bungalows feature large shuttered and screened windows, spacious private bathrooms with hot showers, open-air kitchens and refrigerators. And all are just a few steps from Playa Manzanillo - the "jewel" of the region - a wide, sandy beach with a fun surf spot at the south end. FlashFeel We speak Spanish, English, German and Dutch; please feel free to communicate with us in any of these languages. Welcome! Your options are many here. Want to surf? Get up, grab your board and walk 50 steps to a world class site. Snorkel? The bay at Manzanillo is loaded with tropical fish and has beautiful, clear water for excellent snorkeling. Feel like swimming? The water is around 80?F and the waves in the bay are often gentle. How about fishing? You can pick up a boat right in front of your casita and go out all day for Dorado, Sierra, or even Marlin, maybe even stop somewhere for a surf on the way out and back. Is eating your thing? The beach at Playa Manzanillo has several excellent restaurants to choose from, with everything from traditional Mexican fare to brick oven-baked Pizza, excellent European & American cuisine and fresh Lobster right out of the bay.But, then again, you might just be happy enough sitting on the beach in one of our comfy beach chairs with a book from our library and a cold Corona in easy reach. What do you think? La Posada de Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de los Raqueros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.