We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Great hotel/restaurant in a sweet, quiet community along the Pacific Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa Es Su Casa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mi Casa Es Su Casa
Save
You added Mi Casa Es Su Casa to your Saves list
Calle Troncones, Troncones, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel/restaurant in a sweet, quiet community along the Pacific Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family, including two young grandsons ages 3 and 9, spent a week at the hotel Mi Casa Su Casa in Troncones, Mexico. The hotel is situated right on the beach with a restaurant attached. We would wake up in the morning, find a palapa, drink our coffee as we watched the pelicans soar and then walk the beach with the boys. The food at the restaurant was great (Mexican cuisine) and it is served continuously throughout the day. There is a swimming pool between the hotel and the restaurant that is very family friendly. Our hotel room was very comfortable and we had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was well organized and was cleaned each day by friendly staff. If we had any additional needs, the hotel management was very available and willing to help. The hotel is well maintained and the surrounding gardens are well kept. The hotel is located close to other restaurants and shops in this quaint town. I strongly recommend this hotel/restaurant in Troncones!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale OR
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been to Trancones before, and used to stay at a hotel up the beach,not very convenient if you don't have a car. We had eaten at mi Casa Su Casa restaurant last time, and decided it was our favorite place to eat in all of Trancones. We stayed in the 2nd. floor suite. It was beautiful, with hand carved wooden furniture, a huge open air dining/living area, an air conditioner, and most importantly a refigerater. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the hotel is nicely centrally located. We loved this place and can't wait to go back! Our favorite evening here was watching the turtles being released at a restaurant down the beach.

Room Tip: view is better from the 2nd. floor. be sure to specify you want a room with air conditioning and a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the 4th time we've stayed at Mi Casa Su Casa. I must admit the staff is wonderful and very accomodating and the hotel and restaurant service just blows the rest out of the water. Our last trip to Trocones beach was a last minute decision and they were able to accomodate us and even give us our favorite suite - upstairs in the corner with and unobstructed view of the ocean. We were there during their "monsoon" season and the midnight thunder / lighting strorms were absolutely beautiful viewed from the balcony. Did I forget to tell you.... the upper rentals all have a nice big balcony with table, chairs, hammock and lounger. Inside, air conditioning, full kitchen, bath and king size bed. check em out, you wont be dissapointed. Not as fancy as some of the other hotels, but I always feel "at home" everytime I arrive at Mi Casa Su Casa. I give this place a definate 9.... only 1 point short of a 10 because the pool got quite crowded because of people with families "passing by" to have a drink at the restaurant and taking full advantage of the pool all day, therefore crowding out the actual hotel guests. It wasn't too bad but it would've been nice to be able to take a swim during the hot weather during the daytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed a week at Mi Casa Su Casa. Upon arrival we were greeted by Carlos who speaks perfect English. He asked that we let him know if we needed anything at all. He was always working around the property and so quick to point us in the right direction. He and his family made us feel like we were guests in their home. They are so hospitable and really a pleasure to be around. We feel we have made good friends with Carlos and his family. We wanted to stay another week but Mi Casa was booked. I went to almost every hotel in Troncones to see about rooms and realized what a treasure we stumbled on. Everything was clean, relaxed and comfortable. You can not beat the rates for what you get. Also there is a nice breeze that rolls in off the ocean that most places didn't have. Rooms are huge. All have this nice patio/ balcony with a table and chairs. We enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings. We also found the restaurant to be one of the best in the area. Again staff are so accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes and others an extra bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

While staying at a small, rustic bungalow up the road a bit from Troncones, we'd go down to Mi Casa Su Casa for a "spa day:" while having a drink (really wonderfully strong margaritas) or lunch we could swim, gratis, in their beautiful clear clean pool (didn't have to stay in the hotel to do this), right next to their outdoor, and delicious, restaurant, right next to the crashing Pacific ocean. Carlos and his family manage the hotel and couldn't be friendlier, warmer, more hospitable. Thanks Carlos! His Dad, Polo, runs the restaurant and his mother is the cook. So many thanks to them too! The waiters are incredible: knowledgeable, fun, relaxed and so friendly. We ended up staying at the hotel two different nights, as the hot water showers and fast (er) internet were a real draw, with everything else above. Plus, a really educational, and conservation plus, turtle release program. I couldn't recommend it higher.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Had a weekend work retreat here at Mi Casa Es Su Casa. Was greeted by Carlos and his loving family. He spoke perfect English and filled me and my two cohorts in on the town, what to see and do and where to get a great margarita (conveniently in their bar/restaurant).

Room was basic, clean and bug-free. The view is out of this world and the waves are so rhythmic that I fell asleep a few times on the hammock on the balcony.

Little market was right across the street for some local salty snack and the chili quiles (sp?) in the restaurant was my staple for breakfast for $5 each morning.

Lastly, there were actual sea turtles laying their eggs RIGHT in front of the hotel so we got to see eggs being laid then, from an earlier turtle, one night we got to watch the babies hatch and help release them into the sea!

Just unreal, affordable, perfect, relaxing...Carlos, I'm moving in, haha.

Can't wait to go back!

Heather

Room Tip: Room 213 is the black-swan suite...you have to see it to beleive it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We found Troncones and Mi Casa Su Casa several years ago on a day trip while staying in Zihuatanejo, and we have gone there ever year since for vacations of 7-10 days. Each year in the late fall or early winter, we sit on our couch in Minnesota and consider plans for our annual Mexico trip. Each time since stumbling across Mi Casa Su Casa we contemplate whether we should try another Mexican destination (we have been to a half dozen others on the west coast). We have many friends who speak highly of Playa del Carmen and we have looked into it more than once, but we always come back to the tranquility of Troncones as a sure thing. When you have only one shot at a week of tranquility in the course of a year, we consistently opt for that sure thing. Dave's graciousness, and the the hospitality of Carlos and Pollo at the small hotel restaurant, all keep us coming back for more. There are several family owned restaurants on the beach or in town (including the one at the hotel) which is more than enough to provide plenty of variety of cuisine for a week long stay Some people like to go "where everybody knows your name"; we want to go to a place where hardly anyone does! Dave and everyone else at Mi Casa Su Casa know exactly how to give you the privacy you need and meet your needs when they need to be met. Perfecto.

Room Tip: the casitas are small but comfortable, but the suite are very spacious. We always take room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mi Casa Es Su Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Casa Es Su Casa

Address: Calle Troncones, Troncones, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Mi Casa Es Su

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casa Es Su Casa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.