We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“BEST HOSTEL EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Troncones Point Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Troncones Point Hostel to your Saves list
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point, Troncones 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“BEST HOSTEL EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I wish I lived there! The property is flawless and Tom & Irlanda are great hosts. I highly recommend a visit to the area and this is definitely the place to stay while you are there. Nothing beats a nap in one of the hammocks after a full day of surfing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Super nice and well maintained grounds, a really lovely place. It has all the benefits of staying in a hostel without any of the drawbacks - it's the perfect vibe. Very clean! The owners are great and super friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Troncones Point Hostel is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed in years of travelling around the world. It is quiet, immaculately clean, and beautifully created with a mix of different kinds of accommodation, a lovely communal area and kitchen, hammocks strung throughout the garden and thoughtful small touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms. The owners, Tom and Irlanda, are so welcoming, you feel like you are in their home. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Go, and stay for a long time. You'll love it!

Room Tip: For couples, the room with kitchenette and balcony and hammocks on the first floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I've traveled for six years straight and this is without a doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed in. *Attention to detail is second to none.
*Location is perfect overlooking an incredible right hand point that is often uncrowded.
*The owners and staff are so welcoming, helpful and part of what makes this the best hostel in the world.
*I stayed in the dorm and also in the ensuite double with the huge balcony. The double was a self contained unit with fridge, cooker and all utensils including a smoothie maker.
*The shared kitchen / lounge with 270 degree views was 5 star. You can also see the wave reel down the point from there.
* My girlfriend is a non surfer and loved it too. Lots of great places to eat and explore in Troncones.
* The only thing we didn't do was stay longer. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: There is shallow swimming hole out the front of the point that is protected when the surf is up. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great hostel, perfectly located at the sea. Very clean place, big rooms with lots of possibilities to store your stuff and nice commun rooms (huge kitchen, couches, hammocks). The hostel owners are superfriendly and helpful.
I never planned to go to Troncones, just had enaugh of Mexico City and wanted to relax somewhere at the sea in my last two days of my trip. However I ended up in Troncones and it was one of the best places I have eben in Mexico, which is also the contribution of Irlanda and Tom and their beautiful hostel, thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We originally stayed for one week, but decided to stay longer. The owner, Tom and his wife Irlanda are excellent hosts and welcome every person that stays with genuine hospitality. Though the surfing on Punta Pelicanos is a bit tricky with the rocks, Saladita is less than 20 mins north, and if you're looking for something bigger The Ranch is not too far either. Though Tom doesn't have the best selection of boards in town, if you're renting for a day or two, you may save some cash by taking one of his.

I definitely recommend staying in Casa Cielo, not only does it have an amazing upstairs patio, but it also has the best selection of books to exchange or read. Only thing that needs to be improved is the compost toilet... definitely attracted a few flies after a week.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Maybe 25% more expensive than other hostels (so still affordable) but totally worth it and you can cook for yourself. And the owner is sweet. And the place is ridiculously beautiful and clean. Fell in love with it when I saw it. And I am critical about hygiene, price and location for surfing.

Worth the drive over to troncones! When you arrive at the beach, turn right and keep driving.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Troncones Point Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troncones Point Hostel

Address: Troncones Point, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troncones Point Hostel is the first and only hostel in Troncones. This is a place where you can enjoy contact with nature, surrounded by mountains and the beautiful pacific Ocean. This is a place where you'll find all the luxury of a hotel with hostel prices. We are creating our home together with our guests. We are the community that everybody would like to bump into.Designed to coexist with nature, Troncones Point hostel has tropical landscaping and amazing vistas. It's has natural energy features that support the environment. We utilize a grey water system, and the latest technology in composting toilets. Despite the independence of Troncones, Manzanillo Bay rests only a few paces from the gates so you're never far from the azure Pacific. With a mere 100 feet separating you from the water, there's an endless array of surfing, boogie boarding, swimming, sea kayaking, snorkeling, body surfing, tide pooling and fishing to enjoy at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Troncones Point Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troncones Point Surf Club Hotel Troncones

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troncones Point Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.