We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit won't be our last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda de la Costa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda de la Costa
Save
You added Hacienda de la Costa to your Saves list
Patzcuaro 500, Sayulita 63734, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 15 Sayulita B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Second visit won't be our last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Steve and Terri are the hosts of this amazing B&B that is a great place to unwind and enjoy a Mexican vacation away from the crowded resort towns. Terri's hot breakfasts each morning are absolutely delicious and always have a local flair, like her Crepes Azteca. They are the perfect way to start the day, whether you are walking to the almost-always-private-beach for a few hours or taking a car (we relied on taxis on our first visit and rented a Jeep for our second) to explore the town of Sayulita. Steve is always ready to assist you in making reservations with the local boating company or golf course if you want to do something active. We tried Stand-Up Paddle Boarding for the first time and it was a blast! When you come back from your adventure, their beautiful pool is waiting and the ocean view of the sunsets there is amazing!

Room Tip: Los Arboles includes a separate living/dining area and fully equipped kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently visited Sayulita and choosing to stay at the Hacienda for the second year in a row was a no brainer. As others mention, there is a bit of a walk to town but we enjoyed it very much and walked to town several times. The pool area is peaceful and relaxing (and the pool water warm!) and the grounds are beautifully kept. The hospitality truly is second to none as Steve and Terri went above and beyond to make our stay perfect including calling cabs to take us on various excursions, arranging transportation to and from the airport, and offering suggestions of places to go and things to do. These insider tips were invaluable. The breakfasts are delicious and substantial also a nice time to connect with other guests and plot out the day. We stayed in La Palma (which has an incredible view) and had the shared kitchen close by for late night snacks or picnic lunches. A completely positive, relaxing experience in all and the perfect escape from the long mid-west Winter! Looking forward to future visits.

Room Tip: I have stayed in La Palma twice and would stay there again. You can see the ocean from bed through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Feather Lakes, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed in Los Arboles (room over garage). No views from this room, but spacious, clean, nicely decorated & well equipped. Includes a peaceful breezeway between room and guest house with nice foliage. Pleasant pool area offers comfortable lounge chairs, clean warm pool water, and an "honor bar" where you can mix your own Margarita or grab a cold beer! There is ocean view and lots of great foliage around the pool.
Short "hike" in either direction leads to two separate secluded beaches where you will likely find yourself the only visitor! Don't forget an umbrella, furnished by the hosts. New clean sheets every two days was an unusual treat, as was the cable TV and nice selection of recent DVDs!
Terri's breakfasts were always good and adequate portions, and provided a nice opportunity to meet other guests and plan the day's activities (with Steve's readily available assistance). The pets are well-behaved and very endearing, but the Chachalacas (Mexico's "wild turkeys") got pretty rowdy a few mornings; making sure that we remembered we were in the jungle.
Highly recommend a bird/whale watching & snorkeling trip with Rudi in Punta Mita. Costs is same for one or eight, so great to share trip & costs with other guests, which Steve is happy to coordinate.
Might get a little redundant for a long stay (especially with long walk to town), but a very relaxing place to spend a few days, recharge and enjoy the jungle setting with very accommodating hosts!

Room Tip: Had full kitchen, but rooms with "shared kitchen" looked like would have been no issue at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was a great retreat for us. We love to walk and were able to walk to a really private beach or walk two short miles to Sayulita. We bought fresh fish at the market, and my husband caught fish while in a kayak. Such a treat. Our hosts, Terri and Steve could not have been more hospitable. They really assisted with our plans each day. The whale watching, snorkelling and seeing the rare blue footed booby was a real highlight. We booked to return next year. Cannot say enough about this special place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Hacienda for 5 days, & we wish we never had to leave! The accommodations are clean, modern & beautiful - you either have a kitchen in your suite or can share one with two other suites. You can enjoy the gourmet Mexican breakfasts, cook your own lunch, & head to town for dinner at a restaurant. The grounds are immaculately kept & the jungle setting is gorgeous. The pool, bar & eating area are perfect. We stayed in La Vista, the highest room which had stunning views - we saw a whale playing through our binoculars. Terri & Steve are so helpful & knowledgeable, these two are just lovely people. The resident dogs (Shel, Tripod, Millie & Peso) & cats (Maggie & Solo Mio) were practically the main attractions & adored by everyone. The 40min walk to Sayulita was a gorgeous trek through the jungle, bring good walking shoes (or hop in a cheap cab)! The two secluded beaches 10mins away were fantastic, Steve's margaritas were incredible, & Terri's dinner was so delicious. It's private, in nature, yet close to town for adventures. I can't say enough good things & can't think of anything negative! It was so relaxing & rejuvenating. We will definitely be back, & have recommended to everyone we know - it's THAT great!

Room Tip: La Vista has the best views, but all of the rooms are fantastic - it just depends on if you want a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Mexico for our first visit booked by my exploration online. We were tired after a number of years of illness and ready to recoup and yet wanted to have some socialization. To arrive in Hacienda De La Costa was wonderful. The welcome, our beautiful suite that felt spacious and spotless and with a view of the ocean was exactly what we needed. The breakfasts as well as the way we could join other guests, relax, chat, exchange stories of travels, good books to read and plans for the day all added to the perfect mix of social activity and quiet times. While my husband rested at the pool I explored the most perfect secluded beach where my contacts were a big bull that came down the estuary for his salt lick and the local fishermen who shared their catch of fresh oysters with me.
Terri and Steve were perfect hosts in every way and we left feeling that we had connected with special people in a very special place.
Helen

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful but I am not sharing my perfect one in case you book when I want to as of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at Hacienda de al Costa in late December 2013 for five days. From weeks before we arrived, to the the day we left, Terri and Steve were the greatest hosts. They helped us arrange transportation and activities, as well as providing local-level information about where to go and what to do. We took every recommendation they gave us and were never disappointed.

Walking to town was enjoyable, but takes about 40 minutes. No big deal as it's a pretty nice and easy trek through the jungle on cobbled and dirt roads, if you'd rather take a cab back and forth, it's easy and affordable. Steve will give you advice on how to pay/tip.

Terri and Steve are very accommodating, the food is excellent and their place is built and kept up to a higher standard than is typical for an out-of-the-way jungle paradise. You'll have an awesome and relaxing time during your stay, we hope to come back soon with friends in tow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda de la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de la Costa

Address: Patzcuaro 500, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda de La Costa is an adults-only secluded haven offering a spectacular location with ocean views, jungle surroundings and close proximity to secluded beaches. Hacienda de La Costa is an ideal destination for nature lovers, the adventurous and the young at heart. Whether you have your sights set on adrenaline charged activity or you just long for a peaceful spot to unwind and relax, our location within an ecological preserve provides the perfect backdrop for what is truly an “off the beaten path” getaway.Located just two miles from the bustling ocean side village of Sayulita,Hacienda de la Costa enjoys the privacy of an exclusive retreat while the attractions of pueblo life are within easy reach. The romantic natural setting boasts secluded sandy beaches, sun-drenched days and starry nights perfect for making unforgettable memories. With 5 spacious suites, accommodating a maximum of 10 adult guests, tranquility is assured. Complimentary breakfast served poolside with a different entrée each morning in addition to the daily selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De La Costa Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda de la Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.