We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a group, stay in the Main House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casablanca
Save
You added Casablanca to your Saves list
Avenida del Palmar 79, Sayulita 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you have a group, stay in the Main House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Last year I stayed at the main house with a group of 8 friends, ages ranging from 30-40. We loved it, and have actually booked the same house again this year! We keep coming back to Sayulita yearly- the town is amazing, and we're getting to know the locals more. You can walk anywhere. There are 3 more rooms with king beds, and 2 sets of bunk beds that are semi-private. We spent every day for the whole week just hanging out on the sundeck and enjoying the sun. It makes for a great vacation when you can really relax and just cook for yourself or hang around the house during the days, and in the evenings we walked into town for the live music, food, and drinks. This is a crazy affordable vacation spot, and if you've got a group of friends, you aren't paying very much for an entire week at this super sweet house. Our favorite night spots are Bar Don Pato and the Buddha Bar. If you're looking for a day adventure, there are a couple of private beaches you can walk to, or the Chica Loca boat trip is a blast. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here with our two boys ages 6 and 9, it was excellent! Great spot for families! Very relaxed and charming spot, great pool and poolside palapa for shade. Rooms are very clean, kitchens are well-equipped, decor is cheery and a bit artsy. Our first room was right off the pool, with a small outdoor table. Very charming. Our second room was on the way from the pool to the beach, it was bigger with a master bedroom and a bunk bedroom. This room was fine, with a larger open kitchen and the boys loved the bunk beds. However this room didn't get much natural light and felt a bit cave-like. Some of the upper rooms appear to be very desirable, and we had booked only a few weeks out so understandably did not get one of the best rooms. Both rooms had decent size refrigerators. The staff was friendly, kind and did their best to be helpful. Because it is a small hotel and many of the units have balconies or outdoor dining areas there was a somewhat communal feeling among the guests. This was helpful since there was no written material in the room explaining the hotel amenities. We learned from other guests that there is a terrace with bbq and hot tub for all guests to use. Free wi-fi by the pool, may work in some rooms too. All the guests during our stay were pleasant and pretty quiet - this isn't a party-ers spot. The average age must have been 40. There is a fun parrot at the reception that guests can hold on their arm, although we were stuck with the parrot for quite awhile because we didn't know how to put it back in its cage and there was no front desk staff around to assist. The beach access is excellent from this hotel. We were told that there is some undertow at this part of the beach, and to beware with small children. It was fine for our boys who are good swimmers and they had a blast getting tossed around in the surf. Most days we rented beach chairs for the day at Don Pedro's, hired a surf instructor and rented boogie boards for the boys. All very reasonably priced and perfect place for beginners to learn to surf and boogie board. It was a bit of a slog in the hot weather walking into the heart of the town and back for meals with two boys. (Streets are smelly in Sayulita, not sure why they don't hire someone to pick up trash.) There are very few restaurants close by, but the Venetian pizza place was very good and there were a few others. All in all, a very lovely spot.

Room Tip: Upper levels seem to be preferable, although we were fine with both our ground floor units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omollero, General Manager at Casablanca, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review!! Sorry that upon your arrival in the front desk you did not get a nice explanation of all the common areas around Casablanca, yes we have a BBQ place it a top roof terrace with Jacuzzi, and WiFi should be everywhere. And we are about to put a bigger antenna to have better coverage.

Thanks for your suggestion; we are now on the process of making a nice booklet to have inside every room explaining hotel amenities and Sayulita surroundings.
Pepe, the Casablanca Parrot its becoming “famous” its now even in facebook, if you need anything at the front desk and there is no one around, please ring the bell, some times the front desk people are around checking on other stuff.
Have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

When you are looking for a apartment like rooms, swimming pool and some more space if you would like to play or to party: that's the hotel. We enjoyed it there with our kids and friends. At the roof top is a nice terrace where we played poker and the kids some table games. Unfortunately it was not cleaned up from the prior day. But after a call to the reception they cleaned it up.
You can park your car at the hotel and walk everything : to the restaurants, to the woods, to the beach playa de Los Muertos .,, downtown you can rent some off road club cars ... Very funny

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Collins, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We wanted a place with a warm pool, on the beach and found the Casablanca. We loved the little well-equipped kitchen, the balconies with table and chairs, and the privacy created by palm trees. We had a king bed, with a small but clean and well equipped bathroom with good sized shower and lovely tile sink. The white rooms are accented with blue and yellow tiles, colorful rugs, pillows and fresh flowers. Most wonderful however was the path directly on to the wide, wonderful sandy beach.One can walk to town on the beach but it is far enough out of the main town to be very quiet. We want to come back!
Our two problems - bed a bit hard and flat pillows and limited space for internet access.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the beach but very private. Great to go to sleep with the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very nice property with wonderful staff. Beachfront with a lovely pool. Downsides include lack of wi-fi in rooms (need to either sit out on the steps or in the cabana to get a good signal) and cold pool water. They were heating the pool as we left, but it was advertised as a heated pool. It was just not hot enough to enjoy the freezing cold water of the pool. The ocean was much more pleasant, but not as good for young children as the waves are pretty large at that part of the beach. Also, the rooftop terrace was usually dirty and had a wonderful looking small pool or hot tub that was not filled. Overall, however, we were very satisfied with the price, location, and accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed there for a long weekend. We were looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the beach. .. Casablanca was a lovely surprise. When we arrived, the staff was absolutely kind and helpful, they showed as the suites, pools and terraces.. There is a great roof terrace where you can have a nice bbq and enjoy the spectacular view.
Every suite has a nice balcony where you can have a romantic night with a glass of wine under the stars… is so nice and romantic, yet so private, you are gonna love it.
The hotel is very close to the center so you won´t need a car to move around Sayulita and its easy to get to the lovely restaurants and shops. Sayulita is still a small town and I’m sure you will enjoy it.
The staff was very keen on showing us how to get a taxi and busses to Puerto Vallarta or the airport. So we were always well looked after.
Can´t wait to go back and enjoy the nice pool and beautiful suite, so comfortable and nicely decorated. Thank you so much for having us there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing weekend, this is the right place to stay!
This little hotel has great views from the balconies to the beach and/or to the pool.
The suites are big enough each one w with a nice bathroom, a living area where you can accommodate two kids easily, the kitchen has everything that you need and the balcony is great to enjoy your meal, a drink or just to watch the sunset.
There are also many more amenities like the rooftop jacuzzi, the terrace and restrooms, the pool.
If you are looking for a nice, clean, relaxing and affordable place to stay...Casablanca Sayulita is the best option.

Room Tip: As a couple, we prefer the ones overlooking the beach, but the ones overlooking the pool are great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca

Address: Avenida del Palmar 79, Sayulita 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casablanca its a small family bussiness, we have been comming to Sayulita since 1980 and it all started as our vacation house, with time Sayulita has been more popular and people from around the globe started comming so we decide it to take part of it and enjoy it...We are proud to present some of the origins of our guests since 2003...(( Alaska, USA, Canada, Argentina, Italy, Germany, France, Portugal, Austria, South Africa, China, Japan, Australia, New Zeland, Spain ))We are committed to catering all your needs. Whether you are vacationing privately or with a large group, you will love your stay at Casablanca in Sayulita, Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.