We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of using your Credit Card!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casablanca
Save
You added Casablanca to your Saves list
Avenida del Palmar 79, Sayulita 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beware of using your Credit Card!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

After being in Sayulita for 5 weeks ( we stayed at other casas and had paid in full before arriving) we used my credit card to pay for the remaining balance of our one week stay at Casa Blanca. They also required a copy of my drivers license. After checking in, an account was set up at iTunes using my credit card, my U.S. address and a fake name, "Eduard.......". This was the one and only time I have ever used my C.C. in Mexico and we go yearly. The account and charge was made the day after Casa Blanca took my information. Just beware and pay in cash. Fortunately I checked my online banking and canceled the card immediately.
Other than that the hotel is in a good location, but if you object to smoke beware that when people in other units smoke it comes right into your room. We happened to be overcome with cigar smoke. The maids were great and worked very hard. Front desk not too friendly. Night guard not always at desk and we would walk right in without anyone checking to see who we were.

Room Tip: I will never stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omollero, General Manager at Casablanca, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
First of all, we are sorry it took us so long to respond to your review; we are just started managing the tripadvisor account...

We feel vey sorry that you had this experience with your Credit Card, it is the first and time we have this issue since the year 2003 that this hotel started giving service; we know it is been over a year from your comment but if we where to receive this message sooner I’m sure we would come out to some sort of solution. Did you sent an email or something to management or to hum make your reservation? We strongly recommend our guests to have an open communication with management with any kind of recommendation or reclaims so we can always offer a solution and ASAP response.

Smoking is not allowed in the suites, only in open areas and we are strongly thinking of the option to make this a smoke free building, but we are not sure just yet. But if the smoke is too much and gets uncomfortable, please let us know in reception so we can ask kindly your suite neighbors.

Please, our management email address its: casablancasayulita1@hotmail.com and any rude or unfriendly attention can be reported to management and we will be happy to address a fast response.

Thanks for the feed back; it is one of our most powerful tools.
Sincerely, Casablanca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our room-apartment was nicely decorated, with a modern mexican touch. Kitchen is a huge plus well stocked with pans, microwave, coffee maker (free coffee) and even a toaster.
We enjoyed our daily breakfast on the little balcony looking at the pool. Great place.Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome, great beach access, great pool, very clean, great staff!!.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent a week in one of the suites at Casablanca.
SUMMARY:
Bad points: noisy staff woke me up EVERY morning and the furniture is the most uncomfortable crap.

Good points: great location right on the beach close enough to enjoy town without being annoyed by the crowd or noise.

Location: it's right on Sayulita's beach, but down where it starts to move from the crowd to bigger houses so when you walk out onto the beach you can so easily stroll to the beach bars, fruit stands, and into town, and you get a regular trickle of peddlers, but you aren't overrun with crowds, umbrellas, a million people, beach volleyball, and surfing lessons...those are all an 8 minute stroll south. On the street side, it's the same thing- easy walk to coffee, food, and drink or an 8 minute walk into town proper, but far enough away that the partying doesn't bother you.

The staff: minus points. loud. The front desk staff was useless. They did nothing, but, then, we didn't really ask them much. What we did ask got useless answers after ten minute waits. Housekeeping made the bed, but that was about it. The biggest annoyance was how frickin' loud they are. Normally, I awake at 6 AM and if someone is cleaning a pool or working across the garden or cutting coconuts out of the trees so they don't land on my head and kill me I appreciate their work. On vacation, I want to sleep in and I don't want those services to get in my way. At all. Call me prissy. Whatever. I am on vacation. EVERY single morning, I awoke to staff yelling to each other or talking so frickin' loud on their cellphones to their sisters. It was not loud work. You can clean a pool and clean rooms around me without yelling across from one building to another. But not here. Even when I got up and asked people to be quiet they would quiet down for like 3 minutes and then be right back at it. So, basically, if you stay here, bring earplugs and be prepared to be annoyed by the noise.

The room: fine. It has a little kitchenette, two tiny balconies, a little couch, a bed, and a bathroom with shower.

Biggest complaint: miserably uncomfortable furniture. The chairs are awful, the "couch" is awful, and the bed is miserable.

Hot water: shower quickly and maybe with a partner because the hot water goes fast.

The pool: very clean without stinking of chemicals.

Internet was slow, but fine.

I can't recall if they said they would provide bottled water, but they did not.

Other guests: mix of foreign and Mexican tourists- mostly families so lots of children, but no partying.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omollero, General Manager at Casablanca, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
First of all, we are sorry it took us so long to respond to your review; we are just started managing the tripadvisor account...

Our made service start cleaning at around 10am in order to maintain the bedrooms and surroundings quiet, but in a special request we could make extra effort to prolong your sleep….

Our front desk stuff will always try to help you with anything needed, even special requests, but sometimes if English spoken is the problem, please ask our management for an expedite response.

Sometimes neighbor houses get their garden work early in the morning but that happens only very once in a while; and if our stuff is the one making noise, please let us knows so we can make your stay more pleasant. And due to your recommendations we will make some inside rules to make our stuff become quieter.

To some people our furniture and the bed is great, and it’s very hard to make everyone happy in this matter since some people like it different.

The water heaters sometimes need maintenance, and in the next time please ask management to fix the problem so hot water runs to your shower as needed. We also ask our guests that if possible try to save as much water as possible due to environmental issues.

Thank you also for your comments, we are working on making this place feel like home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Casa Blanca is right on the beach overlooking the bay! Your choice of beach or pool and the jungle is all around you. Lots of palm trees and beautiful flowers. There were 6 girls that rented the main house with the private pool and deck overlooking the Pacific. We had Alvaro do the grocery shopping for us and stocked our refrigerator for our arrival. We walked to town every day for dinner, shopping or a street taco. We took the boogie boards out in the ocean and had a great time. There is a scientist that is helping save the leatherback turtles and he is educating the Mexican people on not eating the turtle eggs. We watched him hatch the turtle eggs and then release them into the ocean later that day at sunset. Truly amazing.
If you want to relax on a beach and just plain chill out then this is the place for you! If you are low maintenance and understand that you are in a third world country then this is a 5 star resort for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a balcony with a "view" of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We liked it here. The rooms were nice and well-maintained with cable tv and a fully stocked kitchen. Comfortable and right next to the ocean, they have a nice large pool, and a hot tub on top of the hotel, which was really cool. The place was within walking distance of all the restaurants and stores, but it was far enough away to give you that feeling of being away from it all. There is a lovey beach right in front of it where you can go horseback riding for $25. The guy who works at the front desk is a little odd, and he kept screwing up our bill, but I do not think it was dishonest; I think he is just a bad accountant, lol. Other than that, the place was great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Casa Blanca is ideal! We went with a group of friends for a wedding, we all stayed there. It was so convenient for everyone. Right on the beach, each room had a kitchen with a couch, and two balconies. Beautiful. The wedding was on the beach in front of the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of town, yet far enough away from the hustle. The staff was very helpful and the two pools were so fun. Los Afortunados is the best restaurant in town. We plan on returning to Sayulita and we will stay at the Casa Blanca every time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca

Address: Avenida del Palmar 79, Sayulita 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casablanca its a small family bussiness, we have been comming to Sayulita since 1980 and it all started as our vacation house, with time Sayulita has been more popular and people from around the globe started comming so we decide it to take part of it and enjoy it...We are proud to present some of the origins of our guests since 2003...(( Alaska, USA, Canada, Argentina, Italy, Germany, France, Portugal, Austria, South Africa, China, Japan, Australia, New Zeland, Spain ))We are committed to catering all your needs. Whether you are vacationing privately or with a large group, you will love your stay at Casablanca in Sayulita, Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.