We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Escondida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Save
You added Playa Escondida to your Saves list
Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Nature Lover's Special
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Playa Escondida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Playa Escondida is one of the most relaxing and well ran places I've ever been too. The people that work there couldn't be more sweet and accommodating, and the location is beautiful. The rooms are either located right on the beach with the ocean as your view, or in a jungle setting, if your a bird watcher. The minute you arrive your world changes pace to a slower and relaxing one. The outdoor showers and open air rooms make you feel you're truly somewhere else. The pool is very relaxing with the wonderful restaurant and bar right there beside it. The food is fabulous and so is the little spa. It's a short taxi ride to town, though I found myself not wanting to leave. I needed a place to relax after a pretty rough health experience and I found it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    52
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
251
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have stayed at Playa Escondida on 4 occasions and will continue returning to this tropical gem for a small break from civilization.
The setting is on a very private little beach surrounded by a lush tropical forest just a 20 minute walk from the vibrant yet charming surfing town of Sayulita.. The accomodations range from luxurious oceanfront suites to charming, comfortable hobbit-like cabanas set amongst large tropical trees with an ocean view to quiet(the ocean can be noisy), spacious palapa-roofed cabins in the midst of the jungle(think Robinson Crusoe in comfort).
The staff are extremely attentive and friendly and the food in the poolside/beachside restaurant with ocean views is superb! This special place is romantic and best suited to adults.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had 2 rooms ~ Luna Allegre and Studio ~ One on the beach and one up the hill in a jungle setting. The open air rooms and outdoor showers made for a true getaway and change of pace. Good food, lovely beach and pool, plus a friendly , helpful staff made for a relaxing vacation. The catamaran trip with AllyKat was perfect and the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Playa Escondida is the most relaxing place I've ever been too. Once you arrive and sit down your world slows and you breath deeper slower ocean fresh air. This place far exceeded our expectations which were already high given two of our friends recommended it. This is not what you'd expect from mexico - it so much more and so private. Yet close enough to Sayulita which is a must visit for tacos and cute shops.

Room Tip: Villa 3 was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just returned from a week in paradise. This property is wonderfully small, quirky but comfortable with great service. All the staff learn your name, are very friendly and helpful. Whoever hires for this property does a wonderful job choosing people that love what they do. I can't say enough about them. The evening chef does a fabulous job, everything we had was beyond our expectations! If you go you must try the lobster ravioli, I guarantee you have never had anything like it. The setting is so beautiful, close to the ocean but located within the jungle. You walk everywhere on sand pathways, we dined barefoot most nights.

We stayed in Sol 2. It has no A/C and is not situated in such a way to catch the breeze when there is one so the room did get hot. They did provide us with a fan when we asked. It does have a very cool outdoor shower that added to the fun everyday and it is very close to the beach.

On our last evening we made reservations for a specific table in the small intimate restaurant. That evening the owners small children were present and allowed to run around the property including use of the swimming pool. The restaurant is built along side the swimming pool. They were being kids, splashing and making noise as kids do. We opted to dine in the bar as we didn't feel the ambiance was right having children swimming during dining hours. I did suggest at checkout that they close this pool while people are in the restaurant dining. There is another pool on the property that is available and would not interfere with diners.

Overall this property is fabulous. We had a wonderful time, it exceeded our expectations and would love to return. We felt very comfortable, relaxed and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms do not have A/C, ask for that if it is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Playa Escondida is a truly magical place. Unique rooms dot the property...some steps from the surf...others perched into the hillside...all with superb views. We were in Sol2...cozy and intimate...to say the least...with a bed built into a rock wall...and an outdoor shower..and 10 stair steps to a great beach and a direct shot to the crazy, warm, swimmable Pacific....makes the Mediterranean seem like an ice bath.

What really makes this place unforgettable was the service across the board...from welcome to departure....flawless...we were introduced once and they never forgot our names or failed to address us as such during our stay. Jorge was as delightful a person as we have met on our travels...solicitous, knowledgeable, master bar man. He is doing what he loves and you can tell. The only downside with him was he was a RedSox fan...other than that...fabulous.

The food was excellent...fresh seafood...huge lobsters...red meat...local dishes...expertly prepared. We had a special occasion dinner that they set up for us high above the property in one of their outdoor spa towers...memorable and romantic.

...oh...and the SPA...the masseuse had hands and fingers that felt like velvet and gave an unreal deep tissue massage...who knew a 95 pound woman could exert such force?

Geez, did I miss anything? Not a place for families...leave the kids at home and enjoy some real quality grown-up time.

Room Tip: Rooms are funky and unique...property is where jungle meets beach...dark and romantic at night...can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary here. We are so happy we did. Everything was amazing!! Everyone who works there truly loves their jobs and it is evident in the type of service you receive. Everyone was more than willing to go out of their way to make sure we were happy and enjoying ourselves. The food was excellent and the place was beautiful and well maintained.

In the case that you want AC, TVs, Gym, room service, etc... this place may not be for you. However, we really liked that it was true to its surroundings and offered us an escape from reality for awhile.

This experience, by far, exceeded our expectations!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice (we stayed in three different ones by choice) and all were very unique and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Address: Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate experience with nature in eco-chic comfort on a private jungle-beach. Playa Escondida is a secluded private resort, nested in a beachfront setting surrounded by hills covered with jungle. We feature 25 unique rooms, perfectly integrated with the natural surroundings. Playa Escondida is located one mile from the quaint fishing village and colorful surfer enclave, Sayulita, on the Riviera Nayarit...and a world away from anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Sayulita
Playa Escondida Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.