We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico at it's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL BEACH FRONT RATE!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Sayulita
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mexico at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were looking for a getaway and decided on Mexico. We had been to Puerto Vallarta, Ixtapa, and Cabo San Lucas all a couple times over the last 20 years, but then we came across this hotel and decided to try a new spot. It was perfection! We booked the shuttle thru the hotel and the driver welcomed us with our name on a sign, a smile, and cold beers. When we arrived at the hotel We were quick to notice that the property is nestled in between the jungle and the beach with quaint cobblestone roads and paths, and the rooms tucked into the jungle and hillside. We stayed in Luna Serena overlooking the beach. The view was amazing and the room, patio, and bed was clean and comfortable. Even with the high temps the lack of air conditioning was not a problem between the ocean breeze and the fans provided in the room. Not enough can be said about the food and drinks. Gourmet dishes with a flare! We ate most of our meals at the hotel and never repeated a dish wanting to try all of them! The staff was amazing and helpful and communication was never a problem. They remembered our favorite drinks and preferences and even our names. If you go you MUST take the walk thru the jungle to Sayulita(after getting directions from the front desk), do the morning yoga on the beach, and book a massage or two. The massages we had were world class and not to be missed! The setting and the therapists made them memorable and the pricing is fantastic. If you want to chill, reconnect, and simply breathe this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Remember the rooms overlooking the beach have amazing views but also come with constant ocean/wave n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    49
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
35
239
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My fiance' and I planned to get married at Playa Escondida bc of the fabulous time we had in April. Problems started when they tried to sell us an astronomical wedding package but we explained it was only us 2 attending (we have a large Texas wedding coming up). We stayed in a more expensive cabana and stayed longer on this trip.
Apparently the mgmt has changed because we got a less than luke-warm welcome this time (knowing we were getting married at the hotel), our safe was constantly broken, they didn't provide our complimentary "couples massage" as promised (made an excuse we had been drinking although they offered us wine while we waited quietly. I'm sure if we were paying for it, this would not have been an issue). The front desk ladies esp "Alicia" were rude and could care less that we constantly had to go get someone to unlock our safe.
And at the very least I expected that they would have put flower petals or a towel swan on our bed for our wedding night as shown on their own website. We had a romantic dinner with wine and lobster on our patio so we were def spending pesos (but not even a single flower with a vase on the table). They didn't go out of their way once to make us feel special.
I also would suggest NOT staying in cabana Sol 2 as the stairs (if you can call them that) are tiny cobblestones next to a wall covered with heavy brush with no railing or handles. The other side is just a drop-off down 2 levels. Which is what both of us did while scaling up the wall in pitch dark at night. I told them how dangerous this was and we were both scratched up and the girl with the nose ring at the office just smirked and again could care less.
When we left (paid out) no one at guest services asked us how our trip was or how our wedding ceremony went which to me proves they didn't want to hear it nor did they care AT ALL.
The only redeeming thing about the hotel was the service staff. The waiters and bartenders were fabulous and made us feel very welcomed. They remembered our names, were always friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. After our ceremony a few of them came up and hugged us and said congratulations. I hope the mgmt treats them better than they do their customers (the few that were there).

Room Tip: The "casita" was MUCH better and safer than sol 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zen_geist, Owner at Playa Escondida, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Sorry your wedding was less than perfect. We made an exception allowing you to have a ceremony on the beach for no charge. Obviously this was a mistake as there were no funds to provide you with the wedding of your dreams. We have learned and will not allow free weddings in the future.

We are sorry you kept forgetting the combination to your safe. We should take into account that many guests drink more than usual on their vacations so shouldn't be required to remember a combination and then be inconvenienced by having to ask us to help them.

The safety of our guests is important to us so we will have staff insist more that they allow us to help them to their rooms if they seem less than fully capable.

Sorry you didn't get the massage. It is not safe to have a massage if one's blood alcohol level is too high. Our service is very professional and your health is the primary concern of our spa staff.

The genuine friendliness of our staff is one of our strongest points. We have spoken to the front desk personnel and we think they have learned from your experience and will be even more considerate to each and every guest even if they should be having a bad day themselves.

We hope you return again soon and please be assured that your complimentary massage is still waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This resort was something else. I had broken my wrist two days before our trip. The staff was beyond accomodating. Each time we went for a fabulous meal the wait staff brought a stool and a bag of ice to make me comfortable. The wait staff were spectacular, warm and informative. Villa 3 was spacious and no backaches from the bed. We slept with the front doors open all night. Our daughters were below us just as comfortable. The views and the easy access to the beach, pools, spa and restaurant felt like we never wanted to leave. To Thomas, Rosalio, Denny, Joel, Jose and everyone else a Playa Escondida thank you for a great stay and we hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: We liked the villas because they were level with the restaurant and pools. Some of the other rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Our family Searched for the right place for over a month and found it here, safe, priced fairly, the food was excellant great staff especially the waiters, we stayed at villa 3&4 they are just steps from the privte pool , a few more to the beach, we will return

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking to get away and relax this is the place for you. The servers were great and always Available. I fell on the beach and had some slight bleeding and the waiters had a first aid kit for me to clean my wounds. The rooms were clean and comfortable with the essentials. At first they seemed a little crammed for the 4 people in the room but we spent the days in the beach or in town so it was not a big problem. The food was amazing!! The $100 deposit per person were so worth it because they offer delicious food at an affordable price. If you do want to get out of the hotel for a day of snorkeling or any other outdoor activity I recommend going to town evade you can negotiate. If you do decide to go out on a trip go to Marrieta Islands!!! It was a amazing. There are blue boobies and you can snorkel and even have lunch in one of these secluded beaches. We will definitely be back to Playa Escondida

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We enjoy 5 relaxing forgettable days in playa Escondida everything was the best.The food was very yummy and a really good price everything tasted great.The service was very friendly and made you feel very welcome and never says no to you when you want to do something .Tomas, Joel and Chef David were like family they were so nice and served you with happiness.The cleanness was a grade A+ it was clean all the time.There was also birds that you can go into there big cage and hold them.The pool was nice and clean and relaxing.There was only like 6 other people besides us and the beach was a crystal blue and it was safe because they had a net.Last thing the hotel was fine the beds were soft and had space .I gladly recommend this hotel so everyone.You need to come here and experience this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Playa Escondida is not your typical resort in Puerto Vallarta or Sayulita area. I've been to the time share condos and the all-inclusive resorts by the beach. This one definitely stands out. Not only did we get the privacy of a secluded beach with a beautiful view of the bay surrounded by palm trees and clean beaches, but the place itself had an infiniti pool, lovely staff and great amenities. This place is definitely built for relaxation. Massages were $45/60 min done well. Food was cheap even eating at the resort and you can request anything that is off the menu. You can attend excursions tailored to your needs for an extremely fair price. I had such a great time that I'm returning for a yoga retreat in October hosted by one of the guests that was there during my stay.

Although I would caution about the mosquitos and the fact that the rooms are not your typical hotel style rooms. They are bungalows but definitely puts you with nature if you like that sort of experience.

Room Tip: The other guests who had the beachfront rooms commented on how loud the crashing waves can be. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Address: Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate experience with nature in eco-chic comfort on a private jungle-beach. Playa Escondida is a secluded private resort, nested in a beachfront setting surrounded by hills covered with jungle. We feature 25 unique rooms, perfectly integrated with the natural surroundings. Playa Escondida is located one mile from the quaint fishing village and colorful surfer enclave, Sayulita, on the Riviera Nayarit...and a world away from anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Sayulita
Playa Escondida Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Escondida to your Saves list