We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Save
You added Playa Escondida to your Saves list
Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Nature Lover's Special
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
San Francisco
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

If you're traveling to the area north of Puerto Vallarta, your best bet is Playa Escondida. Amazingly, all the past travelers' reviews were right on the mark as far as the location, beauty, service, food, etc. It was truly paradise!

I was particularly impressed with the level of service and the tasty food. From the guest relations person to the bartender, wait staff and the maids, everyone there was friendly, knowledgeable and responsive to every need. As for the food, Fernando the chef did a great job preparing each meal. He was always talking to the guests, getting their feedback, giving his recommendations. I liked the personal touch. We had mostly fresh, local fish, prepared with a Latin flair (Fernando is Peruvian). The breakfasts were especially delicious.

At first I was a little wary of the whole inside-outside nature of the accommodations, but really, it was perfect. Somehow it still felt private, although our place was open on all sides. Our bed was SOOOOO comfortable, I never wanted to get out. The mosquitoe net, although we didn't see any of the critters, definitely kept the bed cozy. We stayed in Sol 1, which I believe, is the best value for the money. It was spacious, with a panoramic view of the ocean from the huge porch. It was a short walk down to the sand and beach and close to the pool and restaurant. We would definitely stay in Sol 1 again.

This trip was just my husband and I, but next time we are bringing our two small children. It's a perfect place for a couple, a group of friends or a family. It's a quiet, laid back atmosphere - not a party zone, however - so take your fraternity parties elsewhere.

  • Liked — Beauty of location, service, food
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    52
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
251
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our week-long stay at Playa Escondida for many reasons :
• the staff are friendly, helpful and professional: from the minute we booked our reservation to the time we left, we were well taken care of and all of our questions and concerns were answered and dealt with promptly
• the rooms are fairly isolated from one another and very quiet, with comfortable beds and lots of space to spread out
• there are enough chaises-longues and hammocks for everyone: even when the hotel is fully booked, you don’t need to go down to the beach to “reserve” a place
• there is great water pressure in the shower
• in the room, there is a boombox with a cable you can plug your ipod into
• the food is fresh and the menu varied ; there is a good selection of wines
• there are a lot of rocks and pebbles in the ocean directly in front of the hotel, but less than 100 metres to the north is a beach with beautiful sand (you have to climb over some rocks to get there) ... and if you continue on from that beach, there is a footpath/road that leads to Sayulita (a 20-30 minute walk where you can have lunch, shop, etc.) so even though Playa Escondida is isolated, the outside world is still easily accessible (a taxi to Sayulita costs about $7)
• there is a laptop at the bar you can use to check your email, etc.

A few things that we would like to see changed:
• there should be 100 watt bulbs in lamps by the bed for those who like to read in bed
• it would be great if more of the staff spoke English
• we would like to see espresso and cappuccino on the menu

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

I just came back from Playa Escondida and I feel so relaxed!
It's a wonderful place, unique, so charming. If you look for a peaceful place, far away from the touristy crowd, with all the basic services, that's the right place!
You won't be disappointed!
It's paradise!
I fully recommend it!
Go!

  • Liked — the place
  • Disliked — the crabs
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

My husband and I spent four nights here for our honeymoon and wish we had stayed longer. No TVs no phones no crowds, just a beautiful beach and pool to relax in. The meals were fantastic, nothing more romantic that a perfect dinner by pool. The owners were great, even the guests became friends. We truly hope to head back here someday soon!

  • Liked — The pool and meals
  • Disliked — Leaving to go home
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway, and the resort exceeded our expectations. The food was incredible (especially the breakfasts), the service was outstanding, and the location can't be beat. This is an excellent little hideaway with a great beach and unique rooms. The owners and staff are unbelievable and do everything to make your stay perfect - everyone makes you feel welcome and take care of every little detail. We have never had better margaritas, and it was hard to come back to reality! We would go back in a second.

  • Liked — The unique properties - each one was different
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

My husband and I got married at Playa Escondida in November and brought 50 of our closest friends along for the ride. Everyone had rave reviews to report about Playa Escondida and our festivities hosted there which included fireworks, a live cuban band, a fabulous meal and a baby turtle release hosted by a non-profit organization that protects and releases endangered sea turtles!

Playa Escondida we discovered means "secret beach" in Spanish.....if you're looking for one, you found your spot! This is a beautiful jem located only 10 minutes away from the thriving village of Sayulita, but as we found when we tried to find it without good directions when we were looking at venues, you will not find this place without directions from the resort. The grounds are beautifully kept, the pool and restaurant area is a tropical bliss and the beach is secluded and lovely. The bungalows are all different, each very quaint, comfortable and unique. I definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

A magical experience. Our son was married on the beach and the staff did a first rate job of decorating and coordinating. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and made everyone staying there and visiting for the wedding feel comfortable and welcomed. I would recommend this facility to others for weddings and special events or to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation away from the constant din of everyday life. Also a great place for couples to reconnect with one another . The accomodations were wonderful. One can not help but leave feeling relaxed and rejuvinated. The spa services were excellent. We will definately be returning in the future.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Address: Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate experience with nature in eco-chic comfort on a private jungle-beach. Playa Escondida is a secluded private resort, nested in a beachfront setting surrounded by hills covered with jungle. We feature 25 unique rooms, perfectly integrated with the natural surroundings. Playa Escondida is located one mile from the quaint fishing village and colorful surfer enclave, Sayulita, on the Riviera Nayarit...and a world away from anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Sayulita
Playa Escondida Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.