We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for day in beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Pablo's

Captain Pablo's
On the beach, at the end of Las Gaviotas St., Sayulita, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 81 restaurants in Sayulita
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great spot for day in beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Took the bus here for the day and had a wonderful, relaxing day at the beach at Pablo's. Free umbrellas steps from the ocean. Great price for beer - 6 for $100 pesos! And the food was great too. Ceviche was huge and more than we could eat. Fish tacos, guacamole and sunshine. What more can you ask!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    12
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favourite umbrellas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely staff, 'free' umbrellas and reasonable pricing make this one of my favourite spots on Sayulita Beach.

The ceviche, guacamole and nachos are all excellent. The staff are lovely, but it can sometimes be hard to attract their attention.

Regardless - "I'll be on the beach" means "Loki for me at Captain Pablo".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great prices on beach food & drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

You can't go wrong with 2 beers, 1 shot of Herradura, 2 bottles of water and a quesadilla for 150 pesos. Additionally, a few steps across the sand, they have free deck chairs with beach umbrellas & food service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Capt. Fernando Knows His Dorado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We hired a fishing boat twice from Patricia at Captain Pablo's. Both times we went out with Captain Fernando, who takes his job quite seriously and who knows his dorado (mahi mahi) about as well as any man can know a fish.

Our first morning out he brought his son Alex, who, at 9, is a budding fisherman in his own right. After about a half hour catching bait (live sardines using a cast net), we went out for the dorado, only a couple hundred yards from shore. Alex stayed busy throwing out sardines and splashing water around the boat -- which is supposed to attract the dorado, and which apparently works, since we landed six nice ones and a spanish mackerel before we begged to go home. Then Alex put his line in and caught probably the biggest one of the day.

The second trip, without Alex, we were less lucky. Just one skipjack before the pouring rain started. We came back drenched and disappointed, but it was hard to blame the captain.

My only complaint is that I thought the restaurant Patricia was at would cook our fish for free. They did cook the fish, and it was excellent, but we paid menu prices. She was, however, nice enough to freeze the rest of our dorado filets for us until we came to get them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They will grill your fresh caught fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

After a long day on the water for about 5 US dollars, you can get your fish grilled in many different ways as well as you get chips, salsa, tortillas, rice and beans to go with your fish. Can you think of a better way to end your fishing trip?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Pablo's also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Captain Pablo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Pablo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.