We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Amor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor
Save
You added Villa Amor to your Saves list
Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

the staff was awesome. so much so that i was guided to the right fit villa for our stay by phone staff. we specifically wanted an ocean view and little kitchen, tranquilita fit this description perfectly. gorgeous tilework, stone shower floors, a/c, microwave/fridge, coffee-maker, even a mini-cooler for the duration of our stay, and of course, a wine bottle opener! the room was equipped with a safe, and books other travelers had left behind. this villa was designed with care, from the reminder of check out time nite before departure, filtered water refilled daily and suggestion to walk to the dela muerta playa rather than the immediate beach for more privacy/less locals trying to sell us jewelry/food etc..
i've seen other reviews that just don't match up to what our experience was. it's true that there is no phone in the room to call front desk, but it fit with the theme and recepcion was a short walk. the hotel does include wifi, though it timed out for larger uploads. i took this as a sign to wait until vacation was over to post photos ;-)
one more note, the map of the villa layout is drawn in such a way as to indicate stand alone units and this was not the case for all, for example http://www.flickr.com/photos/gottshar/8719828328/in/photostream/ - tranquilita is on 2nd floor of a building that houses the other villas pictured in the two rows above it. there are private stand-alone villas but that was not an issue.

we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review,,,what is most important to us is that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is true Tranquilla is not stand alone,,,but with the totally private entrnce and hallway we hope it worked for you. Please come back,,,we look forward to seeing you again. Best, Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
57
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived at the Villa Amor this past weekend and i was a little nervous about our room based on the previous review. We couldn´t have been more surprised and happy with what we found! Having stayed all over the world at wonderful hotels I can say that our room at Villa Amor is by far one of the most unique and beautiful rooms I have ever stayed in. It feels like a tree house perched over the ocean with views that are outstanding, decor that is pretty and comfortable beds and furnishing. Even the ´swinging couch´ is a perfectly comfortable extra bed. The staff here are all lovely and helpful and they have been a joy to meet. The location is great, the sound of the waves heavenly and the whole atmosphere just what we had hoped for. We hope to return next year and will ask for the Costa room again! Come here and enjoy a slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Enjoy every minute at this beautiful location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much...your review went right to my heart. I was dismayed at the previous review,,,,and could not be more happy with anything anyone would have said than your words. I am so pleased you had a good time with us....and thrilled that you took this time to counter the other unhappy review.....Why would anyone go out of their way to be so illminded and I think untruthful and hurtful as that person was???? Thanks for your accurate depiction of Costa and Villa Amor. We look forward to welcoming you back...hopefully soon. Thank you,,.,Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The description on the web site does not match the room "COSTA". It appears the room was staged for photos and then replaced with much less comfortable furniture. The art was nearly laughable mix of mesoamerican, Buddhist, late 60's macrame, and pre-WW II modernism. The bed's netting was a constant distraction but, quite necessary. A coffee maker is provided, provided you bring your own coffee, sweetener and milk. The bathroom is dark and dank, 4-5 minutes for hot water. The electrical system scared me the most, given the fact the room is a palapa made of dried palm fronds, there were loose wire hanging down near the palm fronds for no apparent reason. And, the fire extinguisher is located in the most inaccessible place.
However, the views were absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I AM TEMPTED TO SIMPLY IGNORE THIS REVIEW,,,AS WE CAN NOT FIND ANY RECENT GUEST WHO STAYED IN cOSTA IN OUR REGISTRY FROM aLBUQUERKIE. I have asked the reviewer to please contact me,,,but have not had an answer back yet.

There are no hanging electricl wires,,,the fire extinguisher is placed exactly where the fire department wanted it, we provide all guests with approx. two days of organic coffee,, creamera nd sugar and will replace it if requested. Most guests prefer to purchase their own favorite blend. Costa has a recently installed 'on demand' hot water heater and no one else had any problem with it. Our bathrooms are known for their originality and exotic-ness...and no one else has ever found a problem with the bathroom in Costa. Regarding the various art items within Costa...beauty is in the eye of the beholder...and this reviewer obviously did not find any beauty. Perhaps the writer will respond and I may have the opportunity to identify them,,,to ascertaqin they really were guests at Villa amor....naturally I would ask why they remained in Costa, when obviously they were so unhappy. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Villa Amor came highly recommended for us to attend a wedding on our first visit to Mexico over a six-night stay. Reservations were made for the first three in Sayulita and then three more closer to the Puerto Vallarta airport.

We began with three nights in the Villa Amor Peninsula room of which the first two were absolute bliss...

Front Desk staff welcomed us with warm smiles, excellent English and infused us with an immediate sense of tranquility.

Yes, a 'few' steps indeed to reach our room but certainly not enough to be a deterrent for most folks in their late 50s and no reason for concern if wearing 'sensible' shoes. Besides, the resultant bright panoramic view over the bay was tremendous whether gazing from the wonderfully comfortable king-sized bed positioned on the threshold to the veranda or directly from the choice of furnishings on the massive corner unit sheltered veranda. (Peninsula abutts a hillside.)

The room appeared very clean, including the dishes/cutlery and glassware, although on our first day, we noticed very, very tiny ants scrambling over the countertop small kitchen appliances. We did not also mention this with another problem * to the front desk as the room concept overall is a tad rugged and very 'open air' as per hotel website photos. (For example: no kitchen cupboards - just one low fully exposed shelf underneath the bar counter.)

*A rather large pool of water from the leaking empty bar fridge near an electrical multi-receptacle extension cord which seemed far more important, was promptly tended to by very apologetic and friendly staff.

There are full-height articulating glass doors extending across almost the entire width of the wide and deep room, separating the veranda from the sleeping/bathing/food preparation area (without ever fully eliminating the soothing sound of the waves). Windows are screenless.

Even the rather dated yet still effective huge whirlpool tub was squeaky clean as was the 'toilet-only' room which also housed a single cozy clothing rack with ~ six convenient wooden pant/skirt clip hangers.

Filtered water was provided daily via a refillable large glass jug with a pressure control spout, inverted onto a metal stand. As a result, we were 'problem-free' since we used that exclusively for drinking, teeth, making coffee, hot water for porridge, filling our water bottles before treks, etc. and only ordering carbonated water when off hotel property.

The staff were exceptional. Natcho (?sp), at the front desk, especially so.

Now, our third and last night....

Near midnight on a Monday, we gleefully returned to our room and were mortified to discover tons of swarming huge black ants (honestly, the largest we have ever seen) exiting from underneath the bed and climbing the surrounding walls (including an outcropping upon which lay an open packed suitcase...) As there is no telephone in this room, one of us immediately raced downstairs to try to nab a staff member before the front desk closed for the night.

Only a security guard was available other than restaurant staff. Luckily, desperate charades overcame the language barrier with the guard who made a phone call, drove somewhere to purchase a large can of 'Raid' (?) and subsequently liberally sprayed our room. Now, remember, it is late, it is our last night, and there is no one available to ask if we could change rooms.

The lingering odour was overpowering; we were concerned about what we were inhaling and hopeful that if we used the bed that the ants were sufficiently equally overcome! And, as the nights were quite chilly, there was no option and/or extra blankets to camp out on the veranda; anyway, we still had to keep the folding glass doors completely open for ventilation which, with keeping a light on in order to watch for ants potentially scrambling onto the bedsheets, inadvertently invited other insects to join in. Sleep was in short supply.

As we knew that we were due to check out the next morning, we did not have housekeeping tend to our room earlier that day; did we as a result, potentially miss out on preventative daily insecticide spraying as in: is an ant problem already known? (We subsequently found an older TripAdvisor ant-problem review.)

One side of the room nestled into a hillside, with the bathroom counter complete with built-in sink and its drain-pipe forming the bed's headboard, we suspect having realized the ants' conduit; we had only dined at the kitchen bar, so there no foodstuffs near the bed...that we were aware of.

It took this long to finally write-up our review as we wanted to have time for a sober second thought. Upon check-out, we naturally mentioned the ant situation with effusive kudos for the security guard since the staff were not acknowledging anything, first. After reciting what happened, we received a standard 'sorry' but since it was included with hopes that we enjoyed the rest of our stay, kind smiles, and the overall friendliness we were initially charmed with, we just felt ready to move on and catch up on our sleep later that day in our next planned hotel.

Perhaps ours was indeed an isolated experience.

Villa Amor is still a lovely, albeit pricey option for a stay in Sayulita. Although we felt quite safe, we were surprised that there was no secondary locking mechanism whatsoever for privacy and overnight security on the interior side of our room door. Wedging a high-back chair under the door lever, helped.

It was disappointing to be provided upon arrival with only one complimentary dual-serving sized coffee grounds, filter and packaged dry creamer with an accompanying note indicating that we could purchase more from the front desk. For the room price, booked directly with the hotel, really?!!

The associated restaurant is top-notch for food quality, service, pricing, and the setting. One evening in particular, we enjoyed delicious desserts and richly-brewed coffee at the 'best' seaside table. So relaxing, We did not realize until too late that there is a 2 For 1 drinks period.

Others have mentioned disruptions from loud music from afar but we were either lucky or helped by the closed doors over the two weekend nights as that was not a problem at all for us.

Room Tip: Peninsula, albeit a lovely comfortable room with a vast fantastic view over the water and town may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the care and obvious meticulous attention to detail your review indicates. I wish your experience with us had been more consistent,,,and worty a a 5 star reaction. The problem with ants,,,or other insects is an ongoing one that we try to always keep one step ahead of,,,but without over fumigating as this is so bad for the environment,. We do what we believe will continue to keep the insect problem at a minimum,,,but not hurt humans etc. Once in a while it just does not work...I dont know why the larger ants found your area so appealing on your last night with us,,,but I am starting a new 'rule' for the night watchman::: when and if a guest ever has a serious issue,,,as this was,,,we will request he call our manager Juliana at hiome,,,and ask about moving the guest to another villa for the night. Until now the watchman does not know what is empty or not,,,but he will in the future,,,actually starting today. I would rather you had been moved...very often, particularly during the week we do have an empty room and we probably could have accomodated you...unfortunately this policy was not in place when you were with us. Please come back,,,ask for me, Barbara when you call....we want to make up to you.

Just for the record Peninsula does not have a specific ant issue,,,these healthy little creatures just seem to choose where they want to go...and do it!!!! Villa amor is on the beach,,,in a jungle...and just like we love it so do bugs!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in both the Peninsula and Serena units. The pictures on the hotel website were accurate, as the views across the bay were stunning and the architectural/decorative elements were very interesting. The website and its hotel map were misleading in a very key part, however, in that they indicated that the villas were free standing cottage type units. In fact, the units were just ordinary multi-level hotel type units with fancy names. The staff was very good and helpful the whole time. Villa Amor pricing was simply too high, however, for the value received. By far the biggest problem was the extremely loud music that traveled across the bay from the town's disco bar/nightclubs every night until around 4:00AM. No amount of wine/beer /ear plugs could solve this problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the Peninsula unit; the jacuzzi shower/tub unit was disgusting. All other units are probably O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Wow,,,this is not good! We prefer when our guests are pleased and swhare these thoughts with Trip advisor and with us.

I am not aware of any attemplt to mislead guests with descriptions of villas,,,on the website there is a map of the property and the guest selected two villas in what is known as 'the new building.' Serena has its own privatge entry and staircase,,,making it feel totally jprivATE AND ALONE. pENINSULA IS WITHIN THE BUILDING,,,ENTERRED THRU A COMMON INTERIOR HALLWAY,,,AND THEREFORE FEELS MORE TRADITIONAL. i DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE REVIEWER FOUND A PROBLEM WITH THE SHOWER IN pENINSULA,,,BUT WILL CHECK IMMEDIATELY AND IF WE FIND ANYTHING LESS THAN VERY VERY GOOD IT WILL BE CORRECTED RIGHT AWAY. hOW MUCH BETTER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IF THIS GUEST INFORMED US AT THE TIME....

and the music!!!!! yes,,,it is a problem for all of us that new owners of these clubs ignore the long established rules and play their noise late at night!!! We, like others in Sayulita have joined together and are trying to curb this problem,,,I am sorry it was such an issue for this guest.

I am glad the rerviewer liked various things about villa amor,,,and I am equally upset that the things that were less than pleasant so negatively influenced the rating,,,,jI wonder why the reviewer found the sjtaff helpful but never told them of the problem with Peninsula shower,,,had we known it could have been corrected immediately....not now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've been to Villa Amor probably 4 times. It's ideally situated in the town, on the far right side of the beach so that you can see the surf break perfectly. The staff are so gracious, smiles everywhere, and the pizza at restaurant O is fantastic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderfully suscinct, well written, to the point review of Villa amor. Glad you liked us,,,hope you come back!!!!! Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Villa Amor for our honeymoon this past week. We have been to Sayulita before and always have wanted to stay at Villa Amor. We loved our experience and were really wowed by the staff, all of the staff at Villa Amor are amazing. The two shining stars were Romiro and Uriel they both work in the restaurant/bar. They were so helpful and we loved getting to know them both, I mean it when I say I miss them both!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor

Address: Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our beachfront villas are part of Villa Amor hotel but, are offered as a direct owner rental. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Hotel Sayulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Amor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.