We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite breakfast in Sayulita!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChocoBanana

ChocoBanana
14 Delfin, Col. El Centro, Sayulita, Nayarit. CP 63722, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
3292913051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 86 Restaurants in Sayulita
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Choco Banana is right in the town center...I'm a bit of a Huevos Rancheros nut and it's interesting how differently different places prepare it. Choco Banana, has the best Huevos Rancheros I've had since I've been down here...and the best I've had in a long time anywhere!
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast in Sayulita!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is so consistent. It doesn't matter if you want Mexican or American breakfast EVERYTHING here is great and tasty. The staff here all are great and greet you with a smile and excellent service. We love hanging here for breakfast and watching everyone move about town in the mornings. Hang out long enough and you are bound to know someone you have met in the town and all of a sudden you are reminiscing about all the good times you have had in Sayulita.

You can't come to Sayulita without going to ChocoBanana!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    91
    22
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Place for Breakfast - Lunch in Sayulita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Located right on the main town plaza, Choco Banana was begun by Traci, who came to Sayulita from England for vacation 23 years ago and never left! The name derives from the chocolate/nut covered bananas that she began selling on the beach way back when.

Today it is a thriving breakfast/lunch venue. They have a professional kitchen with water filtration (very important)! They have good American and Mexican entries, and healthy food for hungry surfers; veggie-rice bowls with chicken; Thai wraps, etc. They make wonderful smoothies. Try the Green Goddess smoothie - healthy and delicious. And make sure to take some banana bread with you, too. It's yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NEED choco banana.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Can't pass up ChocoBanana. Friends who had been here before insisted we hit ChocoBanana before we left Sayulita and it was so worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great little spot. Awesome breakfast and wonderful service. We didn't find this place until the second to last day of our trip and then spent 2 consecutive breakfasts there :) LOVE their Huevos Rancheros!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“amazing vegan and vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

i ate a Vegan bowl with rice and veggies, it came with a spicy teriyaki sauce.
it was so good i coulda eaten two!
you MUST try their amazing banana vinegarette too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoBanana also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to ChocoBanana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChocoBanana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.