We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort to get there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sayulita Surf Day Camps

Sayulita Surf Day Camps
59 Loma Alta, Sayulita, Mexico
610-574-8212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 Activities in Sayulita
Type: Educational Sites, Adventure
Attraction details
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

we were in P.V. for a wedding and my 11 year old son wanted to surf - Gregorio at the Dreams PV pulled this out and suggested Beto....a taxi ride, a 1.5 hour bus ride and an hour on the beach looking for Beto...to have a 2 hour wait as he did not get my email to him confirming the time...

Was it worth it? YES!

He lent my sister an umbrella and sent the boys out to the beach with Omar - he was helpful, polite and professional while being friendly and engaging. My 11 year old was in love, and his 12 birthday present will be a trip back to Sayulita for surfing...after looking and reviewing so many other surf camps and lessons, I know to go back - what a great experience!

Thanks Beto for a great experience...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“No shoes in the office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Beto created an incredible 4 day surfing experience for me and my friend. The lessons start with a sand drawing board of the currents, swells, breaks and etiquette of surfing. Having previously taken a surf lesson unsuccessfully and being slightly out of shape with an old football knee I was skeptical but with Betos patience and 11' board I was up surfing the second day and thru out the trip. The swell was big for a couple of days but we never felt unsafe or in the way of the locals. We will be back in the near future to surf with Beto

JN

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“BEST surfing experience EVER - we learned so much from Beto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My best friend and I went to Sayulita for a week of surfing and yoga. We contacted Beto through his SayulitaSurfCamps.com website. We arranged a six day package which Beto said would help us get the basics down. We had done surf lessons in Waikiki before but were not happy with the low quality of instruction and the crowded conditions. Beto is from Guadalajara and was a professional bike racer in Europe. His English is excellent, and he seems very educated. Our experience with Beto during our camp was incredible. We actually went to a beach every day that was on the Punta Mita side because Sayulita often suffers from the same crowded (and dangerous) conditions as Waikiki! The beach we went to was beautiful and few surfers were present. The sand bottom was perfect for beginners like us.

Beto taught us so much more than simply how to stand up on a wave. He is very safety conscious. He begins right on the beach, showing us how to observe what is going on in the water when we arrive. He taught us how to handle the boards in the shorebreak to safely enter and exit the water, as your board can be a dangerous weapon when the waves get hold of it! Out in the water, he taught us about ocean conditions, currents, weather, the bottom under us. He showed us how to gauge where the waves will break and how to maintain a good positioning in the water by using landmarks on the shore. He taught us the Etiquette of surfing, and how to avoid other surfers in the water so we would not get hurt. Within the six days, we were both catching our own waves, turning the board to surf along the face of the wave, and not just riding the whitewater straight to the beach. We both felt like we got the foundation to go on to become competent surfers, and we both want to come back as soon as we can to learn more. We had a blast!

Also, our yoga experience was incredible, too. We did yoga every day with Vanessa Morrett who turns out to be good friends with Beto, too. Really, Beto seems to be good friends with just about everybody in town, and that helped us feel at home while we were in Sayulita.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing surf lessons with Beto and Ceasar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from Sayulita with a group of girls on a surf trip. So much fun! We all got up and had the best experience. The instructors were amazing, English was never a problem (Beto is fluent). The village is wonderful to explore, eat and shop. I can't wait to go back and take my husband and kids for surf lessons!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“learn to"surf "in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Sayulita is a great little surf town located about 30 minutes from Nuevo Vallarta, lots of accomodation,great snacks, and a surf shop every 30 paces in any direction! great beach for beginner surfers ,waves are always the rite size, and there are plenty of lessons available rite on the beach, really fun place to hang out for a couple of days.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sayulita Surf Day Camps also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sayulita Surf Day Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayulita Surf Day Camps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.