We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rollie's is a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rollie's - CLOSED

Rollie's
On the Square, Sayulita, Mexico
831-216-4493
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is just off the square in downtown Sayulita. It is an absolutely great and unusual place to have breakfast, a local secret that could be enjoyed by all travelers. The food is extremely well thought out, and unusual, and among the best breakfasts I have had anywhere in the world and I travel the world. It is run by two expat school teachers who make you feel so at home and they sing and have children draw and put up their work, announce it even, and at the end of breakfast offer everyone a free pancake. You need to list this place. IZB
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rollie's is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Terrific breakfast where Rollie will offer you more if you're not full, (don't worry, you will be). Rollie and his wife Jeanne own and operate Rollie's along with a "family of locals", making this an icon of Sayulita friendliness and hospitality. You shouldn't miss it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    25
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Rollies is run by an retired American couple. Rollie comes around to say hello and make sure you are not hungry. His wife made me a small fruit bowl with yogurt because I was not hungry enough for their gigantic portions. Just like home!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Please go! Its sooooo good. Plus the owenrs are amazing. The food and drinks are so good. French toast and please try the machaca if you like a little kick. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“We had to come back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were in town at lunch time and had to go to Rollie's. They don't really serve lunch but do have some sandwiches and some of the breakfast items are very hearty - like a Sunday brunch back home. Rollie and Jeannie are super friendly and try very hard to make sure you are pleased with your meal and experience. We'll undoubtedly come back again when we are in Sayulita.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great egg dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I forget the names of the dishes (very inventive!) but I had the machacca topped eggs that were scrambled with peppers and topped with cheese. Nice crisp potatoes and great coffee. Warm hospitality too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rollie's also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rollie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.