We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wood fired grill excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Afortunados

Los Afortunados
Manuel Navarrete #14, Sayulita, Mexico
045-322-175-85-01
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 86 Restaurants in Sayulita
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Yakima
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wood fired grill excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I'm not sure why this place is only rated #21 on Trip Advisor, uless it's just that people don't know where to find them. The owner/manager has worked hard to have his own custom wood fired grill set up here, and his cooks definitely know how to put it to good use! We had the big variety platter for two, where you get an array of "surf and turf" goodies, and it was just plain fantastic. And there was enough leftover to use it for lunch the next day:) Go find this place, especially if you'd like a quiet, romantic courtyard at dinner time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDPearce, Owner at Los Afortunados, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank You so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.
I'll look for you in the restaurant on your next trip from the chilly north!
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had the ceasar salad and the pork shoulder. Both excellent. Also never had a blackberry margarita and that was delicious. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and under delivered.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Did not enjoy this dining experience. Burnt veggies and average food. Would not go back. I thought this would be better. There's other places. The potatoes were good. Nothing else to say.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDPearce, Owner at Los Afortunados, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us.
We try to provide the best possible experience and when all is not right, we want to make it right.
If you are still in the area, please come by and I will buy you another meal that might be more to your liking, this will give me a chance to thank you personally for your visit.
Thank You
Greg Pearce
Los Afortunados
Sayulita, Nay. MX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Really nice dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant had wonderful food, service ( the norwegian server was gorgeous!) and great ambiance. I would highly suggest trying it out when in Sayulita. Dinner with wine, for 4 people was about $80 with tip! Good value!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDPearce, Owner at Los Afortunados, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon in the restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Romantic & excellent courtyard setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

So this is the first night my wife and I got to go for dinner without the kids as another couple watched them and tonight we will watch their kids so they can go out as well and we have already recommended they go here! The setting is just so peaceful and romantic yet you could bring your kids if you wanted. We ended up having drinks and ordering 4 different appys to share and try out a few things. All the appys were great, I especially loved the Chorizo sausage, one of the best I have ever had. The appys were so good and filling we did not have room for any main courses but will be back for sure! A little more upscale than most places in Sayulita and we did dress up a bit for our date night, but like I said, you could still take well behaved kids there, its a magical spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Afortunados also viewed

Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Los Afortunados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Afortunados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.