We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Haven Inn to your Saves list
Haven Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   14 Goose Cove Road, St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St. Anthony
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An okay place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in early July in a suite with a built-in Jacuzzi (that was the only room available).

Room and hotel were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Generally the decor of the room and common areas needed refreshing. Room lacked both natural and artificial light.

Came with wifi and cable tv.

The attached restaurant was fine for breakfast. There are also other chain restaurants nearby, along with a Foodland, big drug store and Liquor Express.

Tried the Jacuzzi. Unfortunately the high mineral content in the area's water gives an unfortunate yellow tint to the water.

Room Tip: You don't need the Jacuzzi. More importantly, the rooms lack light, either natural or artific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

For some reason they decided to leave the heater ON when it was over 26C during my stay. They kept claiming that the heat was OFF but when you put your hand to the heater, it was hot. I was only staying 1 night and had a fairly tight schedule so I didn't want to spend time trying to find another place to stay. I guess their maintenance guy was too busy playing poker in their lounge to bother trying to figure out why all the 2nd floor rooms were so warm. I did manage to switch to a cooler room but that required us to leave the 3 fans running and the hallway door outside open so all the mosquitoes could get in. Lucky for me, I don't think I'll ever have to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The front desk personnel are really nice here!!! The rooms are retro 1950's basic rooms but clean and basic. This hotel is "basic" and fine but that's it. We stayed there one night because we couldn't get another first choice in town. We checked into another hotel in St. Anthony'd for another 3 nights and it was much better [more expensive too, to be fair].

If you have breakfast, don't order an omelette if you don't want it totally cooked to death [burned on both sides]. I sent it back and the second one came back less burned and barely edible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Bay, Labrador Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great place to stay, rooms were great. Restaurant was good as well. Staff are friendly. Nice view looking over the harbour from Dining room. Roomwas average for smaller hotel/motel. Van service ($ 30) to airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
265 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This motel is not very nice; rooms are rather dumpy and old. I’ll point out also that I was annoyed that rooms have to share the ironing board. Staff was very friendly, and the restaurant is great for breakfast; lot’s of choice, reasonably priced, and the dining room has a decent view of the town. Service was fairly slow though. 6/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an odd review as we didn't eat at the Haven and we chose not to spend our 2 booked nights there. We want to commend the Front Desk Staff for being so accommodating. We checked into our stark double bed room. If we were only staying 1 night, it would have been adequate. We asked for a room change which the Front Desk obliged immediatley. We tried the King room. We are not travel snobs by any means but just decided that for 2 nights, a B & B or cottage would be a better choice for us. The Front Desk Staff treated us very well with our change and expressed sincere disappointment that we decided not to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Bed room which faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I did not stay at the Haven Inn. I am reviewing it's restaurant,

I was in St. Anthony for a week in early October. All of the seasonal tourist places were already closed, and there were just a few restaurants available. The Haven Inn is acceptable, but will not seem like anything special to seasoned travelers.

The first night I had the "Surf and Turf" and a glass of the house wine. It seems everything in the St. Anthony area is served with carrots and peas! The food was okay; nothing was wrong with it, but it's not a meal to remember, either. The view, while not spectacular, did at least allow you to look down the hill, past a few building and streets onto the water of the bay.

Like most of St. Anthony, this places was very casual. I thought it was a bit pricey for what is was, but then again I am comparing US prices to isolated Candian Newfoundland. It was not high by any means, just a little on the high end for what it was.

I would, and did, go back, but if more places were open I probably would have given them a try before returning,.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Inn

Address: 14 Goose Cove Road, St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Anthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St. Anthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Inn is located in the heart of St. Anthony. Our guests experience a warm and inviting atmosphere. Our dedicated staff provides the friendliest service in Newfoundland. We deliver comfort with a personal touch. We have a wonderful selection of guests rooms which offer wifi, color cable television, telephone, hair dryer, coffee maker, personal desk, private bath. The legendary Cartier's Galley offers a picturesque of St. Anthony harbour. Relax and let us do what we do best by serving you some of the best food that you will find on the Great Northern Peninsula. Enjoy some of our authentic Newfoundland specialities such as pan-fried cod, fish cakes, cod tongues and more. Newfoundland at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel St Anthony
Haven Inn St. Anthony, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.