We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once in a life experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northland Discovery Boat Tours

Northland Discovery Boat Tours
West Street | On the harbour, St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
(709)454-3092
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A once in a life experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Took the boat hoping to get up close and personal with an iceberg. Did we ever. The boat operator state this was this biggest burg he had seen in 17 years. The crew were great and the owner stood on the top deck with us providing details on iceburgs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    3
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morinville, AB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to "The Rock"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

In August 2011, our family (2 adults, 4 kids, one nephew and a sister) took a 32 day trip from near Edmonton, Alberta all the way to L'anse-aux-meadows, Newfoundland. By far, the best part of our trip (besides seeing family and friends all over) was this tour in St. Anthony's, Newfoundland. We saw lots of whales and porpoises, more icebergs than I could have imagined and even got to taste a bergy bit (what the locals call the smaller pieces). My hubby got a fantastic shot of a humpback calf breaching. All I got to see was the tail due to the many people standing at the front of the boat, but I can look at the pic he took every day since we blew it up and posted it on our living room wall. Even with that bit of disappointment in not seeing the breach with my own eyes, it was a wonderful tour and we would not hesitate to take our children again. They are now 4, 11, 13 and 16 and all of them have wonderful memories of this experience and our 4 year old asks us all the time if we are going to watch whales again as she remembers it quite vividly and speaks of it frequently. The tour guides were excellent at educating us on the local marine life and made the experience a highlight of our trip through most Canadian provinces and many American states which speaks to their professionalism and passion for what they do. Thanks!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't come all the way hear without doing this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This morning I did a boat tour with this company and loved it. We saw plenty of whales, tales and all, and a school of dolphins came close enough that we could see them underwater. At this time there is no more icebergs....too late. The last ones were seen 2 weeks ago but the tour is well worth it anyway. We get info on whales, dolphins, geology, local history etc. Only downside is that i would have liked it to last the whole day wich is impossible.

Tip #1 plan to do the tour early in your stay in St-Anthony. I got here yesterday and it was too foggy so the afternoon tour was cancelled. I was able to do it this morning.

Tip #2 there is a limit of ten on the highest part of the deck for those braves who don't mind more motion. It is worth to be there so you see all around the ship. Also, while in whale watch mode, the guide drives the ship from up there and you can get a little more info "off speaker".

Good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This boat tour is well-worth the cost!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We took the tour on a mostly sunny afternoon and the crew were equally sunny! We were having fun before we left the dock. After they found some whales for us to watch, we headed over to cirumnavigate a huge iceberg that was grounded about 5kms out. Paul is very knowledgeable and generous with information about the wildlife and community. This tour is great value!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This boat trip was the highlight of our visit to Northern Newfoundland. It was a bit rainy on the morning we went out, but we saw icebergs, dolphins, sea caves and loads of other beautiful things.
We didn't get close to the whales (because of the weather/choppy water), but apparently they also have a gret track record for whale sightings.
The guide was informative and funny- he told great stories about the area and Newfoundland in general. The pictures we took are priceless- we stopped next to a huge iceberg, and even got to eat a chunk of ice from the berg.

I highly recommend this tour!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northland Discovery Boat Tours also viewed

 
L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
 

Been to Northland Discovery Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northland Discovery Boat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.