We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de la Grave

Cafe de la Grave
969, route 199,, Quebec G4T 9C8, Canada
(418) 937-5765‎
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great vista, comfortable and breezy, elegant decor, and food was delicious. Bouillabaisse was excellent. Nice wine selections and aperitifs. Lovely romantic dinner spot

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    22
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've had better meals here but the service at my most recent visit was excellent. It was on a Saturday night in the summer and the cafe was busy as expected. Our server was excellent. He made menu suggestions and alterations which were very helpful. I love the atmosphere in the cafe. The place isn't fancy but very representative of the local culture. Always an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bien mais pas époustouflant, Good but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Based on the TripAdvisor reviews, we expected this place to be very special and not to be missed. Although we didn't leave disappointed, it definitely wasn't all we thought it would be...

On the plus side: The food was fresh and our waitress was nice. The location (La Grave) is also one of the best areas we visited on the islands.

On the minus side: Except for our waitress, the other ones were short of useless (making themselves coffee and talking to each other instead of serving customers) which made the service quite slow. The restaurant seemed very old, giving more an impression of not being well maintained than the nice local vintage that one may expect. The tables were also very close to each other and the seating was a little uncomfortable. This basically made us want to eat and leave as soon as possible than actually stay and enjoy the Cafe...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we have just returned from our first visit to the Magdalen Islands (definitely not our last!) and are still talking about this wonderful gem of a restaurant in La Grave. The food, the atmosphere, the service were superb! Very highly recommended!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Try the house local beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The food is excellent, the staff is very friendly and the owner plays music with the patrons... athmosphere to the max.
A must

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Grave also viewed

Iles de la Madeleine, Quebec
L'Etang-du-Nord, Ile du Cap aux Meules
 
Havre-Aubert, Iles de la Madeleine
Ile du Cap aux Meules, Iles de la Madeleine
 

Been to Cafe de la Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de la Grave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.