We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Russian Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Russian Village to your Saves list
Russian Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moskovskoye Hwy., 5A, Vladimir 600036, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vladimir
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“There are better hotels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The driveway into this hotel is through an alleyway that has garbage piled up along its sides. We had a guide with us at the time and she told us to close our eyes while we drove along the alleyway to the hotel. The hotel itself is set with log-style cabins that have four rooms per cabin. We were given the choice of staying in a cabin or the main building. We stayed in the main building and that seemed to be a little better than the cabins. The room was not large, was basic but okay for a nights stay. It took about 5 minutes to get warm water out of the shower. If staying in the summer time, there is no airconditioning, or screens on the windows etc. However there are double glazed windows and doors for a winter stay. The hotel put mosquito zappers in the room because the hotel is situated in a mosquito area. Dinner was good and, as we were there on a Saturday night, there was live entertainment, which was quite good. I don't know if the entertainment is a standard Saturday night feature though. Breakfast was very basic. Our guide pointed out a hotel in Suzdal that is a better option (and it certainly looked superior to the Russian Village Hotel at Vladimir) but we had already paid for the Russian Village Hotel. If travelling around the 'Golden Ring' in Russia again I would choose to stay in Suzdal not at the Russian Village Hotel in Vladimir.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
14
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I went on a tour with On The Go Tours in Russia. We spent two nights in Valdimir & Suzdal. When driving here you would not imagine turning off the freeway and driving past an abandon building would lead you to this surprising oasis. The hotel looks like a Russian Village. There are several pine log cabins. There is the main house and another building where there is a restaurant/dance club.

The lodging cabins are two floors. The buildings smell of pine since this is the material they are made out of. The rooms are a good size and were very clean. There are double windows so you can help airflow into the room.

There is a pond on the property and an adorable family of ducks live there. The reception desk is located in the main building along with the restaurant for breakfast each morning. In the restaurant building there is also a dance club. What is even more interesting is that there is a stripclub below the restaurant.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. We were in a private room which was nice because the dance club music was really loud and we would not have been able to talk during dinner otherwise.

If you stay at this hotel you have to read the information book in the guest room. Everything is written in Russian and then translated into English. Some of the translations are off and really funny to read - especially their description of the stripclub.

cupidon - strip cclub

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We came here in October 2008 from Moscow and expected some peaceful, authentical place as it was advertised on various sites including the one of the Vladimir tourist office.

To begin with: our room was nice and clean, had a wonderful wooden smell and a balkony. It was located in the main building. In front of the windows we had some birches, but directly next to it was the parking lot of the hotel. Since the restaurant of the hotel is open long and not only frequented by hotel guests, it was somewhat noisy with singing good-mooded people, who eventually left for their homes. This we disliked.

Breakfast was not included, so we had to go to the restaurant, where a big selection of more or less typical russian breakfast courses is served for reasonable prices. Not everything on the menu really existed and we had to wait some time for our pancakes, but that would have been okay. Unfortunately the staff of both restaurants in this "village" had the order to always play loud and annoying russian disco-style music. Even at 9 in the morning, when we seeked a peaceful breakfast. Asked to switch it off or lower the volume, we were told that the guests want to be entertained. At this time, we were the only guests in this restaurant but they did not care much. In the following days there were never too many guests having breakfast. Maybe the reason for that lies in the "entertainment". The staff that was cleaning the restaurant during our breakfast sure enjoyed it though.

The location of this entire complex is, as described, outside of Vladimir. There are some trees. But it is roughly about 50 to 100 meters away from the main Highways Moscow-Wladimir. Accordingly you had a constant noise from the traffic. It was not too bad, but certainly not a quiet place in the forest. If you arrive in the village, you have to make your way past some garbage bins and service facilities. The big plastic container with meat, that was just being delivered to the kitchen without any cover and was left standing right next to the parked cars made the decision of dining somewhere in Vladimir and not in the village quite easy.

The ladies at the reception were always very friendly and professional, we had to pay every night in advance though. The cash mashine right next ot the reception was not working, luckily we had enough cash. Since the hotel does not accept any credit cards, you should consider to take enough cash to pay your bills there.

Overall we had a nice stay, mainly due to the nice rooms and the - compared to the Moscow's hectic - relaxing atmosphere. I would however not suggest this hotel to anybody who seeks really a nice place in free nature and people who like to eat their meals without loud disco music.

If you seek a place for affordable food and drinks, late-night entertainment (there is a strip club) and the feeling of being in what they think is the "russian countryside", you will find your arcardia there.

  • Liked — Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

This is a great place. As the name suggests, it is a themed hotel, made out to resemble an Old Russian village. The hotel is a gated complex consisting of two restaurants--a big lodge-type dining room and a smaller, less formal one serving shashlik and beer--and three two-story "cottages," each with eight guest rooms. The owners have done a nice job of keeping to the village theme, with Russian folk art on the walls and very nice woodwork in the moldings of the guest rooms, free folk dance shows in the main restaurant, and a pond with swimming ducks. The rooms are clean, contain nice little amenities like shampoo and soap kits, shoeshine, etc. This is definitely geared toward the tourist trade--no phones in the rooms, no internet or other business services. However, if you need to make an international phone call the front desk is happy to place a call for you. They dial your number, you carry out the call, and then they tell you how much you owe them based on your minutes. I did this several times and it never cost more than ten U.S. dollars for a ~15 minute call. The staff speaks very little English, but they are friendly, and they do have English versions of their menus and guest services. Through smiling and pointing my wife and I could get everything we needed. Prices are good. Meals in the large restaurant ran $10 - $20 per person, including soup, salad, main course, dessert and wine. The smaller restaraunt ran more in the $10 range. My wife and I have stayed here twice--once in tourist season (Aug, 2004) and the cost was $60 per night for both of us. The other time was the off-season (October, 2005) and it was $50 per night. One word of warning--the entrance to the hotel gives no indication of how nice it is. You enter though kind of a run down back street and at your approach you see the dumpsters, service entrance and so forth. Get over your first impression, keep walking, and you will be surprised at what a gem lies within!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Russian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russian Village

Address: Moskovskoye Hwy., 5A, Vladimir 600036, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Vladimir Oblast > Vladimir
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vladimir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Russian Village 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Russian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.