We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid weekend breakfasts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbies Garden World

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dobbies Garden World
Saintfield Road, Lisburn BT27 5PG , Northern Ireland
(028) 92 626 960
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 78 Restaurants in Lisburn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dromore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid weekend breakfasts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Really good breakfast deal 2.99 for 7 items lured us in - should have known better! Visited on Sat morning and was queued to the door. Bottle neck at the servery and slack at the tills. One girl making sandwiches like it was some kind of punishment. Couple in front asked if they could have a sandwich only to be told very abruptly that sandwiches were for lunch at 12 and then turned her back on the customers. Come on Dobbies! Do you want to sell the food or not? We eventually got served on cold plates and then had to queue for drinks and queue again at the till while someone joined the garden club! All the while food getting colder and colder... Distinctly average and will not be repeating the experience unless it's a quiet midweek morning. Again getting the basics right - hot food and prompt service - could have earned 5 stars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    20
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food in Dobbies is excellent. I highly recommend coming here with your children for a bite to eat (especially during lunchtime). The staff are generally efficient, the restaurant area is full of choice and kept well staffed and very clean. The desserts are fantastic!The seating area is large with good natural sunlight and nice views of the back of the garden centre. There is a small play area and centre for children to wander about. The garden centre also has excellent shopping facilities for home ware, groceries etc. A nice trip on a Sunday when you need a relaxed break from home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth leaving the house”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited the resteraunt with family for breakfast this week. Decided on pancakes since I have always fancied them in other Dobbies but not ordered, and didn't want a fried breakfast which was only other thing on offer. Was informed that I would have to wait at least 20 minutes as the chef was doing the salad bar (at 10.30am) and hadn't made pancake mix yet. Had this conversation infront of me with the server and seemed to think it was rediculous that anyone would like pancakes at this time - even though they are on the breakfast menu and it was breakfast time. Had an average croissant instead with some bacon, which was cold. Lady serving coffee didn't seem to want to be there. There were no teaspoons and I had to clean my chair with a baby wipe before I sat down - as did others in our group as they were so sticky. Breakfast would have been better at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over-priced, distinctly average Emperor's new clothes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The food in Dobbies is very much style over substance and dreadfully over priced. The coffee mugs are similar to the thimbles you'd get in a Travelodge, and at £2.10 for a filter coffee, definitely not worth the money. All this pales, however, against the attitude of the "restaurant" staff. A more disinterested bunch you'd struggle to find. I'm not sure what they were doing - they weren't serving customers; they weren't making sure there was clean cutlery available; and they weren't clearing tables. Worst of all, the restaurant was busy, full of customers it didn't deserve. I won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just all right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice enough food but nothing special. A little bit pricey for what you get. Very busy which I suppose is a good sign.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbies Garden World also viewed

Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 

Been to Dobbies Garden World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbies Garden World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.