We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't figure this place out...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cardan Bar and Grill

The Cardan Bar and Grill
41 Railway Street, Lisburn BT28 1XP, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9267 8065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 84 Restaurants in Lisburn
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I can't figure this place out...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Aspects of this bar/restaurant are good, the ingredients are high quality - the meal deal of two courses plus a glass of wine, or soft drink, between 5 and 7 pm, is excellent. The only waitress in the upper zone, where we were sitting, was working flat out and needed a colleague. But she remained smiling all the time and coped as well as anyone can, at full stretch.
But the decor is 'tired garish', with the clashing lime, coffee, amber, brown, pink and mustard in urgent need of a tasteful update. The mains were very good, we both had the warm haddock and asparagus salad.
The meringue dessert was unavailable, pity as we had both wanted this. The creme brulee alternative came with cookie dough at the base. What is cookie dough? It was like raw biscuit mixture and the natural enemy of soft custard with a crunchy brulee top. The seasonal fruits to one side were yummy. Just couldn't get the sticky doughy mess off my spoon to enjoy them fully.
In essence, then, with enough staff, new paintwork and more attention to puds, this place could be a five-star experience. But, as it was, we left saying to one another, yes, could be good. Misses a few important elements, at the moment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Owner at The Cardan Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Pam - thanks for taking the time to review your visit on Tuesday 21 May. On the whole we are happy to take the positives from your review on the basis that we were extremely busy with every table taken throughout. Yes we were a little understaffed but considering we weren't anticipating 60 people arriving all within that time frame I feel our staff did admirably as you have stated also - this was also why I returned back to help at that time. Overall you enjoyed your food other than the crème brulee. As for redecorating, there is a taste debate on that which may be correct, however, if thats a real issue we can only say sorry to that as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    34
    17
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughbrickland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

On our way to a concert in Belfast, we looked up somewhere to eat in Lisburn as it was on our way. The Cardan was number 2 on tripadvisor, had good reviews and looked promising. A lot of people in previous reviews mentioned the ribs...they are great! I highly recommended them. My girlfriend had the beef and goats cheese burger which she also rated highly. The service was friendly and speedy. Plus the fact that it was great value at £12 for 2 courses and a glass of wine/softdrink. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This restaurant is a hidden treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fabulous rump steak, fabulous service, driven by Gary, along with the lovely Gemma and good value for money. Some live music on Friday / Saturday night would make you stay longer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a fantastic meal here on wednesday,the steak was amazing, first class!service was great,couldn't have asked for anymore.thanks guys :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Remarkable and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in many restaurants throughout the world and the Cardan is one of the best yet. The food is delicious, cooked to perfection every time. The service is nothing short of magnificent and all staff polite and very helpful. Very well priced. Atmosphere is cosy and welcoming. The standard of food and service never drops even at peak times. I would recommend the Cardan to all my friends and family as it is friendly, warm and the food is excellent. Minor point, I must stress a minor point, a lick of paint on the walls and ceiling to keep it fresh would help. But overall 5/5, great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cardan Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 

Been to The Cardan Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cardan Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.