We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Square bistro

Square bistro
18 Lisburn Square, Lisburn BT28 1TS, Northern Ireland
02892666677
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Lisburn
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to Square Bistro for the first time and was very impressed. The food was excellent , it has a super menu with lots of variety.. The staff were very helpful. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    34
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“This restaurant just gets better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This restaurant run by Christina (front of house) and Stephen (cook) just gets better and better. Since it is about 100 metres from my home I have regularly visited the restaurant since it was founded in the mid 2000's. The meals I have had there have all been wonderful and not once have I had a poor meal. In particular I have enjoyed the fish dishes including the good old "fish and chips" served with mushy peas. Give it a try - there are few good restaurants in the Lisburn area - this one deserves your support. Reservation is essential as it now is very busy and at the weekends has two sittings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited Square Bistro with my wife Saturday 2nd. March to celebrate Anniversary. Table was reserved for 7.30pm and upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted and shown promptly to our table.
The young waitress was smiling and made good eye to eye contact, leaving the Menu and specials menu and Wine list. She returned when she observed we were ready to order. I had Sirloin Steak with the house Garnish and my wife ordered Lobster Thermidor. Wine was ordered and we requested this be brought to the Table while our meal was being prepared. The waitress advised our meal would be ready in approximately 20 minutes as both dishes would be prepared and cooked freshly.
The wine duly arrived right away. Our Meal was served just over 20 Minutes later, cooked to perfection. The waitress returned shortly after to inquire if we were happy with the meal, and did we require anything to add to the meal.
The food was well prepared,presented served hot on heated plates and was delicious. Following pudding we had Coffee and Irish Coffee which were excellent.
Overall the experience was excellent, and good value for money. This small Bistro type Restaurant is well run, very clean with pleasant knowledgeable. The Kitchen area which is unattrusive is in view if the dining area. The Restaurant was very busy when we arrived and continued to be busy when we left. We shall visit again soon and would recommend to friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Eatery in Lisburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I love this restaurant and when hubby and I get the time to book a meal out we love going here. The staff are warm and welcoming and best of all the food is fabulous and well priced. Make sure you book, you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times it is excellent, for somewhere across the square from a Weather Spoons. The quality and market doesn't not compare.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square bistro also viewed

Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 

Been to Square bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.