We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for your money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residencial Salema

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residencial Salema to your Saves list
Hotel Residencial Salema
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 28 de Janeiro, Salema 8650-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salema
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and paid 50 Euros per night which included breakfast. Great value. The staff were excellent and helpful and even made us a lunch for an early morning (6 am) departure because we were going to miss breakfast. The room was clean and spacious with a great view. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nice hotel; great location. Salema is a terrific destination with an excellent beach. The shower was a bit of a challenge since the holder for the shower head would not lock. Breakfast here is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just returned from our annual holiday in Hotel Salema - 19 years later we are still being pulled back to this lovely fishing village in a quiet part of the Algarve. The quiet, family run hotel suits us perfectly. It is in an ideal location in the village centre by the beach, and is spotlessly clean. All rooms have an amazing sea view and although they are pretty basic, this year there have been many great updates and improvements. (All rooms have air conditioning and TVs.) The hotel bar too has a new really cosy feel to it. The friendly hotel staff have been there for years, with Andrea, Chico and Damiau looking after your every need. Valentim the lively barman makes sure that there is always a great welcome for everyone, including the locals who go in each night for a chat and a beer.
Breakfasts are served from 7.30 until 10.30am and are wonderful - fresh and different each day, with many types of delicious bread.
It's a fantastic place to relax and unwind, and is also well located to explore the Western Algarve. The village itself has several top class restaurants all in easy walking distance.
We're missing the place already and have already booked for next October!!!
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Choose an end room because they have much bigger bathrooms - a shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salema
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Salema Residencial Hotel, apart from having the best location and very friendly has refurbishd the bedrooms and bar/lounge areas, very stylish. The bedrooms are big and refurbished with taste. The bar is great fun too, good atmosphere and meeting place in the evening.

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel has simple, clean, rooms for a fair price. The staff was really very pleasant, and the breakfast was good. You just can't beat this location in Salema. It's RIGHT in the middle of the center. This is where we will stay when we return to Salema.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room, they all have little balconies with great ocean views. I'd ask for 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is relatively modest and somewhat "tired", but it is so well situated and Salema is so pretty that you will enjoy your stay. We had a room on the 4th floor, with a view of the ocean - I believe that all rooms have a good view - and the lack of amenities just adds to the feeling of having gone back in time. We would go back...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We tend not to revisit areas and hotels, but this is the third year we've spent a weekend at Hotel Residencial Salema which must be a good sign. Salema is a nice little village- half fishermans cottages and half new build apartments, though the latter are tucked away up the hill. Therefore from your room at Hotel Salema, you can see the beach and sea but are really away from the main tourist sleeping options. Salema has a few small bars and restaurants -certainly enough to keep a couple or family happy for a week - probably not a good choice for young ravers though!

The hotel is simple and clean and in a great location. All rooms have balcony and sea view and all get the sun in the late afternoon in July/August. This is good as its nice to sit on your balcony at this time and also the rooms don't get too hot through the day (they have A/C anyway). The room is nicely decorated in simple style, the bathroom was a good size and was very clean and the shower etc worked well.

Breakfast is a buffet style and even though we usually go near to the 10.30 am 'deadline' it doesnt give the feel of having been stood for a long time. Service is friendly and efficient without being over the top.

In summary-another satisfactory visit and we'll no doubt return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Residencial Salema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial Salema

Address: Rua 28 de Janeiro, Salema 8650-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial Salema 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Residencial Salema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencial Salema Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residencial Salema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.